The Archives of American Art's extensive collection of gallery, dealer, and artist records are an important source of primary research materials for those exploring RISD's history. The AAA microfilmed a collection of RISD Museum of Art records in 1985 and the Archives holds a number of collections from RISD faculty, administrators, alumni, and artists associated with RISD as well as oral history interviews. The AAA's Terra Foundation Center for Digital Collections holds over 125 digitized collections including records connected with RISD. Please consult their website for a complete list.
Contact Information
Archives of American Art
Smithsonian Institution
750 9th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001
Research questions
202-633-7950
|
Jacques Seligmann and Co. records, 1904-1978, bulk 1913-1974 |
| Correspondence |
| New York Office correspondence, 1907-1923 R-Ry, 1920-1923 |
| Paris Office correspondence, 1914-1930 N-R, 1917-1925 |
| General Correspondence, 1913-1978 Danforth, Mrs. Murray S., 1933-1948 Radeke, Eliza G., 1925-1929 |
| Museum correspondence, 1920-1978 Providence, RI, RISD, 1922-1975 (6 folders) |
| Collectors |
| Collectors, 1908, 1917-1977 Danforth, Mrs. Murray S., 1936-1956 |
| Museum files, 1904-1977 Providence, RI, RISD, Museum of Art, 1934-1951 |
| People of Interest, 1921-1974, undated Providence, Rhode Island, 1932-1950 |
| RISD Archives holdings: |
| Presidents’ and Directors’ correspondence Box 11, folder 31: Seligmann, Andre, 1923 Box 11, folder 32: Seligmann, Jacques and Fils Co., 1921-1936 |
| Directors' Wetmore files, 1912-1944 Box 30, folder 15: Seligmann, Jacques, 1960-1967, bulk 1960-1961 |
| Subject files, 1927-1963 Box 9, folder 17: Germain Seligmann / Georges Seligmann, 1945-1959 |