Working from Off Campus

If you're working from a networked computer on campus there is no login process-you're already on the campus network. Selecting a database link will take you directly into the search interface.
If you're off campus, you can access All RISD Library's Online Subscription Databases by following the log in process:

Logging into the Network:
After selecting a link from the Library's Online Subscription Databases page,
the login window opens.

• Login using your name as it appears on the front of your RISD ID

• For Barcode, use the 14-digit number located on the back of your RISD ID

(You'll only need to login once per browser session)

If you encounter a problem, contact the Reference Desk and ask for a librarian.

Bookmark the library's website or databases page to help you remember that you need to go through the library's server in order to access full-text and digital image resources from off campus.

RISD Library currrently subscribes to 35+ online resources which cover a wide array of information including digital images, materials, full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and articles as well as authoritative article citation indexes such as the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals and Art Full Text. Complete List

 Look for these icons to identify the type of information contained in each
 RISD Library subscription database

mobile version or app available

	some Full Text
	contains Images
	RISD Library subscription database. Licensed for RISD Students, Faculty & Staff. Available On + Off Campus - How to Login
	Available to All. RISD Library includes these links on our website because they are authoritative sources of information of interest to library users

Contact a RISD librarian for database recommendations on your topic.

Looking for a specific journal?
Search for current and retrospective print and e-journal holdings in RISD Library by using the E-Journals Index.

Why
Q: Why do I have to go through the RISD library website, go through the log in process before I search the databases from off campus.... why doesn't it work if I just google a database and go directly to the website - for example, jstor.org or www.oxfordjournals.org? Why can't I get the full-text articles directly from the website?

A:The online databases to which RISD Library subscribes are run through a dedicated server on campus. The pricing for institutional subscriptions to these databases is based on full-time student enrollment which is why they are not freely available in their entirety on the internet to everyone even though links to them do come up in internet searches. The database vendors use a login/authentication process to ensure that only current RISD-affiliated students and faculty can access these electronic resources from off campus.