This is the "Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals" page of the "Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide illustrates the Avery Index's unique features for locating current and historic literature and imagery related to architecture, urban planning, landscape architecture, historic preservation, architectural history, and sustainable development
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2014 URL: http://risd.libguides.com/avery Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Print Page
  Search: 
 

Start with the Avery Index

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is the only comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. This database surveys more than 2,500 US and foreign journals.

Dates of Coverage: 1934 - current, with selective coverage back to 1741.

 

How + Where to access the Avery Index

 

 

RISD Library has an electronic subscription
to the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database.

You may access the Avery Index 24/7 by going through the RISD library website.

Begin at the library website: library.risd.edu

From the sidebar menu, scroll over Resources

Within Resources, Select All Resources or Articles. This will take you to a new page

Scroll down the page to the link for the
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Select the link; Check the box for Avery and Continue.

On Campus: After selecting the link you will go directly into the Avery Index.

Off Campus:
A login window will open.
You'll be prompted to login to the RISD Library network with information from
your RISD ID.

Name: Your name as it appears on the front of your RISD ID

Barcode: the 14-digit number on the back of your RISD ID  (Starts with 3444400...)

For more about logging in, see Databases- On + Off Campus

Locate Elevations, Models, Sections, Site Plans & more

The citations in the Avery Index consistently include detailed information about the type of images contained within each article.

Use the Illustrations feature to locate the specific types of images needed for your projects.



Search/Limit Illustrations by Type:

All
Aerial Image
Bibliography
Chart
Computer Generated Image
Details
Diagrams
Drawings
Elevations
Engravings
Graphs
Illustrations

Maps
Models
Photographs
Plans
Plates
Portraits
References
Sections
Site Plans
Sketches
Tables
Views (axonometric)

Avery's major areas of coverage

Major areas of coverage include:

Archaeology History of architecture
Architecture Interior design
Architectural design Landscape architecture
Furniture and decoration Sustainable development
Green design Urban planning
Historic preservation

The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. In addition, this database also provides nearly 13,000 citation records for architects' obituaries.

Did you know?
The Avery Index originates from the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library, Columbia University, New York NY.

 

Search Urban Studies Abstracts w/the Avery

Urban Studies Abstracts Some Full Text licensed subscription database
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 46,000 records dating from 1973 to present, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Journals Indexed

Select Urban Studies Abstracts along with Avery from the Ebsco database selection screen to search both databases simultaneously.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip