Research Guides - Browse By Subject
Browse Guides alphabetically, by subject, or by author


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  
APPAR-3122-01 and 02 SOPHOMORE DESIGN/DRAW
by Ariel Bordeaux, Claudia Covert, Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated Sep 20, 2013
A research guide for the fashion of the 1920s and 1930s.
Pochoir: Art of the Stencil
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 30, 2013
Textile Analysis - Katy Dika
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Jul 10, 2013
This guide provides resources to familiarize students with the terms and processes associated with the textile industry as it relates to Apparel.
Adaptive Reuse
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 2, 2014
Improve search results by applying these strategies to adaptive reuse searches
Architecture Degree Project Research
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated May 21, 2012
Architecture eBooks
by Ellen Petraits, Carol Terry - Last Updated Nov 14, 2013
A guide to full-text architecture eBooks
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Oct 3, 2013
This guide illustrates the Avery Index's unique features for locating current and historic literature and imagery related to architecture, urban planning, landscape architecture, historic preservation, architectural history, and sustainable development
Interior Architecture Subject Guide
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 29, 2014
A guide to local resources, print and e-journals, maps, collections, materials and case studies for Interior Architecture
Materials & Materiality
by Ellen Petraits, Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Nov 11, 2013
A guide to locating physical materials as well as print and online sources on materials and their properties
RISD Campus Architectural Drawings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 29, 2012
A list of architectural drawings of RISD buildings available in RISD Archives
Sustainability and Design
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Mar 20, 2014
World Architecture - Water & Architecture (in Rhode Island)
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated May 21, 2012
A resource guide on researching water in relation to architecture
Early RISD Exhibition Catalogs
by Robert Garzillo - Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide presents the first 60 years of published catalogs of exhibitions held at the Rhode Island School of Design.
Museum of Art, 1926-2014
by Douglas Doe - Last Updated Mar 27, 2014
RISD Archives
by Douglas Doe, Andy Martinez, Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
a RISD-specific collection documenting people, buildings, history, events, and exhibitions
RISD Campus Architectural Drawings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 29, 2012
A list of architectural drawings of RISD buildings available in RISD Archives
RISD Museum of Art Exhibitions
by Douglas Doe - Last Updated Aug 31, 2012
Waterman Gallery Exhibitions, 1893-1925
by Douglas Doe - Last Updated May 7, 2013
RISD Museum of Art exhibitions held in the Waterman Building and the Waterman Galleries, 1893-1925.
Academic Commons Program - Davis Fellows
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 19, 2014
A guide to resources for the 2013/14 ACP Davis Fellows
Art & Design Research Ethics
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
An introductory guide to research ethics in the arts
Art & Design Research: Selected Readings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
A guide to the recent literature of research in architecture, art & design
Create a Research Plan
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A framework for planning a research project
Literature Review
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 2, 2014
A descriptive guide to the literature review process
RISD Master's Thesis
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Nov 3, 2013
A resource guide for thesis research and writing assistance, locating theses in the library, and thesis binding options
Artists' Books and Bookbinding Techniques
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
Selected titles that provide information on the history of artists' books, the work of book artists from other countries, and bookbinding technique manuals.
Pop-Up and Movable Books
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Artists' Writings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A resource guide to artists' writings and writing an artist statement
Ceramics Subject Guide
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Mar 31, 2014
Color: Theory, Terminology, and Symbolism
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 19, 2014
A resource guide on color theory, color symbolism and meaning
Business Side of Art and Design
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Dec 5, 2013
This is a guide to resources available in the RISD Library and to a broad scope of online links to resources mined by the RISD Career Center
Color: Theory, Terminology, and Symbolism
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 19, 2014
A resource guide on color theory, color symbolism and meaning
Embodied Knowledge: Perception and the Senses
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 31, 2014
A resource guide for finding information on perception, the senses, cognition, and emotions as expressed through art
Maps & Mapping
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
Resources on spatial, chronologic, conceptual, contemporary, and historic maps & mapping
Materials & Materiality
by Ellen Petraits, Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Nov 11, 2013
