| Title | Date | Catalogue | Images |
|---|---|---|---|
| Development of American Furniture. | 1941 | Yes | |
| Art Before Columbus. | 1941 Jan 2-Mar 17 | ||
| Wallpapers from the Permanent Collection. | 1941 Jan 2-Mar 20 | ||
| Rhode Island Architectural Photographs, "Know your City." | 1941 Jan 10-Feb 2 | ||
| Providence Journal Photographs. | 1941 Feb 1-16 | ||
| School Children's' Work - "Visualizing Social Studies." | 1941 Feb 2 | ||
| Drawings from the Howard Sturgis Collection. | 1941 Feb 20-Mar 15 | ||
| Arts and Crafts by Members of the Junior League. | 1941 Mar 1-15 | ||
| Wallpapers from the Permanent Collection. | 1941 Mar 1-Apr 1 | ||
| Brass Through the Ages | 1941 Mar 6-Apr 15 | Yes | Yes |
| Chester Aldrich Memorial Exhibition of Watercolors. | 1941 Mar 10-Apr 1 | ||
| Watercolors from the Permanent Collection. | 1941 Mar 17-May 5 | ||
| Second Annual Exhibition of Contemporary Rhode Island Art. | 1941 Apr 3-May 20 | ||
| Japanese Prints, "Spring Flowers" from the Rockefeller Collection. | 1941 Apr 9-Jun 1 | ||
| Tapestries and Paintings from the Permanent Collection. | 1941 Apr 25 | ||
| Recreational Opportunities for Children. | 1941 Apr 26-May 3 | Yes | |
| Camera Pictorialists. | 1941 May 10-17 | ||
| Annual Exhibition of Work done by RISD Students. | 1941 May 26-Jun 20 | ||
| Coptic and Pre-Coptic Textiles from Early Christian Tombs lent by Dr. Robert S. McClenahan. | 1941 Jun 1-Oct 1 | ||
| Old Pictorial Patchwork and other Folk Art. | 1941 Jun 1-Oct 1 | ||
| American Water Colors. | 1941 Jun 1-Oct 1 | ||
| Hokusai Color Prints. | 1941 Jun 1-Oct 1 | ||
| Albert M. Steinert Collection of Keyed and Stringed Instruments from the Permanent Collections. | 1941 Jun 1-Oct 1 | ||
| State House Photographs and Architectural Drawings lent by the State of Rhode Island. | 1941 Jun 1-Oct 1 | ||
| American Subjects in Old Printed Cottons. | 1941 Jun 1-Oct 1 | ||
| Indian Persian and Paisley Shawls from the Permanent Collection. | 1941 Jun 1-Oct 1 | ||
| Miniature Rooms by Mrs. James Ward Thorne, European Series lent by the Art Institute of Chicago. | 1941 Oct 1-Nov 30 | Yes | |
| Napoleonic Laces, Miniatures and Prints. | 1941 Oct 4-1942 May 1 | ||
| 18th Century Decorative Arts. | 1941 Nov 1-1942 May 1 | ||
| Costume Sketches and Properties in connection with Theatre Project "Lady Precious Stream." | 1941 Nov 10-20 | ||
| Japanese Color Prints of Water Fowl from the Rockefeller Collection. | 1941 Nov 10-1942 Jan 7 | ||
| Fifth Rhode Island National Salon of Photography. | 1941 Nov 16-30 | Yes | |
| Chamber Music Festival. | 1941 Dec 7-18 | ||
| French Wallpapers from Louis Philippe to Louis XVth Period. | 1941 Dec 9-1942 May 1 | ||
| Oriental Costumes, Chinese, Persian Indian. | 1941 Dec 14-1942 Jun 1 | ||
| Old English Color Prints. | 1942 Jan 1-Feb 9 | ||
| Chinese Flower Prints from the Rockefeller Collection. | 1942 Jan 1-Feb 5 | ||
| Living Lithography lent by the Institute of Graphic Arts. | 1942 Jan 19-Feb 2 | ||
| Old Theatrical Posters from the Collection of Molly Nye Tobey. | 1942 Feb 1-26 | ||
| Flags and Arts of the "A.B.C.D." Powers with Informative Maps and Photographs. | 1942 Feb 15-Mar 15 | ||
| Antique Hooked Rugs. | 1942 Feb 22-Mar 15 | ||
| African Art. | 1942 Mar 1-15 | ||
| Lace-making in Rhode Island. | 1942 Mar 22-31 | ||
| American Water Colors. | 1942 Mar 22-27 | ||
| Sixth Annual All Rhode Island Salon of Photography sponsored by the Camera Club of the Providence Engineering Society. | 1942 Mar 25-Apr 7 | ||
| Third Annual Exhibition of Contemporary Rhode Island Art. | 1942 Apr 1-May 1 | ||
| 1942 Lithographs of World War One. | 1942 Apr 10-May 31 | ||
| Art Work by Students of the Gordon School. | 1942 Apr 14-30 | ||
| Drawings for a National Competition for an Emblem of the American Psychiatric Association. | 1942 Apr 25-30 | ||
| Paintings by a Group of Worcester Artists. | 1942 May 6-31 | ||
| Indian Arts of North, Central and South America. | 1942 May 6-Jun 1 | ||
| Annual RISD Exhibition, Emphasizing War-time Activities. | 1942 May 13-Jun 1 | ||
| 19th Century Crafts. | 1942 May 28 | ||
| "Napoleon - the Invasion of England and the Downfall" Caricatures. | 1942 May 28 | ||
| Modern Glass and French Drawings. | 1942 May 30 | ||
| Work of Army Illustrators of Fort Custer, Michigan. | 1942 Jun 1 | ||
| Exhibitions from the Museum Collection. | 1942 Jul 1-Oct 1 | ||
| 19th Century Crafts. | 1942 Jul 1-Oct 1 | ||
| European and American Drawings. | 1942 Jul 1-Oct 1 | ||
| Harold Brown Collection of French Directoire and European. | 1942 Jul 1-Oct 1 | ||
| French Art of the 19th and 20th Centuries. | 1942 Nov 1-30 | Yes | |
| Oriental Costumes and Textiles. | 1942 Dec 1-31 | ||
| Paintings by Van Gogh. | 1942 Dec 1-31 | ||
| Three Mexican Painters: Orozco, Rivers, Siqueiros. | 1943 Jan 1-31 | ||
| Arms and Armor. | 1943 Jan 1-31 | ||
| American Paintings from the Revolution to the Civil War. | 1943 Jan 1-31 | ||
| Sixth Rhode Island Salon of Photography. | 1943 Feb 1-Mar 31 | Yes | |
| Tapestry Exhibition. | 1943 Feb 1-Mar 31 | ||
| Russian Icons. | 1943 Feb 1-Mar 31 | ||
| Modigliani Drawings, from the Collection of Professor and Mrs. Leon N. Brillouin. | 1943 Apr 1-30 | Yes | |
| French Wallpapers, and Selected Paintings from the Museum Collection. | 1943 Apr 1-30 | ||
| Fourth Annual Exhibition of Rhode Island Artists. | 1943 May 1-31 | Yes | |
| Annual Student Exhibition. | 1943 May 1-31 | ||
| 18th and 19th Century French Drawings from the Museum Collection. | 1943 Jun 1-Sep 16 | ||
| American Paintings of the 18th and 19th Centuries from the Museum Collection. | 1943 Jun 1-Jul 14 | ||
| 18th and 19th Century Silver from the Museum Collection. (Reinstalled in the front hall, May 1944.) | 1943 Jun 1 | ||
| Chinese Porcelains, largely of the Sung Dynasty (960-1280 AD). Lent by Nasli Heeramaneck, Mathias Komor, C. T. Loo, Warren E. Cox, Kleijkamp, Inc., and Tonying and Company. Pieces from the Museum Collection were included. | 1943 Jun 1-Sep 20 | ||
| "Architecture of the Ohio River Valley." Photographs prepared and circulated by the Taft Museum, Cincinnati, Ohio. | 1943 Jun 16-Jul 14 | Yes | |
| "Industrial and Public Architecture of Rhode Island from the 17th to the 20th Century." Photographs from the Museum Collection. | 1943 Jul 14-Sep 15 | ||
| "Ante Bellum Houses of the Mississippi Valley." Photographs circulated by U.S. Department of the Interior, Historic American Buildings Survey, Central Unit, St. Louis, National Park Service. | 1943 Jul 15-Sep 10 | ||
| "Feminine Foibles." Costumes and accessories from the Museum Collection. | 1943 Jul 26-Aug 6 | ||
| English Drawings and Water Colors of the 18th and 19th Centuries, from the Museum Collection. | 1943 Sep 16-1944 Jan 3 | ||
| "Speak their Language." British and American War Cartoons circulated by the American Federation of Arts. | 1943 Sep 19-Oct 3 | ||
| Renaissance and Baroque Paintings from the Museum Collection together with loans from dealers and private individuals. (Rehung several times during the Winter.) | 1943 Sep 20 | ||
| American Rooms in Miniature by Mrs. James Ward Thorne. | 1943 Sep 25-Nov 24 | Yes | |
| Three Photographs of Thorne Miniature Rooms, two cartoons from "Speak Their Language," and English water color from the current exhibition. | 1943 Oct 1-15 | ||
| "Wings Over America." Photographs of pilot training circulated by Army Air Forces Training Command. | |||
| Photographs. Rhode Island Federation of Camera Clubs. | 1943 Nov 19-Dec 13 | ||
| French 19th and 20th Century Paintings and Drawings, from the Museum Collection together with pictures from dealers. (Rehung several times during the Winter.) | 1943 Nov 26 | ||
| French Wall Papers from the Museum Collection. | 1943 Dec 15-1944 Jan 3 | ||
| American Painters of the Present Day, including one-man exhibitions for Arbit Blatas and Lawrence Lebduska. | 1944 Jan 7-Feb 14 | Yes | |
| Three Paintings from the Exhibition of American Painters. | 1944 Jan 17-Feb 1 | ||
| Work by Students in the RISD. | 1944 Feb 5-21 | ||
| "Blitzed Architecture of London." Photographs showing London buildings before and after bombing. Circulated by the British Information Services. | 1944 Feb 15-Mar 13 | ||
| Seventh Rhode Island National Salon of Photography, organized by the Rhode Island Camers Club. | 1944 Feb 22-Mar 13 | Yes | |
| Fourth Annual Exhibition of Drawings. Drawings by men and women in the armed forces, circulated by the Albany Institute of History and Art. | 1944 Mar 16-Apr 17 | ||
| Fifth Annual Exhibition by Rhode Island Artists. | 1944 Apr 2-30 | Yes | |
| "Our Navy in Action." Photographs circulated by the Navy Department, Office of Public Relations, Washington, D. C. | 1944 Apr 10-26 | ||
| "Ships for Victory." Photographs showing the steps in building a Victory Ship. Circulated by the Portland Art Museum, Portland, Oregon. Included were photographs of the Walsh-Kaiser yards in Providence and Posters by Milo K. Winter, Jr. and John Gouveia done at Walsh-Kaiser Co., Inc. | 1944 Apr 28-May 28 | ||
| Old Posters of Paris, lent by C. Matlack Price. | 1944 Jun 3-Sep 25 | ||
| "Rhode Island's War Activity," and exhibition of paintings by Wilfred I. Duphiney. | 1944 Sep 6-Oct 2 | ||
| Exhibition of Work by Students of the RISD. | 1944 Oct 6-23 | ||
| "Yankee Things" from bygone homes and farms, assembled by the Addison Gallery of American Art, Phillips Academy, Andover. | 1944 Nov 3-Dec 10 | Yes | |
| Exhibition of Stained Glass Window by Wilbur H. Burnham, commissioned for Trinity Church, Pawtucket, RI. | 1944 Dec 2-1945 Jan 18 | ||
| Second Annual Exhibition by Rhode Island Federation of Camera Clubs. | 1944 Dec 15-1945 Jan 7 | ||
| Photographs by David Octavious Hill and Robert Adamson, from the collection of Dr. Heinrich Schwarz. | 1944 Dec 15-1945 Jan 7 | ||
| Old and New England Exhibition | 1945 Jan 18-Feb 18 | Yes | Yes |
| Exhibition of Sculpture and Quill Drawings by Waldemar Rhemisch, instructor in the Sculpture Department, RISD. | 1945 Mar 9-Apr 1 | ||
| Photographs by Philip C. Elliott, Director, Albright Art School, Buffalo, NY. | 1945 Mar 9-Apr 1 | ||
| Sixth Annual Exhibition by Rhode Island Artists. | 1945 Apr 8-May 6 | Yes | |
| Exhibition of Lithographs and Drawings by Henri De Toulouse Lautrec. | 1945 May 1 | ||
| Exhibition of Persian Miniatures from the Museum Collection. | 1945 May 1-Aug 31 | ||
| Typography by W. A. Dwiggens. | 1945 May 1-Jun 1 | ||
| W. A. Dwiggins: Typography | 1945 May 1-Jun 30 | ||
| Eighth Rhode Island National Salon of Photography. | 1945 May 13-Jun 11 | Yes | |
| Exhibition of "Portrait of a Young Priest" by Hugo van der Goos - recent accession. | 1945 Jun 1 | ||
| Prints from the Permanent Collection. | 1945 Jul 1-Aug 31 | ||
| Paintings, Drawings and Prints by Eugene Delacroix. | 1945 Jul 1-Aug 31 | ||
| American Folk Art. | 1945 Aug 1-14 | ||
| Back to the Ancients: French Taste from the Monarchy to Napolean, 1750-1815 | 1945 Oct 4-28 | Yes | |
| Chinese Exhibition in the Rhode Island Hospital Trust Company. | 1945 Oct 7-12 | ||
| Chinese Exhibition at the Providence Plantations Club. | 1945 Oct 7-16 | ||
| Chinese Paintings by Living Artists. Lent by Senator Theodore Francis Green and Alice Boney. | 1945 Oct 7-28 | ||
| Chinese Exhibition at the Providence Public Library. | 1945 Oct 7-31 | ||
| Paintings and Lithographs by Theodore Gericault, 1791-1824. | 1945 Oct 30-Nov 30 | ||
| Honore Daumier, Illustrator and Caricaturist. From the Collection of Harvard College Library. | 1945 Nov 7-Dec 12 | ||
| Third Annual Exhibition by Rhode Island Federation of Camera Clubs. | 1945 Dec 3-1946 Jan 2 | ||
| Masters of Photography. Circulated by Museum of Modern Art, NY. | 1945 Dec 3-1946 Jan 2 | ||
| Exhibition in Biltmore Hotel Display Case using Rhode Island Federation of Camera Clubs Material. | 1945 Dec 4-Dec 17 |