Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary articles covering nearly every area of academic study, most from 1970's to present. - Material Order This link opens in a new windowUtilizing and developing standards and best practices, the Material Order consortium provides a community-based approach to the management of design material collections with federated search access among participating institutions. Use this search tool to explore the material collections of the Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD), Columbia University, and the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD). As a RISD student, you have access to many of these samples!
- Google Arts & CultureDiscover artworks, collections and stories from all around the world in a new way. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail.
- EuropeanaAllows users to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections by exploring images, full-text books, newspapers, letters, diaries, and archival papers. Contributing institutions include the British Library, the Rijksmuseum, and the Louvre, among others.
Searching Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Artstor is JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million* rights-cleared images from around the world, discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources on one feature-rich platform. For more information on changes to Artstor/JSTOR, see the Artstor to JSTOR Migration Guide. - Creative Commons Search This link opens in a new windowSearch openly licensed, free-to-use images from across Flickr, Wikimedia Commons, and more. CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset.
- Smithsonian Institution Research Information System This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog of the collections of the Smithsonian museums, archives, and libraries. Search over 17.7 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 7.8 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.
Periodicals
RISD has many periodicals which focus on ceramics. To see a full list of periodicals by subject follow this link. Below you will find a brief list of fashion periodicals.
Open Access Journals
Open access (OA) journals are a great way to find more resources on your research topic.
Open access scholarly literature is free of charge and often carries less restrictive copyright and licensing barriers than traditionally published works, for both the users and the authors. OA publishing is a newer form of scholarly publishing. Many OA journals comply with well-established peer-review processes and maintain high publishing standards. You can try searching for open access journals in for your topic by using the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).
Open access journals and articles are part of a universe of Open Educational Resources. For more information, visit this guide.
Accessing Digital Resources Off Campus
Library access anytime!
Follow these 3 steps:
1. Go to the library website library.risd.edu
2. Select My Account in the top right hand corner
3. Follow the directions to log in.
- If you are trying to download an eBook from EBSCO you will also have to create or login to your EBSCO account when prompted.
- Alternative solution: download and install the RISD VPN software.
Common Issues:
Make sure you have entered your name and information correctly?
- See the How to Log In page
Is your library registration is up to date?
- If you’ve checked books out this year, it probably is.
I receive an error when I try to login, what should I do?
- If you receive an error when you try to log in, reach out via library@risd.edu for help.