A guide to locating physical materials as well as print and online sources on materials and their properties
Sustainability and Design
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Mar 20, 2014
Contemporary Art & Artists
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A resource guide to finding articles, reviews, exhibitions catalogs, media, and images on contemporary artists and their work
Appraisal Studies in Art + Antiques
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Nov 21, 2013
Continuing Education, Certificate Program
Digital + Media Subject Guide
by Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Aug 20, 2013
Artists Who Write: D + M thesis preparation seminar
by Ellen Petraits, Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A guide to sources and search strategies for thesis exploration and development geared to Digital + Media students
LGBTQQ Resources
by Ellen Petraits, Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Mar 29, 2014
A resource guide on gender and sexual diversity
Faculty Guide to Library Resources
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 9, 2014
An outline of library's services and resources for faculty: course reserves, off campus access to databases, e-journals, interlibrary loan, instruction, research assistance, and digital imaging
Accessing Images for Presentations
by Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Oct 15, 2013
This guide will demonstrate how to create a slide show in PowerPoint using images downloaded from any of RISD's image databases.
Electronic Publication Alerts & RSS
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 23, 2010
This guide illustrates how to set up and save your searches for a determined time period. Receive results via email or RSS.
Faculty Authors
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Feb 3, 2014
Faculty Guide to the RISD Digital Image Database, RDID
by Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
A step-by-step guide on how to search for and download digital images from the RISD Digital Image Database
Artists' Sketchbooks & Journals
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Selected resources providing facsimiles of artists' sketchbooks and journals
Coco Fusco
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
Digital Nature
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated May 3, 2012
Pattern and Ornament resources.
Drawing
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Jul 10, 2013
Finding Images - Daniel Lefcourt
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Jul 10, 2013
FOUND-1003-06 and 14, Studio Design, Martie Holmer
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Nov 12, 2013
Food: GMO to CSA
FOUND-1003-10 and 13 - Studio Design - Judy Maloney
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Sep 13, 2013
Resources for paper cut assignment exploring natural phenomena.
Foundation Studies - Handbills
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
Foundation Studies, Illuminating our Lettered World, Martie Holmer
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Jul 10, 2013
Resources for Illumnating our Lettered World assignment.
New Student Library Orientation - Top 10
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Nov 6, 2013
The essential guide to RISD Library's collections, resources & services
Pochoir: Art of the Stencil
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 30, 2013
Pop-Up and Movable Books
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
RISD Museum Object Research
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Apr 11, 2014
A guide to researching museum objects from the RISD Museum and elsewhere
Temporary Shelters - Deborah Coolidge
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Jul 10, 2013
For Spatial Dynamics Class.
Furniture Design Subject Guide
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Apr 7, 2014
Sustainability and Design
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Mar 20, 2014
Glass Subject Guide
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Apr 9, 2014
Art & Design Research Skills
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 19, 2013
A list of research skills used in advanced studio practice
Artists' Writings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A resource guide to artists' writings and writing an artist statement
Citation Tools
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A guide to online and print citation tools + style manuals such as MLA, Chicago, Turabian and various free, online bibliographic tools
Create a Research Plan
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A framework for planning a research project
Graduate Student Library Resources
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
A guide to library resources and research skills for art, architecture, & design
Graduate Thesis Development
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
Ways to gather and synthesize sources to articulate the ideas in your work.
Literature Review
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 2, 2014
A descriptive guide to the literature review process
RISD Master's Thesis
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Nov 3, 2013
A resource guide for thesis research and writing assistance, locating theses in the library, and thesis binding options
Artists' Sketchbooks & Journals
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Selected resources providing facsimiles of artists' sketchbooks and journals
Graphic Design Subject Guide
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Aug 20, 2013
Pochoir: Art of the Stencil
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 30, 2013
