| Title | Date | Catalogue | Images | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| European Acquisition: Drawings and Prints. | 1951 Jan 17-Feb 25 | |||
| 17th Century Drawings and Prints. | 1951 Feb 27-Apr 13 | |||
| Keyboard and Strings: Early Instruments and Performers. | 1951 Mar 7-Apr 15 | Yes | Yes | |
| Prints by Goya. | 1951 Apr 13-May 11 | |||
| French Drawings and Prints: Manet to Renoir. | 1951 May 11-Jun 25 | |||
| American and European Prints of the 20th Century from the Permanent Collection. | 1951 Jun 6-Oct 12 | |||
| Prints by Durer, Leyden and Meckenem. | 1951 Jun 25 | |||
| English Watercolors and Drawings. | 1951 Aug 24 | |||
| American Watercolors and Drawings. | 1951 Aug 30 | |||
| Old Master Drawings of the 16th and 17th Centuries. | 1951 Oct 12 | |||
| Drawings and Prints of Paris in conjunction with Paris, Many Happy Returns. | 1951 Oct 21-Dec 5 | Yes | ||
| Nativity and Epiphany Prints from the 15th to the 18th Centuries. | 1951 Dec 5-1952 Jan 6 | Yes | ||
| Color Lithographs of the 19th and 20th Centuries. | 1951 Dec 5-1952 Jan 6 | |||
| Forms with Ornament | 1952 Jan 1-31 | |||
| Rhode Island Artists' Independent | 1952 Jan 20-Feb 10 | |||
| Modern Illustrated Books. | 1952 Feb 17-Mar 30 | |||
| Rabats, Barbes, and Lappets: An Exhibition of Lace, 1550-1950. | 1952 Feb 27-Apr 6 | Yes | ||
| 17th Century Prints. | 1952 Mar 10 | |||
| Exhibition of Watercolors of Turkish Children, and one of Older Arts of Turkey, selected from the Museum's Collection. | 1952 Mar 11-22 | |||
| New Acquisitions, Drawings and Prints. | 1952 Apr 2-Oct 21 | |||
| Francisco Goya, 1746-1828: Prints and Miniatures. | 1952 Apr 3-May 31 | |||
| Oskar Kokoschka Paintings, Drawings and Prints. | 1952 Apr 9-May 11 | |||
| Sculpture by Painters. | 1952 Apr 30-May 25 | Yes | ||
| RISD Students' Show (date approximate) | 1952 Jun 1-30 | |||
| Selections from the 19th Annual Exhibition of the Boston Society of Independent Artists. | 1952 Sep 3-21 | |||
| 19th Century American Painting from the Private Collection of Maxim Karolik. | 1952 Oct 1-26 | Yes | ||
| Providence Views: Photographs, Drawings, Prints from the Permanent Collection. | 1952 Oct 1-26 | |||
| Recently Acquired Modern Textiles | 1952 Oct 1-Dec 31 | |||
| Italian Drawings (16th-18th), Recently Acquired. | 1952 Oct 22-1953 Jan 6 | |||
| Recent Acquisitions, Prints. | 1952 Nov 1-1953 Jan 6 | |||
| The Animal Kingdom in Decoration | 1952 Nov 1-Dec 31 | |||
| Recent Acquisitions of the Department of Decorative Arts | 1953 Jan 6-Feb 28 | |||
| Art of Handwriting. A Selection including Books and Other Examples. | 1953 Jan 10-Feb 7 | Yes | Yes | |
| Portrait Prints, 1900-1950. | 1953 Jan 15-Mar 27 | |||
| Etchings by Canatello, 1697-1768. | 1953 Jan 15-Mar 31 | |||
| Johan-Barthold Jonskind, 1819-1891, Paintings, Watercolors, Etchings. | 1953 Feb 10-Mar 27 | |||
| 100 Best News Photographs. | 1953 Feb 15-28 | |||
| Paintings by Chaim Soutine | 1953 Mar 1-20 | Yes | ||
| Some Technical Effects in Ornament | 1953 Mar 4-Apr 5 | |||
| French 19th Century Watercolors and Drawings. | 1953 Mar 27-Apr 30 | |||
| Woodcuts of the 15th - 20th Centuries. | 1953 Mar 27-May 6 | |||
