The Digital Image Collection at RISD is comprised currently by  6 image-centered databases that are part of the comprehensive list of all databases licensed by the library. These are:

• Artstor / JSTOR Open Community Collections
• Berg Fashion Library
• Digital Commons @ RISD
• Smithsonian Institution Research Information System
• Vogue Archive

Please consult the list for a description of each and instructions to access their content. Unfortunately there is no federated search portal for these image databases and they must be searched individually.

In 2015, all 30,000+ digital images produced by the library since 2007 were migrated to the Artstor Forum hosted platform and are accessible via the Artstor Digital Library alongside that content.

Many images of RISD-owned collections have been added to Artstor's Public Collections portal and are freely accessible on the open Web. These include:

• RISD Archives: 1939 Rhode Island Architecture Exhibition
• RISD Archives: RISD Buildings and Open Spaces
• RISD Library Picture Collection: Edwardian Fashion Plates
• RISD Library Picture Collection: Golden Age Illustration
• RISD Library Picture Collection: La Vie Parisienne
• RISD Library Picture Collection: Posters
• RISD Library Special Collections: Artists' Books
• RISD Library Special Collections: Ruth Laxson Artist Book Archive
• RISD Library Visual Resources: Nature Forms
• RISD Nature Lab: Loeb Symmetry Portfolio

VMRC staff can provide orientation, authentication, and training to access and use these image collections.