Pop-Up and Movable Books
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Sustainability and Design
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Mar 20, 2014
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Oct 3, 2013
This guide illustrates the Avery Index's unique features for locating current and historic literature and imagery related to architecture, urban planning, landscape architecture, historic preservation, architectural history, and sustainable development
Islamic Art and Architecture
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Feb 22, 2010
Italian Renaissance Art
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Mar 25, 2010
RISD Museum Object Research
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Apr 11, 2014
A guide to researching museum objects from the RISD Museum and elsewhere
HPSS -S101 Excavating Women -- Susan Allen
by Claudia Covert, Andy Martinez - Last Updated Jul 10, 2013
This is a brief guide for students looking for information on female patrons of archeology.
HPSS-S539 Seminar: Buddhism And Society - Lindsay French
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Jul 10, 2013
This course is an anthropological consideration of Buddhism in its social and cultural contexts.
Seminar: Refugees, Migrants, & Displaced People
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated May 21, 2012
A guide to sources for topic exploration on migration, immigration, refugees and displaced persons
Accessing Images for Presentations
by Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Oct 15, 2013
This guide will demonstrate how to create a slide show in PowerPoint using images downloaded from any of RISD's image databases.
Browse Periodicals by Subject
by Stephen McCaughey - Last Updated Sep 23, 2013
Browse RISD Library periodical titles by subject.
Citation Tools
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A guide to online and print citation tools + style manuals such as MLA, Chicago, Turabian and various free, online bibliographic tools
eBooks
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Dec 11, 2013
How to search, locate, view and download eBooks from the eBook Academic Collection
Electronic Publication Alerts & RSS
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 23, 2010
This guide illustrates how to set up and save your searches for a determined time period. Receive results via email or RSS.
Fleet SEARCH
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
A guide to using RISD Library's integrated searching system, Fleet SEARCH
How to Login From Off Campus
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 2, 2014
Did you know you can access RISD Library subscription databases any time, anywhere? Use this guide to learn how to log in from off campus.
How to Renew Online
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 10, 2013
Avoid overdue fines and renew books you need by renewing online.
How to See Your Check-out History
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Aug 19, 2013
Learn how to login to your reading history. Keep track of everything you check out from RISD Library. Export the list to use as a bibliography.
Image Captions - How to cite an image
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
A guide to creating an image caption using MLA or Art Bulletin style
Library Lexicon
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
Library Lexicon is a list of frequently used library terms. The Library Terms tab are terms frequently used in libraries and the RISD Library Specific Terms tab are terms that are RISD Library specific.
New Student Library Orientation - Top 10
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Nov 6, 2013
The essential guide to RISD Library's collections, resources & services
RISD Library Virtual Tour
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 29, 2013
Take a virtual tour of RISD Library's unique resources and services
Using the Copystand
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 30, 2013
A five step guide to using the library's copystand
Artists' Sketchbooks & Journals
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Selected resources providing facsimiles of artists' sketchbooks and journals
ILLUS-5339 - Image Design - Marc Rosenthal
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Mar 19, 2014
A resource guide of package design for labels.
ILLUS-5339, Image Design - Marc Rosenthal
by Marc Calhoun, Claudia Covert - Last Updated Jun 20, 2013
Resources for Social Action Poster Project
Illustration Concepts
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Oct 13, 2011
Pattern and Ornament
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Illustration II ILLUS 5232 Oren Sherman Selected resources from various cultures and historical periods
Pochoir: Art of the Stencil
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 30, 2013
Pop-Up and Movable Books
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Accessing Images for Presentations
by Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Oct 15, 2013
This guide will demonstrate how to create a slide show in PowerPoint using images downloaded from any of RISD's image databases.
Faculty Guide to the RISD Digital Image Database, RDID
by Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
A step-by-step guide on how to search for and download digital images from the RISD Digital Image Database
Image Captions - How to cite an image
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
A guide to creating an image caption using MLA or Art Bulletin style
RISD Campus Architectural Drawings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 29, 2012
A list of architectural drawings of RISD buildings available in RISD Archives
Student Guide to the RISD Digital Image Database, RDID
by Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Dec 17, 2009
A step-by-step guide to searching and downloading images from RDID
Using the Copystand
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 30, 2013
A five step guide to using the library's copystand
Materials & Materiality
by Ellen Petraits, Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Nov 11, 2013
A guide to locating physical materials as well as print and online sources on materials and their properties
Sustainability and Design
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Mar 20, 2014
Interior Architecture Subject Guide
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 29, 2014
A guide to local resources, print and e-journals, maps, collections, materials and case studies for Interior Architecture
Adaptive Reuse
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 2, 2014
Improve search results by applying these strategies to adaptive reuse searches
Architecture eBooks
by Ellen Petraits, Carol Terry - Last Updated Nov 14, 2013
A guide to full-text architecture eBooks
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Oct 3, 2013
This guide illustrates the Avery Index's unique features for locating current and historic literature and imagery related to architecture, urban planning, landscape architecture, historic preservation, architectural history, and sustainable development
RISD Campus Architectural Drawings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 29, 2012
A list of architectural drawings of RISD buildings available in RISD Archives
J&M-4440 Sophomore History of Adornment
by Marc Calhoun, Claudia Covert, Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 26, 2013
This history seminar provides an overview of personal adornment in both western and non-western societies.
Academic English in Practice
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
RISD Intensive Language Course - Peter Carney & Lynn Varland - August 2012
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Oct 3, 2013
This guide illustrates the Avery Index's unique features for locating current and historic literature and imagery related to architecture, urban planning, landscape architecture, historic preservation, architectural history, and sustainable development
Landscape Architecture Subject Guide
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Nov 21, 2013
Citation Tools
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A guide to online and print citation tools + style manuals such as MLA, Chicago, Turabian and various free, online bibliographic tools
Coco Fusco
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
English 101
by Marc Calhoun, Claudia Covert, Ellie Nacheman, Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Nov 7, 2013
A library research guide for students in English 101
Junot Diaz
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Jun 21, 2013
A guide to the life and works of Junot Diaz, author of this year's Summer Common Reading Program.
Nineteenth Century British Women Novelists
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Apr 8, 2014
The study of four British women novelists of the 19th century -- Jane Austen, Emily Bronte, Charlotte Bronte, and Elizabeth Gaskell.
Materials & Materiality
by Ellen Petraits, Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Nov 11, 2013
A guide to locating physical materials as well as print and online sources on materials and their properties
Materials Education and Research in Art and Design: A New Role for Libraries
by Mark Pompelia, Carol Terry, Alecia Underhill - Last Updated Jun 6, 2013
June 6-8, 2013 | Fleet Library at Rhode Island School of Design, Providence RI
Artists' Writings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A resource guide to artists' writings and writing an artist statement
Contemporary Art & Artists
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A resource guide to finding articles, reviews, exhibitions catalogs, media, and images on contemporary artists and their work
Photography
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Apr 9, 2014
Printmaking Subject Guide
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Aug 20, 2013
Artists' Sketchbooks & Journals
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Selected resources providing facsimiles of artists' sketchbooks and journals
Pochoir: Art of the Stencil
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 30, 2013
Rhode Island Maps
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated May 8, 2012
A guide to locating and using Rhode Island map resources
Business Side of Art and Design
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Dec 5, 2013
This is a guide to resources available in the RISD Library and to a broad scope of online links to resources mined by the RISD Career Center
Early RISD Exhibition Catalogs
by Robert Garzillo - Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide presents the first 60 years of published catalogs of exhibitions held at the Rhode Island School of Design.
Museum of Art, 1926-2014
by Douglas Doe - Last Updated Mar 27, 2014
RISD Museum of Art Exhibitions
by Douglas Doe - Last Updated Aug 31, 2012
RISD Museum Object Research
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Apr 11, 2014
A guide to researching museum objects from the RISD Museum and elsewhere
Early RISD Exhibition Catalogs
by Robert Garzillo - Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide presents the first 60 years of published catalogs of exhibitions held at the Rhode Island School of Design.
Made in the UK: Contemporary Art from the Richard Brown Baker Collection
