This is the "Preferred Searches, Electronic Alerts and RSS" page of the "Electronic Publication Alerts & RSS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Electronic Publication Alerts & RSS  Tags: rss alerts  

This guide illustrates how to set up and save your searches for a determined time period. Receive results via email or RSS.
Last update: Oct 21st, 2009 URL: http://risd.libguides.com/alerts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Preferred Searches, Electronic Alerts and RSS            Print Page
  
 

Saved Searches and Alerts

RISD Catalog & Article Databases Electronic Publication Alerts & RSS
Fleet Library at RISD

While at RISD, create Preferred Searches and set up alerts & RSS as a means to develop current awareness about topics of interest to you.

The following databases can generate and save searches. You will be notified by email when information matching your saved search is added to the database or catalog.  Some databases offer RSS feeds for results from your saved searches.

RISD/Athenaeum Catalog
Preferred Searches

Receive an email when new items of interest are added to the Library’s collection. Save searches in My Record. Each time a new book which matches your
saved search is added to the library’s collection, you will receive an email notification.

Start   >   library.risd.edu > Quick Links > My Record
               Login with the following information:
               Name > your name as it appears on the front of your RISD ID
               Barcode number > the 14 digit number on the back of your RISD ID
Click on the "Search Catalog" button
Search for your favorite author, subject, title, etc. or create an advanced keyword search including limits to material type, language, publication year.
When your results are displayed, click the button marked "Save as preferred search"
To create an email alert, just check the "Mark for Email" box and be sure that your record includes your current email address.
Please notice that you may also Opt In to Create a Reading History which, once started will keep a list of the books you check out while studying at RISD.
My Record also allows you to Renew Online.

Electronic Alerts & RSS Feeds in the Article Databases
What's RSS? Watch RSS in Plain English

Art Full Text and Art Retrospective
library.risd.edu > Resources > Articles
Start with an initial Search
Select limits such as date, format, peer-review, full text and document type
At the Results Screen,
Select the Email alert or RSS Feed option
Schedule to receive alerts daily/weekly/monthly
Choose to stop alerts after one month to one year’s duration

For RSS, click on url to subscribe to the feed, Choose a Reader from the dropdown menu

You may also save searches to your my WilsonWeb folder within the database (registration & login is necessary)



Ebsco Databases - Academic Search Premier, Avery, ERIC, LISTA, MLA and other Ebsco Databases
Start with an initial Search
Select limits such as date, format, peer-review, full text and document type.
At the Results Screen, Select Create an Alert, Save Search to a Folder or RSS Feed.


Proquest Databases -ARTbibliographies Modern, DAAI, DAR, & Design ProFILES
Start with an initial Search
At the Results Screen, Select Alert Me
First time users  will need to create a Personal Profile
You will be prompted to select a username and password
Now you may save searches, create email alerts or receive RSS feeds from your saved searches

 

Other Subscription databases with email Alerts & RSS
library.risd.edu > Resources > All Resources

BuildingGreen Suite – environmental Building News. Sign up for a monthly e-newsletter
Rhizome – forum for contemporary art. Post, Discuss, RSS, submit work to Rhizome’s ArtBase

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait