Fleet Search provides a single, integrated search box for searching RISD Library's information resources, including scholarly journal articles, books, e-books, internet documents, research reports, and much more.

Fleet Search does not replace the library’s existing services such as the RISD/ATH Catalog or the Databases and e-journals Index. What distinguishes this service is the ability to search across previously separate systems from a single search box and get back fast and relevant results. Once a search has been done, results can be filtered and refined by subject, author, format, language, date and many other facets. It is important to note that Fleet Search searches most, but not all, of the library's subscription databases.

Fleet Search is a great place to start your research.  It helps you quickly find relevant resources on a subject, without having to decide which database(s) to search. 

The facets allow you to filter your search results in a variety of ways, including date range, source, source type, subject, and scholarly designation.  The library's cataloged resources are also integrated into the search results.

What's Included in Fleet Search?

• Books+:
  RISD/ATH Library Catalog records (over 200,000 records)
  RISD Archives finding aids
  RISD Graduate Thesis titles
  RISD Picture Collection folder records
  e-book Academic Collection
   
• Articles:
  full-text articles, book chapters, open access sources, and other electronic content from most of the Library’s subscription databases

Art Images & Materials are Elsewhere

Images & Materials databases are not included in Fleet Search. Please see Databases A-Z for access.

To take advantage of the richest features of a database, including the subject thesaurus or specialized limiters, search a specific subject-relevant database. For example, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals has image searching features only available in its unique index.

What's Not Included in Fleet Search?

• Image Databases
• Fashion Archives (Harper's Bazaar, Vogue, Women's Wear Daily)
• Material Order
• Ask Art
• Oxford English Dictionary

If you need to see Course Reserves, View your Library Account, Renew Online, request, or recall material you will need to use the traditional RISD/ATH Library Catalog.