Skip to main content

FLEET LIBRARY | Research Guides

Rhode Island School of Design

Faculty Guide to Library Resources: Archives, Special Collections

An outline of library's services and resources for faculty: course reserves, off campus access to databases, e-journals, interlibrary loan, instruction, research assistance, and digital imaging

Contact RISD Archives


RISD Archives

Andrew Martinez, Archivist
Doug Doe, Associate Archivist

RISD’s Archives collects, preserves and provides access to records and artifacts, including photographs and publications that document the history and development of RISD programs, policies and procedures and contributions of individuals and organizations associated with the School and Museum. Records in the Archives date from RISD’s founding in 1877 to the present.

Archives, Special Collections & Artists Books

Drop-In Visits, Class Presentations, Individual Research Consultations, & Collaborative Teaching Opportunities

Dale Reading Room for Archives + Special Collections, Room 223

Contact Special Collections


RISD Library Special Collections

Claudia Covert, Special Collections Librarian
Ariel Bordeaux, Special Collections Assistant

Special Collections materials and Artists’ Books are listed in the Library’s online catalog and may be viewed in the Dale Reading Room for Archives + Special Collections. Because of their age, condition, scarcity, size, research value and history, these materials do not circulate. For further information about these resources, how they might be incorporated into course objectives, or for research assistance, please contact the Special Collections Librarian.