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jul 17, 2013
A resource guide to artists in the RISD Museum of Art exhibition, Made in the UK: Contemporary Art from the Richard Brown Baker Collection
Museum of Art, 1926-2014
by Douglas Doe - Last Updated Mar 27, 2014
RISD Museum of Art Exhibitions
by Douglas Doe - Last Updated Aug 31, 2012
Waterman Gallery Exhibitions, 1893-1925
by Douglas Doe - Last Updated May 7, 2013
RISD Museum of Art exhibitions held in the Waterman Building and the Waterman Galleries, 1893-1925.
Science Resources
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 5, 2014
A guide to print + electronic science resources and collections available to RISD students, faculty and staff
RISD Public Engagement
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
This guide was created by Joshua Lantzy of RISD Public Engagement.
Materials & Materiality
by Ellen Petraits, Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Nov 11, 2013
A guide to locating physical materials as well as print and online sources on materials and their properties
Science Resources
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 5, 2014
A guide to print + electronic science resources and collections available to RISD students, faculty and staff
Sculpture Subject Guide
by Ellie Nacheman - Last Updated Nov 25, 2013
Artists' Books and Bookbinding Techniques
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
Selected titles that provide information on the history of artists' books, the work of book artists from other countries, and bookbinding technique manuals.
Artists' Sketchbooks & Journals
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Selected resources providing facsimiles of artists' sketchbooks and journals
Pattern and Ornament
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Illustration II ILLUS 5232 Oren Sherman Selected resources from various cultures and historical periods
Pochoir: Art of the Stencil
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 30, 2013
Pop-Up and Movable Books
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Readers' Services Staff Pick
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Jul 15, 2011
Take a look at what we like!
Art & Design Research Skills
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 19, 2013
A list of research skills used in advanced studio practice
RISD Museum Object Research
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Apr 11, 2014
A guide to researching museum objects from the RISD Museum and elsewhere
TLAD-652G, Context, Content, Practice: Art and Design Education, John Chamberlin
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Sep 24, 2013
This graduate course examines the development of visual arts education in its connection to general education.
Workshop - Community Arts
by Claudia Covert, Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 23, 2013
Workshop for Masters of Arts in Teaching + Learning in Art + Design students on research in Community Arts for their Thesis.
Textiles Subject Guide
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Aug 20, 2013
A resource guide for textile majors
Pochoir: Art of the Stencil
by Laurie Whitehill Chong - Last Updated May 30, 2013
RISD Master's Thesis
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Nov 3, 2013
A resource guide for thesis research and writing assistance, locating theses in the library, and thesis binding options
Artists' Writings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A resource guide to artists' writings and writing an artist statement
Citation Tools
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A guide to online and print citation tools + style manuals such as MLA, Chicago, Turabian and various free, online bibliographic tools
Graduate Student Library Resources
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
A guide to library resources and research skills for art, architecture, & design
Graduate Thesis Development
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
Ways to gather and synthesize sources to articulate the ideas in your work.
Image Captions - How to cite an image
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
A guide to creating an image caption using MLA or Art Bulletin style
Coco Fusco
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
Junot Diaz
by Claudia Covert - Last Updated Jun 21, 2013
A guide to the life and works of Junot Diaz, author of this year's Summer Common Reading Program.
Artists' Writings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A resource guide to artists' writings and writing an artist statement
Citation Tools
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 30, 2014
A guide to online and print citation tools + style manuals such as MLA, Chicago, Turabian and various free, online bibliographic tools
English 101
by Marc Calhoun, Claudia Covert, Ellie Nacheman, Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Nov 7, 2013
A library research guide for students in English 101
Image Captions - How to cite an image
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
A guide to creating an image caption using MLA or Art Bulletin style

RISD Library Hours

  

Circulation & Reference
Mon-Thurs 8:30am - 11pm
Friday 8:30am - 8pm
Saturday 10am - 6pm
Sunday 12pm - 11pm

RISD Archives

Mon-Fri

8:30am - 4:30pm

Special Collections

Mon-Fri

8:30am - 4:30pm

Graham Visual Resources Center
Mon-Fri 8:30am - 4:30pm
Material Resource Center
Mon-Thurs 8:30am - 8pm
Fri 8:30am - 4:30pm
Sun 5pm - 9pm
Picture Collection
Mon-Thurs 8:30am - 8pm
Fri 8:30am - 4:30pm
Sun 5pm - 9pm

Regular & Holiday Hours

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts