| Title | Date | Catalogue | Images |
|---|---|---|---|
| Armenian Handicraft from Providence Homes. | 1936 Jan 8-29 | Yes | |
| Photographs of Persian Islamic Architecture. | 1936 Jan 8-29 | Yes | |
| Etchings by Lester G. Hornby. | 1936 Feb 3-29 | ||
| Rhode Island Tercentenary Celebration: Paintings by Gilbert Stuart, Furniture by Goddard and Townsend, and Silver by Rhode Island Silversmiths. | 1936 Feb 5-Apr 5 | Yes | Yes |
| Photographs by Newspaper Photographers. | 1936 Feb 16-29 | ||
| Carved Buddha of the Fujiwara Period. | 1936 Feb 18-Mar 1 | ||
| Italian Handicraft from Providence Homes. | 1936 Mar 8-29 | Yes | |
| Italian Handicraft from the Permanent Collection. | 1936 Mar 8-29 | Yes | |
| Work in Graphic Arts by Five Contemporary English Artists. | 1936 Apr 3-19 | Yes | |
| Iris Prints from the Rockefeller Collection of Japanese Prints. | 1936 Apr 7-22 | ||
| Flower Prints by Sugakudo from the Rockefeller Collection of Japanese Prints. | 1936 Apr 7-22 | ||
| Ancient Japanese Textiles and Embroideries. | 1936 Apr 22-May 10 | ||
| Students' Summer Work. | 1936 May 6-20 | ||
| Lithographs by Honore Daumier. | 1936 May 6-20 | ||
| Work of the Junior School. | 1936 May 11-18 | ||
| Flowers of Summer from the Rockefeller Collection of Japanese Prints. | 1936 May 17-Aug 31 | ||
| Fifty-Seventh Annual Exhibition of Students' Work in the RISD. | 1936 May 27-Jun 15 | ||
| Paintings by Rhode Island Artists, from the Permanent Collection. | 1936 Jul 1-Aug 31 | ||
| Early American Furniture. | 1936 Jul 1-Aug 31 | ||
| Japanese Woodcarvings, Metalwork and Textiles, from the Permanent Collection. | 1936 Sep 6-Oct 31 | ||
| Thirty-Second Annual Fall Exhibition of Contemporary American Paintings. | 1936 Oct 1-Nov 1 | Yes | |
| Students' Summer Work in Painting. | 1936 Nov 4-18 | ||
| Brahams Chamber Music Festival | 1936 Nov 6-17 | ||
| Handwoven Textiles from Finland. | 1936 Nov 22-Dec 6 | ||
| Paintings and Sculpture of the Renaissance from the Permanent Collection. | 1936 Dec 1-1937 May 7 | ||
| Indo-Persian Miniatures and East Indian Jewelry. | 1936 Dec 6-1937 Jan 31 | ||
| Masks of North and South American Indians, African Negro Tribes and the South Sea Islanders. | 1936 Dec 10-Dec 27 | ||
| American Portraiture from 1750-1850. | 1936 Dec 16-Dec 31 | Yes | |
| Peruvian Antiquities. | 1937 Jan 1-31 | ||
| Models of Colonial Buildings. | 1937 Jan 20-Feb 7 | ||
| Twelve American Paintings (MOMA, Gift of Mrs. Rockefeller) | 1937 Jan 25-Feb 15 | Yes | |
| Photographs by Newspaper Photographers. | 1937 Feb 14-28 | ||
| Polish Peasant Papercuts. | 1937 Mar 7-24 | ||
| Prints from the Permanent Collection. | 1937 Mar 20-Apr 11 | ||
| Cubism and Abstract Art Circulating Exhibition (MOMA) | 1937 Mar 31-Apr 21 | Yes | |
| The Aldrich Collection of Japanese No Drama Costumes and Japanese Priest Robes. | 1937 Apr 6-May 10 | Yes | Yes |
| The 18th Century English House Room and Lucy T. Aldrich Collection of Porcelain Figures. | 1937 Apr 6 | ||
| Swedish Handicraft. | 1937 Apr 18-May 9 | Yes | |
| Junior School Exhibit. | 1937 May 8-15 | ||
| The American Landscape. | 1937 May 10-23 | ||
| Portraits Showing Historical Costume. | 1937 May 13-20 | ||
| The Fifty-Seventh Annual Exhibition of Students' Work in the RISD. | 1937 May 26-Jun 23 | ||