| French 18th Century Drawings. | 1953 Mar 31 | |||
| Contemporary French Prints. | 1953 Apr 16-May 9 | Yes | ||
| German Etchings and Engravings. | 1953 Apr 30-Jun 9 | |||
| Student Exhibition. | 1953 May 26-Jul 6 | |||
| Contemporary Prints: Recent Acquisitions. | 1953 Jun 9-Dec 11 | |||
| Small Textile Show | 1953 Oct 9-14 | Yes | ||
| Contemporary Italian Prints. | 1953 Oct 11-Nov 2 | |||
| Italy at Work. | 1953 Oct 11-Nov 15 | Yes | Yes | |
| Room Portraits by David Payne. | 1953 Nov 15-Dec 16 | Yes | ||
| Contemporary American Sculptors. | 1953 Dec 2-27 | |||
| New Acquisitions, acquired in Europe. | 1953 Dec 11 | |||
| Four Young Americans: Grady, Clark, Gibran, Weitzner. | 1954 Jan 3-31 | Yes | Yes | |
| Satirical Illustrations: Three Modern Americans. | 1954 Feb 1-28 | |||
| Painters of Precise Vision: An American Realistic Tradition. | 1954 Feb 3-28 | Yes | Yes | |
| 100 Best News Photographs of the Providence Journal. | 1954 Feb 14-28 | |||
| Drawings by Enrico Colombotto Rosso. | 1954 Mar 1-31 | Yes | ||
| The Passion in Art. | 1954 Mar 1-Apr 19 | |||
| Prints by Frasconi and Yunkers. | 1954 Apr 4-25 | |||
| Drawings and Illustrations by Edward A. Wilson. | 1954 May 1-15 | Yes | ||
| French Master Drawings from Claude to Corot.. | 1954 May 1-30 | Yes | Yes | |
| Revival Styles in 19th Century Ceramics. | 1954 May 1-31 | |||
| Cezanne. | 1954 Sep 23-Oct 20 | Yes | Yes | |
| Younger Rhode Island Artists. | 1954 Oct 13-Nov 6 | Yes | ||
| Emilio Greco Drawings. | 1954 Nov 15-Dec 15 | Yes | ||
| Age of Chippendale. | 1954 Dec 1-29 | Yes | ||
| The Christmas Story: Drawings and Prints from the Museum' s Collection. | 1954 Dec 15-1955 Jan 6 | |||
| 19th Century Prints from the Museum's Collection. | 1955 Jan 11-Mar 15 | |||
| Painting by Mark Rothko. | 1955 Jan 19-Feb 13 | Yes | ||
| Four Young Americans, 1955: Brodie Durfee Freilicher Raffo | 1955 Jan 19-Feb 13 | Yes | Yes | |
| Victorian Decorative Arts featuring Gorham Silver. | 1955 Jan 19-Feb 13 | Yes | ||
| 19th Century Prints from the Prints Collection. | 1955 Feb 1-Mar 15 | |||
| 100 Best News Photographs from the Providence Journal. | 1955 Feb 13-27 | |||
| From the Renaissance. | 1955 Feb 24-Mar 23 | Yes | ||
| Younger Rhode Island Artists II. | 1955 Mar 2-30 | |||
| Tucker Ware: Early 19th Century American Porcelain. | 1955 Apr 1-Jul 31 | Yes | ||
| House of God: An Exhibition in Honor of the American Jewish Tercentenary. | 1955 Apr 17-May 13 | Yes | Yes | |
| Exhibition to Commemorate the 175th Anniversary of the Arrival of Rochambeau in Newport. | 1955 Jun 1-Jul 31 | |||
| Paintings by Elias and by Zobel. | 1955 Sep 21-Oct 16 | Yes | Yes | |
| Graphic Outlook. | 1955 Sep 21-Oct 16 | |||
| Typography by Noel Martin. | 1955 Sep 21-Oct 16 | Yes | ||
| Collages of Timothy Hennessy | 1955 Sep 22-Oct 16 | Yes | ||
| Bronzes from India and Greater India. | 1955 Nov 2-30 | Yes | Yes | |
| Major Recent Acquisitions. | 1955 Nov 2-30 | Yes | ||
| French Graphic Arts in Honor of the Alliance Francaise from the Museum's Collection. | 1955 Nov 17-30 | |||
| Waldemar Raemisch Exhibition. | 1955 Dec 7-31 | Yes | Yes | |
| Four Rhode Island Artists: Cocroft, Engman, Feldman, Johnson. | 1955 Dec 7-31 | Yes |