Getting started
Formulate your questions: are you interested in background information (culture, history, technique), scholarly discussion of a topic, information about materials, technical guidance? Where do you think this information might be published -- books, journals, magazines, newspapers?
If you are having any trouble finding what you need, please get in touch with us.
Where to search: quick links to library resources
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Artstor is JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million* rights-cleared images from around the world, discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources on one feature-rich platform. For more information on changes to Artstor/JSTOR, see the Artstor to JSTOR Migration Guide. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary articles covering nearly every area of academic study, most from 1970's to present. - Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, etc. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers over 1,000 full-text reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, thesauri) that cover a broad scope of subject areas. Image types include charts, diagrams, graphs, illustrations, maps, photos. - Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts journals from 1973 to present. Subjects: Advertising, packaging and product design, Architecture, Crafts, Ceramics, glass and jewelry, Industrial design, Graphic design, Fashion and textiles, Sustainable design, Furniture and interior design, and Fiber arts. - Fleet SEARCH This link opens in a new windowCombined search tool (many of our article databases + the RISD/Athenaeum Catalog)
- RISD/Athenaeum Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, DVDS, music, ebooks in RISD Library and Providence Athenaeum collections.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. - Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images.
Finding Journals by Title
Use the e-Journals Index to determine if the library has a journal, either in print or online.