| English and Continental China, including Collections of Lustre and Transfer Printed Ware. | 1937 Jul 1-Sep 30 | ||
| Japanese Color Prints of Flowers and Birds, by Hiroshige from the Rockefeller Collection. | 1937 Jul 1-Sep 30 | ||
| Watercolors and Prints from the Permanent Collection. | 1937 Jul 1-Oct 8 | ||
| The Art in Rome, in Commemoration of the Bimillennium of Augustus Caesar. | 1937 Sep 23-Oct 23 | ||
| Sculptures and Drawings by Malvina Hoffman. | 1937 Oct 10-Dec 23 | Yes | |
| Javanese Batiks and Puppets. | 1937 Oct 17-Nov 14 | ||
| Two Hundred Years of Chamber Music | 1937 Oct 31-Nov 11 | Yes | |
| Paintings by Eugene Vail. | 1937 Nov 3-30 | Yes | |
| Paintings of the Impressionist and Post-Impressionist Schools. | 1937 Nov 8-Dec 24 | ||
| Flemish Paintings of the 17th Century. | 1937 Nov 9-Dec 23 | ||
| Peasant Embroideries. | 1937 Dec 12-1938 Jan 30 | ||
| Dolls of Long Ago and Far Away. | 1937 Dec 12-1938 Jan 31 | Yes | |
| Two Centuries of Drawings from the Museum Collection. | 1938 Jan 1-138 | ||
| Photographs by Newspaper Cameramen. | 1938 Jan 16-308 | ||
| Flower and Bird Prints by Utamaro from the Rockefeller Collection. | 1938 Feb 6-Mar 25 | ||
| Chinese Costume from the Lucy T. Aldrich Collection. | 1938 Feb 6-Mar 208 | ||
| The Etcher's Art. | 1938 Feb 8-1 | ||
| Architectural Drawings of the Mid-19th Century. | 1938 Feb 12-28 | ||
| French Printed Cottons. | 1938 Feb 12-28 | ||
| A Spring Exhibition of Contemporary American Painting. | 1938 Mar 2-31 | Yes | |
| Orrefors Glass. | 1938 Mar 2-27 | ||
| Watercolors by American Artists. | 1938 Apr 1-25 | ||
| Photographs from the American Solon. | 1938 Apr 3-10 | ||
| Block Prints and Watercolors by the late Albert Potter. | 1938 Apr 6-27 | ||
| Oriental Textiles, including Persian, Indian, Balanese, and Sumatran Fabrics, from the Lucy T. Aldrich Collection. | 1938 Apr 10-May 9 | ||
| Small Sculpture by Edwin N. Hancock. | 1938 May 1-18 | Yes | |
| Sculptures from Walrus Ivory, Labrador Talc, Native Talc, and Plaster by Edwin Hancock of Newfoundland. | 1938 May 2-18 | ||
| Bird and Flower Prints by Koriusai and his Contemporaries, from the Rockefeller Collection. | 1938 May 15 | ||
| Fifty-Ninth Annual Exhibition of Students' Work in the RISD. | 1938 May 25-Jun 13 | ||
| Indian Costumes and other Textiles from the Lucy T. Aldrich Collection. | 1938 May 25-Jun 20 | ||
| Indian Textiles, lent by Miss. Lucy T. Aldrich. | 1938 Jun 1-30 | ||
| Japanese Bird and Flower Prints from the Rockefeller Collection. | 1938 Jun 15-Oct 1 | ||
| French Drawings, Paintings and Watercolors from the Museum Collection, supplemented by loans from Mrs. Danforth, Mrs. Sharpe, Mr. Brown, Mr. Sturges. | 1938 Jul 1-Oct 31 | ||
| Hurricane Pictures. | 1938 Oct 1-Nov 10 | Yes | |
| French and Flemish Tapestries. | 1938 Nov 13-30 | ||
| Costume Sketches by Marco Montedoro for the Ballet, "Incredible Flutist." | 1938 Nov 15-25 | ||
| Masterpieces of Dutch Painting | 1938 Dec 11-1939 Jan 25 | Yes | Yes |
| Swedish Prints. | 1939 Jan 4-29 | ||
| Persian Arts. | 1939 Jan 6-Feb 10 | ||
| Contemporary American Painting. | 1939 Feb 5-Mar 15 | Yes | |
| Index of American Art. | 1939 Feb 15-Mar 1 | ||
| Providence Journal Photographs. | 1939 Feb 23-Mar 12 | ||
