This is the "Artists' Sketchbook Facsimiles" page of the "Artists' Sketchbooks & Journals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Artists' Sketchbooks & Journals  Tags: risd_library special_collections artists_sketchbooks facsimiles sketches drawings artists journals diaries  

Selected resources providing facsimiles of artists' sketchbooks and journals
Last update: May 24th, 2010 URL: http://risd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=49720  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates \"ShareThis\"

Artists' Sketchbook Facsimiles            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

About Special Collections

About: 

For a brief overview of  the materials found in Special Collections, see our page on the library website

Location:

Reading Room for Archives + Special Collections

Room 223, second floor

Hours:

Monday - Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

How to identify materials in Special Collections:

All materials are listed in the online catalog & are distinguished by RISD location prefixes "special", "special oversize", "flat folio", "large folio", "special periodical", and "artists' books"

Access:

  • If you have identified a specific book or periodical in Special Collections that you wish to see, you may drop in any time we are open.
  • If you are not sure what special materials might be of use from the collection, please contact the Special Collections Librarian, Laurie Whitehill Chong to schedule an appointment.  We can discuss your research needs and find materials suited to them.

Duplication Options:

All duplication requests are subject to copyright fair use restrictions.  Due to the often fragile condition of special materials, duplication requests are granted at the discretion of the librarian or staff member.  Scanning and photocopying requests are processed by library staff.  Readers may also take their own digital photographs, upon request.

Sketching and Note-taking:

Graphite and ordinary pencils are the only kind of writing implement allowed in Special Collections when using special materials.  Sketchbooks, notebooks or other paper is allowed as well as laptops.  Keep in mind, however, that there is no wireless web access in room 223.

Other Special Resources:

Highlights of our collections, selected bookmarks for useful websites, and information about library exhibitions can also be found on our Special Collections Blog

 
 

Artists' Sketchbook Facsimiles

 

