Alphabet BooksArtists' CatalogsConceptual Books & Artists' MultiplesConcrete & Visual PoetryGenderPoetryRaceRelationshipTypography, Text & ImageUnique, One-of-a-Kind BooksZines
FabricHandmade PaperLeatherMetalWood
Altered BooksCollageDigital PrintingLetterpress PrintingOffset PrintingPrintmaking (Intaglio)Printmaking (Relief)PaintingPhotographySilkscreen, Stencil, Monoprint
Accordion Fold & VariationsBook Objects & Unusual StructuresFlip BooksJapanese & Stab BindingsMiniature BooksPop-Ups & Movable ElementsPamphlet & Saddle StitchOther Sewn Bindings
This is the "Artists' Books Overview" page of the "Artist Book Collection at RISD" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Artist Book Collection at RISD  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://risd.libguides.com/artistbookcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Artists' Books Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Catalog

Search the library Online Catalog.  

By Key Word:

"artists books"

"book making"

"accordion fold"

concertina

"flip book"

"alphabet book"

"coptic binding"

"concrete poetry"

By Subject:

artists books--United States

artists books--Rhode Island (or other state)

artists books--Netherlands (or other country)

Related Subject Terms:

letterpress printing--specimens

paper, handmade--specimens

wood engraving--20th century--specimens

offset printing--specimens

collage--American

paste papers--American

bookbinding

linoleum block-printing

mail art

concrete poetry

Search by Artist or Press:

Chen, Julie (author search)

"Julie Chen" (key word search)

"flying fish press"

 

Search for Articles

Start at the library's website: library.risd.edu

Scroll down the menu to Resources > Articles

Art, Architecture and Design Databases

  • Art Full Text / Art Retrospective

  • ARTbibliographies Modern
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

  • Design & Applied Arts Index

  • Design Abstracts Retrospective


* RISD students have on-site access to Brown's databases.

                

Cross-Disciplinary Databases

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Firstsearch
  • JSTOR
  • Project Muse

 

About Artists' Books

What are artists' books?  

Many complex definitions abound in the literature describing this artistic medium and for resources about artists' books, please see our Library Research Guide on Artists' Books & Bookbinding Techniques.  However, in simple terms they can be defined as books made by artists, or works of art in book form.  

Artists have for decades found the book form a compelling medium for making works of art in order to give voice to their ideas, narratives, or concepts. The physical attributes of books, with their portability, intimacy, interactivity, and time-based sequential elements provide the means for a unique and dynamic personal interaction between artist and audience. Pushing the limits of the printed page and the book as physical object, artists create new integrations of text, image, materials and structural forms. In this digital world, the tactility and physicality of the hand made book provide a rich and engaging hands-on experience. 

Use this guide as a key to unlocking the treasures found in our collection.  Each category represents a sampling of titles and serves as a starting point for exploration. Digital images of some of these titles are available through the RISD Digital Image Database (RDID). 

 

About the Collection

The Library's collection of artists' books, now numbering over 1,400, began in the mid 1960's with the acquisition of several inexpensive early "multiples" created by Fluxus inspired artists, conceptual artists, and photographers. Books by George Maciunas, Dick Higgins, Dieter Rot, Emmett Williams, Ian Hamilton Finlay and Ed Ruscha were among those early titles, many of which were printed offset in black and white and staple bound.

Eventually, books were added to the collection which were more hand-crafted, using traditional printing and printmaking techniques such as letterpress (hand set lead and wooden type), woodcut, linocut, silkscreen, etching, monoprint and photogravure processes. Many books were hand bound in small "Chap Book" or Fine Press editions, which reproduced the poetry or writing of a well known author. 

Many artists began writing their own content, using the book form as a vehicle to convey their ideas with integrated text, image, structure, and materials, creating highly crafted "artisan" books. Books by artists such as Walter Hamady (Perishable Press); Julie Chen (Flying Fish Press); Angela Lorenz; Ruth Laxson (Press 63+); Women's Studio Workshop Press and many more can be found in our collection.  Artists also use handmade paper or other unusual materials and movable elements to create more sculptural book structures that relate physically with the content. These can be found in the work of Carol Barton (Popular Kinetics Press); Judith Hoffman; and Sandra Lopez.

As is evident in the categories found in the tabs on this guide, the wide range and full scope of artists' books in our collection provide an excellent teaching resource.

My Profile

Profile Image
Claudia Covert, Special Collections Librarian
Contact Info
2nd floor, 203
401-709-5927
Send Email

My Profile

Profile Image
Ariel Bordeaux
Contact Info
2nd floor, 201
Send Email
Department:
Special Collections
 

About Using Artists' Books in Special Collections

Overview of the materials found in Special Collections

Location:

Dale Reading Room for Archives + Special Collections

Room 201, second floor

Hours:

Monday - Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

How to access artists' books:

Searchable in the library online catalog  

  • Already know of a specific artist book or books that you wish to see? Drop in any time we are open.
  • Not sure what artists' books you want to see? Email Claudia Covert to discuss your project and schedule an appointment.

Duplication Options:

All duplication requests are subject to copyright fair use restrictions and are handled on a case by case basis.

Sketching and Note-taking:

  • Allowed: graphite and ordinary pencils, sketchbooks, notebooks, paper, laptops, iPads, phones.  
  • Not allowed: pens, markers, charcoal, paint, ink, etc.

Other Special Resources:

Check out our Special Collections Blog

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip