The Ceramics Reader is an impressive editorial collection of essays and text extracts, covering every discipline within ceramics, past and present. Tackling such fundamental questions as why are ceramics important' , the book also considers the field from a range of perspectives as a cultural activity or metaphor, as a vehicle for propaganda, within industry and museums, and most recently as part of the expanded field ' as a fine art medium and hub for ideas.

While most surveys of contemporary art focus largely on two-dimensional work, there is a growing movement of emerging as well as established artists that are producing work in the ceramic medium. The New Age of Ceramics documents that movement; accross 180 illustrations it showcases a story of the art world redefining what was previously considered 'craft' rather than art.

Weiss examines the vast stylistic range of ceramics and investigates both the theoretical and personal reasons for viewing, using, and collecting them. Relating ceramics to other arts and practices--especially those surrounding food--he explores their different uses such as in the celebrated tea ceremony of Japan.

Contemporary ceramics includes a dynamic range of approaches for sculptural-orientated work, covering ceramics as performance, site-specific installation work, time-based ceramics, re-presentations of the human body and the environment. Chapters provide an introduction to each area under discussion and show how they have evolved, followed by a closer examination of work by selected ceramicists working, with illustrations of relevant examples and a discussion of how they fit into the current scene.

Collecting eight key texts on ceramic practice over the last 100 years, this book is an essential introductory reader on an area of growing interest. The book includes texts from leading scholars such as Bernard Leach, Herbert Read, Edmund de Waal, Tanya Harrod, Glenn Adamson, and Alison Britton, with contributions from artists Aaron Angell and Jesse Wine.

This book provides detailed technical explanations that most other sources don't address. This book reveals the chemistry and physics behind the fact.

Suzanne Staubach presents a lively look at how civilization was built on clay-from the first spark plugs to modern semi-conductors, satellite communications to surgical equipment. Clay is a fascinating, colorful look at how, from the primordial ooze to modern miracles, this most humble of substances continues to shape our world in ways limited only by the human imagination.

Chapters cover: The Near East, Egypt and the Mediterranean -- Greek vases -- The kilns of ancient Rome -- Ceramics of the Islamic world -- European Majolica -- European porcelain -- North American ceramics -- Chinese ceramics -- Korean ceramics -- Japanese ceramics. This book is about the history and the wonders of ceramics.

This is the first volume to bring together archaeology, ethnography, and art history in the analysis of pre-Columbian pottery. While previous research on ceramics has been divided among these three disciplines, this volume shows that integrating approaches provides new understandings of many different aspects of Ancient American societies.

In Persian Pottery in the First Global Age: the Sixteenth and Seventeeth Centuries the authors, L. Golombek, R. B. Mason, P. Proctor, and E. Reilly, challenge the commonly accepted narrative regarding Safavid pottery workshops and chronology and relate changes to historical context.

CERAMIX uses more than 250 artworks to tell the story of the ceramic arts spanning the start of the last century to present day, with plenty of attention for the postwar production of artistic ceramics and modern day art in Europe, North-America, and Asia. The artists that are featured in the book use the material in many different ways, from paintings and sculptures, to mixed media installations. The book shows over 250 masterpieces from international museums and private collections.

An encyclopedic survey of the history of Chinese ceramics from its earliest origins through the Qing dynasty, showing the grace and grandeur of this art form.

Beginning with a brief history of early oil lamps, Clay, Light, and Water delves into the nature of the basic materials required to fashion porcelain, bone china, and earthenware light holders. O'Rorke provides step-by-step instructions for each stage of construction, including throwing, shaping, firing, and wiring. She addresses the importance of such factors as the source of clay and the space the finished piece will inhabit. Because building ceramic light holders and fountains involves electricity and moving water, O'Rorke pays special attention to safety precautions.

This new handbook will be an essential resource for ceramicists. It includes contributions from leading researchers around the world and includes sections on Basic Science of Advanced Ceramics, Functional Ceramics (electro-ceramics and optoelectro-ceramics) and engineering ceramics. Contributions from more than 50 leading researchers from around the world Covers basic science of advanced ceramics, functional ceramics (electro-ceramics and optoelectro-ceramics), and engineering ceramics Approximately 750 illustrations

In this comprehensive update of his popular Ceramics Handbook title, Paul Scott explains the historical context for contemporary printed ceramics before explaining the principles of core techniques and their application in the studio. He explores photographic processes, as well as the new opportunities presented by digital technology, including digital and 3D printing.Illustrated with brand new images of beautiful works by leading artists working in printed ceramics, Ceramics and Print is a must-read guide for artists and makers interested in this ever-developing field.

Widely considered to be the most comprehensive introduction to ceramics available, this book contains numerous step-by-step illustrations of all ceramic techniques to guide the beginner, as well as inspirational ceramic pieces from international potters. For the more experienced ceramist, there is a wealth of technical detail on glaze formulas and temperature conversions which make the book an ideal reference.

