Can I still check out books from the Athenaeum?
Unfortunately, due to the current circumstances the RISD community cannot check out books from the Athenaeum. We will keep you informed as circumstances change.
What should I do with the books that I have checked out?
We've extended most due dates to October, so don't worry! See the Returning Library Materials page for more info.
How do I connect to Fleet Library’s online resources from off-campus?
Logging in to the Fleet Library website will enable you to access ebooks, image databases, streaming video, articles, and much more from off-campus. If you receive an error when you try to log in, please reach out to us via email@example.com to have your registration renewed.
To log in, follow these instructions.
Once you are logged in, you will be able to access RISD subscriptions for the duration of your sign-in. You may need to sign in again the next time you use these resources.
As faculty, what can I do about my assigned films?
Check our streaming video databases: Artfilms, Alexander Street Academic Video Online, Films on Demand Art & Architecture Video Collection, and Kanopy. You can share video and audio in Zoom, including DVDs or video clips on your computer or through streaming platforms like Netflix (let us know if you need support and check out Zoom's helpful guides).
A note about Kanopy: Because it is a mediated database, each title has to be activated and paid for by the library team. When you log in, you will see the titles we currently have active. Other titles can be searched and requested (email firstname.lastname@example.org). We pay $120 for one year of access to each film, so our policy is to only activate films that your entire class will watch. If you have a Providence Public Library (or Brooklyn/NYPL) membership, you can also access Kanopy through that account, and watch up to 8 films per month for free!
We regret that we cannot make DVDs available online, both due to technology restrictions and copyright law.
How do I download eBooks?
You can view eBooks online anytime without downloading them(choose the “Full Text PDF” option). If you wish to download something for offline viewing using a desktop computer or mobile device, follow the instructions for downloading eBooks here.
I had a library instruction session / Special Collections presentation scheduled. Can my class still meet virtually with a librarian?
Yes! We are working to reach out to those with scheduled instruction. We can work with your class via Zoom, but it may be appropriate to discuss beforehand whether the lesson should be adjusted for our current situation and your updated syllabus. Feel free to get in touch with instruction librarians or the Special Collections team if you have not yet heard from us.
How can I access the New York Times?
There is a special link for access to the New York Times. You can create a free account with your risd.edu email address without having to be on campus. Visit this page for instructions.
Can I access the databases at Brown?
Unfortunately, due to the current circumstances the RISD community cannot access the databases at Brown's libraries. If you are having trouble finding a specific resource or resources on your topic, please email email@example.com and a librarian can help you.
Is the library providing scanning services for part of books and other materials?
All library staff are working remotely and will not be able to scan materials until we return to the library. We are unsure when exactly we will return to campus. When we return to campus we intend to spend time scanning and making resources available digitalyl for students and faculty. If you would like to make a scan request, we will add it to a spreadsheet for requests, please email: firstname.lastname@example.org or Laura Browne, Senior Library Assistant, Circulation + Reserves, email@example.com