| Japanese Color Prints, Iris, Flowering Plum, from the Rockefeller Collection. | 1939 Mar 19-Apr 19 | ||
| Historic Wallpapers. | 1939 Mar 19-30 | ||
| Drawings for the Wheaton College Art Center Competition. | 1939 May 1-15 | ||
| Annual Exhibition of RISD Students' Work. | 1939 May 21-Jun 3 | ||
| Indian Textiles from the Lucy T. Aldrich Collection. | 1939 Jun 1-30 | ||
| Selected Group of Japanese Prints from the Rockefeller Collection. | 1939 Jun 15-Oct 31 | ||
| Rhode Island Architecture | 1939 Jun 18-Dec 5 | digital | Yes |
| American and European Art from the Permanent Collection. | 1939 Jun 18-Oct 15 | ||
| Greek and Near Eastern Embroideries from the Permanent Collection. | 1939 Jun 30-Oct 30 | ||
| Children's Books. | 1939 Nov 1-1940 Jan 5 | ||
| Contemporary American Paintings. | 1939 Nov 8-Dec 11 | Yes | Yes |
| Chamber Music Festival. | 1939 Nov 12-22 | ||
| Textiles and Crafts from the Dutch East Indies lent by Miss Lucy T. Aldrich and Mr. and Mrs. Arthur B. Lisle. | 1939 Nov 26-1940 Jan 8 | ||
| Rowlandson Prints and Water Colors. | 1939 Dec 18-1940 Jan 11 | ||
| Rhode Island Treasures. | 1940 Jan 14-Mar 3 | Yes | |
| Selection of Textiles from the Lucy T. Aldrich Collection. | 1940 Jan 14-Mar 3 | ||
| Book End-Papers through the Centuries lent by Walter Schatzki, Inc. of New York. | 1940 Feb 9-Apr 14 | ||
| Journal Photographs. | 1940 Feb 16-Mar 3 | ||
| Chinese Costumes from the Lucy T. Aldrich Collection. | 1940 Mar 10-Apr 3 | ||
| American Cartoonists of Today. | 1940 Mar 10-30 | Yes | |
| French and Italian Paintings. | 1940 Mar 14-26 | ||
| French 18th Century Silver. | 1940 Mar 26-Apr 30 | ||
| East Indian Costumes from the Lucy T. Aldrich Collection. | 1940 Apr 5-May 12 | ||
| Drawings and Water Colors by Children of the Fifth Grade. | 1940 Apr 21-May 12 | ||
| Contemporary Rhode Island Art. | 1940 May 4-June 7 | ||
| Index of American Art. | 1940 May 4-June 7 | ||
| Annual Exhibition of Work by Students of the RISD. | 1940 May 19-Jun 2 | ||
| Oriental Costumes from the Permanent Collection. | 1940 May 26 | ||
| American Paintings from the Permanent Collection. | 1940 Jun 1-Sep 15 | ||
| Japanese Fan Prints from the Rockefeller Collection. | 1940 Jun 15-Oct 1 | ||
| Pre-Columbian Art, Old and New Acquisitions. | 1940 Jun 30-Oct 5 | Yes | |
| American Folk Art from the Harden DeV. Pratt Collection. | 1940 Jul 7-Oct 5 | Yes | |
| MIT Architect Students' Work. | 1940 Oct 10-Nov 7 | ||
| Contemporary American Painting and British Painting. | 1940 Oct 10-Nov 25 | Yes | |
| Sketches of American Indians by Bertha C. Noyes. | 1940 Oct 15-Nov 11 | Yes | |
| Students' Work - Wheeler School. | 1940 Oct 15-Nov 16 | ||
| Rhode Island National Salon of Photography. | 1940 Nov 10-17 | Yes | |
| Hobby Show | 1940 Nov 13-Dec 10 | ||
| Exhibition of Church Silver, Paintings, etc. 150th Anniversary, Episcopal Diocese of Rhode Island. | 1940 Nov 17-30 | Yes | |
| Hobby Show. | 1940 Nov 23-1941 Jan 29 | ||
| Prints of Various Techniques from the Permanent Collection. | 1940 Dec 10-1941 Jan 29 | ||
| Turkish and Italian Textiles. | 1940 Dec 30-1941 Jun 1 | ||
| Japanese Prints, "Birds in Snow," and Prints for the New Year and other Festivals - "Surimona." From the Rockefeller Collection. | 1940 Dec 30-1941 Apr 1 |