This book is both a comprehensive textbook on ceramic technology and a chronicle of the developments made by the European Ceramic Work Centre (EKWC) over the years. It is a practical book which looks at materials, methods and equipment, using the results of various artists' projects to illustrate the text. EKWC is internationally renowned as a centre where ceramic artists can come for a period to experiment with new materials, methods and technologies.

A world-wide survey of traditional ceramics evaluates specific types for their raw materials, creation techniques, decoration types, and uses, in a comprehensive volume that features such topics as firing, glazes and finishes, molding, and throwing and provides a glossary, tourist information, and a

Emmanuel Cooper's classic guide to making glazes is now available in a thoroughly revised new edition. Cooper provides potters with an introductory section on glaze materials, coloring, mixing, and the application of glazes, as well as information on health and safety issues. This essential guide also features over 400 recipes ranging from opaque, matte, and transparent glazes to crystalline and black iron glazes, organized according to their varying temperature ranges.

This is a practical book, and the facts about clays and glazes and the principles governing their use are clearly described in easy-to-understand form. Fully discusses the geological make up of clay, various kinds of clays and the history of the various glazes.

The use of wax, paper, clay, and other materials to prevent the effects of heat, fire, smoke, chemical reactions, colors, and glazes from altering or contaminating the surfaces of work is very popular with ceramicists. However, learning to use these techniques can be a long and frustrating process, particularly when complicated by considerations of the state of the clay and the form of glazing to be used. In this book Peter Beard discusses the techniques of masking and resist and gives guidance as to how best to use various materials and firing methods to achieve a wide range of finishes.

Lustre begins with a brief historical overview of the technique, from its origins in ninth-century Tunisia to the application of nanotechnology in the ceramics industry today. Daly then guides ceramicists through each lustre production method: pigment, glaze, resin, and fuming. In each case, he breaks down the essential techniques and important safety procedures through simple step-by-step instructions and recipes. The handbook provides detailed technical information in clear language and easy-to-read tables and charts.

Oriental Glazes offers a complete overview of the art of high fire reduction glazing, which can be notoriously difficult to master. Michael Bailey has provided in-depth research to bring a wide variety of Oriental glazes to the reader with explanations, notes, and direction where needed. He discusses recipes, chemical make-up, and troubleshooting, and examines current artists' use of these unique glazes. A wide variety of techniques and glazes are presented, from celadons and tekmokus to the more specialized tea dust and hare's fur. This clear and practical volume offers a starting point for beginners and a rich source of recipes and approaches to the established potter.

This practical, concise guide covers the essential steps of creating maiolica ware, from clay selection to glaze firing. In a down-to-earth tone, Daphne Carnegy explains how to choose the right clay body, compose glazes, and use glaze application techniques such as brushwork, wax resist, decals, lusters, and enamels. Maiolica includes glaze recipes and a chapter on troubleshooting, as well as important health and safety information. Each procedure and concept is presented in clear detail, accompanied by color photographs and easy-to-read tables.

In Glazes Cone 6 Mike Bailey surveys the growing trend in middle-temperature firing and guides the reader by practical knowledge. He discusses a range of different glazes, including special effects, glaze stains, and underglaze colors, giving both recipes and tips for ensuring success.

This compact yet complete guide contains more than 270 formulas and recipes for slips, sigillatas, vitreous englobes, oxides, and stains. Jernegan gives clear and thorough instruction on application and firing methods, including raku. It also explains safe and environmentally responsible ways to handle the chemicals involved. Dry Glazes not only contains step-by-step color photographs of test tiles and procedures; it features illustrations of works by contemporary makers who have used matte glazes to great effect.

A useful guide to this exciting subject, Crystalline Glazes is perfect for both the student and the experienced potter experimenting with this technique. The second edition includes a new chapter, profiling the work of 14 potters from around the globe. These artists discuss their approaches, techniques, and recipes for achieving successful crystalline glazes.

Beginning with a brief introduction to historic forms such as encaustic tile, sprigging, and art pottery, Coloring Clay explains the principal techniques for working with colored clay. This detailed, practical handbook takes artists though the clay and stain selection process to forming and firing, outlining proven procedures that produce optimum results. Readers will learn to use coiling and handbuilding for marbled effects, make Wedgwood-style applied reliefs, incorporate swirls and subtle hues into wheel-thrown pieces with mixes and overlays, or apply inlays to slipcast works for modern geometric patterns.

This book covers all the factors any ceramic artist should consider when going "green" including: fuels and alternative firing technology; sustainable ways to collect and use clay; ways to deal with waste materials and save water; simple and achievable methods by which to reduce the carbon footprint of ceramic art; and examples of practitioners who reclaim, reuse and recycle in their work.

This is the trusted resource for working artists and art students written by the leading authority on these health hazards. Whether you work in painting, photography, sculpture, ceramics, printmaking, woodworking, textiles, computer, or children's art, this is the only reference book that covers all the dangers associated with metals, minerals, and chemicals. With illustrations throughout, this first aid book shows how to treat injuries and work with proper caution while still being creative. Updates include new ventilation, photo processing, and computer systems. Whether you are a beginner or professional, this is a must for every school, art studio, and home.