From its origins at the end of the 1830s, photography has never ceased to evolve both aesthetically and technologically. At once a rich and informative glossary and a history of the medium, this fully illustrated guide will be invaluable to all those wishing to increase their understanding and enjoyment of the art of photography.
This edition contains the most comprehensive and up-to-date market contacts for working professional photographers today: magazines, book publishers, greeting card companies, stock agencies, advertising firms, photo contests, and more.
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Photography is a landmark publication that encompasses the history, art, and science of photography in a single volume. At a time when information is instantly accessible on the Internet but is often unreliable or uncited, this ambitious project both reasserts the veracity, reliability, and accuracy of scholarly research in reference publishing and offers an immersive, usable, beautifully designed reading experience. Over 1,200 concise yet fully detailed entries describe all aspects of the subject, including photographers, images, agencies, genres, movements, exhibitions, publications, collectors, techniques, and processes.
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography explores the vast international scope of twentieth-century photography and explains that history with a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary manner. This unique approach covers the aesthetic history of photography as an evolving art and documentary form, while also recognizing it as a developing technology and cultural force.
The role and value of the picture cannot be matched for accuracy or impact. This comprehensive treatise, featuring the history and historical processes of photography, contemporary applications, and the new and evolving digital technologies, will provide the most accurate technical synopsis of the current, as well as early worlds of photography ever compiled.
The Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography is the first comprehensive encyclopedia of world photography up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Coverage includes all the key people, processes, equipment, movements, styles, debates and groupings which helped photography develop.