Artists' Books

Artists' Books D26B  Blue Cloud: The Chinese Diaries - 1993  Darroch-Lozowshi, Vivian
Artists' Books D817Po Postal Séance  Drescher, Henrik
Artists' Books N466S  Sketchbook  Newkirk, William
Artists' Books OL17No  Notes in Hand  Oldenburg, Claes
Artists' Books P194Sa  Satiroplastic: [Sketchbook Facsimile]  Panter, Gary
Artists' Books R74K  Kleinere Werke  Roth, Dieter
Artists' Books R74T  246 Little Clouds  Roth, Dieter 
Artists' Books Oversize R74Ta  Ein Tagebuch  Roth, Dieter 
Artists' Books Oversize R73H  Halbe Bilder  Rosz, Martin
Artists' Books Sa4L  Lucas Samaras  Samaras, Lucas    
Special Collections Books
Flat Folio N 6853 .D8 S32 1969  Notes and Projects for the Large Glass  Duchamp, Marcel
Special Oversize N 6853 .D8 A64 2009  Marcel Duchamp: Étant Donnés: Manual of Instructions  Duchamp, Marcel
Special Oversize N 6853 .G34 A23 1947  Noa Noa: Voyage a Tahiti  Gauguin, Paul
Special NC 248 .T63 A45 1952  A Sketchbook by Toulouse-Lautrec  Toulouse-Lautrec, Henri D.
Special Oversize N 6853 .P5 A4 1986  Je Suis le Cahier  Picasso, Pablo
Special Oversize N 6853 .P5 c66 1963  Les Déjeuners  Picasso, Pablo
Special Oversize NC 248 .B68 A46 1955  The Intimate Sketchbooks of G. Braque  Braque, George
Special NA 1123 .R616 A4 1983b  Il Libro Azzurro  Rossi. Aldo
Special NC 139 .D3946 A4 1986  Stuart Davis Sketchbooks  Davis, Stuart
Special Oversize NC 139 .D45 H47 1972b  Willem de Kooning Drawings  de Kooning, Willem
Special NC 139 .L48 A4 1986  Roy Lichtenstein, Landscape Sketches  Lichtenstein, Roy
Special NC 139 .T45 A4 1987  Wayne Thiebaud, Private Drawings  Thiebaud, Wayne
Flat Folio NC 242 .M7 A4 1958  Heads Figures and Ideas  Moore, Henry
Special NC 245 .S3 A4 1967  Sketchbook by Egon Schiele  Schiele, Egon
Special ND 237 .P85 A4 1960  Water-Color Sketchbook, 1899  Prendergast, Maurice
Special Oversize ND 1839 .P74 A4 1987  Large Boston Public Garden Sketchbook  Prendergast, Maurice
Special TR 140 .E38 A3 1997  The Journey is the Destination  Eldon, Dan
Large Folio NC 139 .P6 A45 1997  The Jackson Pollock Sketchbooks  Pollock, Jackson
Special NK 1535 .S58 A4 2005  Sottsass 700 Drawings  Sottsass, Ettore
Special Oversize NC 242 .H6 A4 1985  Martha's Vineyard: My Third Sketchbook from the Summer of 1982  Hockney, David
Special Oversize NA 1053 .J4 A4 1997  Album La Roche  Jeanneret, Le Corbusier
Circulating Books in Main Collection
Main BF 697.5 .S43 H37 2000  Spilling Open: The Art of Becoming Yourself  Harrison, Sabrina Ward
Main N 6537 .J465 J47 1999  Evidence: The Art of Candy Jernigan  Jernigan, Candy
Main N 6537 .L54 A2 2000  Boundaries  Lin, Maya
Main N 6888 .K55 N66  Notebooks  Klee, Paul
Main N 6923 .L33 L33 1970  Notebooks of Leonardo da Vinci  da Vinci, Leonardo
Oversize NC 251 .D8 G613  Diary of His Journey to the Netherlands, 1520-1521 Durer, Albrecht 
NC 263 .R4 A4 2006  Rembrandt Harmenszoon van Rijn: Erotic Sketches  Rembrandt
Main N 7113 .C335 A4 1988  Pedro Cano: Jornadas   Cano, Pedro
Main N 7433.3 .H37 2003  Altered Books, Collaborative Journals.  Harrison, Holly
Oversize NA 737 .K32 A44 1973  Notebooks and Drawings of Louis I. Kahn  Kahn, Louis I.
Main NA 1120 .M38 1988  An Architect in Italy  Mauduit, Caroline
Main NA 2707 .E44 A4 1930  Pages from an Architect’s Sketch Book  Emerson, William
Main NA 2707 .K33 A4 1996  Drawn From the Source: The Travel Sketches of Louis I. Kahn  Johnson, Eugene
Main NA 9085 .S6 A2  Sketchbooks of Paolo Soleri  Soleri, Paolo
Main NC 139 .B27 A4 1993  Jean-Michel Basquiat: The Notebooks  Basquiat, Jean-Michel
Main NC 139 .C725 A4 1998  Think - Thought – Think  Craigie, Rob
Main NC 139 .L473 A4 1992  Sol Lewitt.  Drawings 1958-1992  Lewitt, Sol
Main NC 139 .N419 A4 1994  Manuel Neri: A Sculptor’s Drawings  Neri, Manuel
Main NC 139 .W485 A4 2003  Christopher Wilmarth : drawing into sculpture  Saywell, Edward
Main NC 242 .M7 M5 1972  Henry Moore: Unpublished Drawings  Moore, Henry
Main NC 242 .W54 S8 1968  An Italian Sketchbook  Wilson, Richard
Main NC 248 .C37 A4 1985  A Cézanne Sketchbook  Cézanne, Paul
Oversize NC 248 .D38 R43  Notebooks of Edgar Degas  Degas, Edgar
Main NC 350 .C535 A4 2000  Sketches From Japan  Ching, Francis D.K.
Main NC 1429 .C78 S33   R. Crumb Sketchbook  Crumb, R.
Main ND 237 .B264 A4 2003  Will Barnet: Painting Without Illusion  Barnet, Will
Oversize ND 237 .H74 A2 1997  Edward Hopper: A Journal of His Works  Hopper, Edward
Main ND 259 .K33 A2 1995  Diary of Frida Kahlo  Kahlo, Frida
Oversize ND 553 .M3 A4 1986  The Hidden Face of Manet  Bareau, Juliet Wilson
Main ND 1942 .M5 A4 1990  Sara Midda’s South of France  Midda, Sara
Main ND 1954 .K43 A4 1988  A Book by Anselm Kiefer  Kiefer, Anselm
Oversize NK 5198 .C43 A4 2003  Chilhuly Drawing  Chihuly, Dale
Main PR 4142 .A5 1977  Notebook of William Blake  Blake, William
Oversize PQ 1286 .P5713 1999  Illustrated Letters: Artists and Writers Correspond   Ayala, Roselyne de (ed.)
Main SB 455 .M54 1981  In and Out of the Garden  Midda, Sara
Main NA 737 .H27 A2 1972  Notebooks 1959-1971  Halprin, Lawrence
Main N 6797 .P3 A4 2005  Samuel Palmer: The Sketchbook of 1824  Palmer, Samuel
Main NC 293 .G53 A4 2006  GRR30: Urban Recordings  Giezendanner, Ingo
Main NC 139 .M28 L36 1973  The Sketchbooks of Reginald Marsh  Marsh, Reginald
Main NA 1053 .V6 B34 2009  The Portfolio of Villard de Honnecourt  Villard de Honnecourt
Main N7433.5 .M36 2007  Street Sketchbook: Inside the Journals of International Street and Graffiti Artists  Manko, Tristan
Main E 164 .F77 1997  Watson's Travels in America: the Sketchbooks and Diary of Joshua Rowley Watson, 1772-1818  Watson, Joshua Rowley
Main NC 251 .B38 A4 2010  Willi Baumeister: Catalogue Raisonné of the Sketchbooks  Baumeister, Willi

 

     

    Special Collections Librarian

    Profile Image
    Laurie Whitehill Chong
    Contact Info:
    Fleet Library at RISD
    401-709-5927
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading content... please wait