Skip to main content

FLEET LIBRARY | Research Guides

Rhode Island School of Design

Digital Nature: Special Collections Resources

Pattern and Ornament resources.

About Special Collections

About: 

For a brief overview of  the materials found in Special Collections, see our page on the library website

Location:

Reading Room for Archives + Special Collections

Room 223, second floor

Hours:

Monday - Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm

How to identify materials in Special Collections:

All materials are listed in the online catalog & are distinguished by RISD location prefixes "special", "special oversize", "flat folio", "large folio", "special periodical", and "artists' books"

Access:

  • If you have identified a specific book or periodical in Special Collections that you wish to see, you may drop in any time we are open.
  • If you are not sure what special materials might be of use from the collection, please contact the Special Collections Librarian, Claudia Covert to schedule an appointment.  We can discuss your research needs and find materials suited to them.

Duplication Options:

All duplication requests are subject to copyright fair use restrictions.  Due to the often fragile condition of special materials, duplication requests are granted at the discretion of the librarian or staff member.  Scanning and photocopying requests are processed by library staff.  Readers may also take their own digital photographs, upon request.

Pattern and Ornament

Vorticism

Sketching & Note-taking

Sketching and Note-taking:

Graphite and ordinary pencils are the only kind of writing implement allowed in Special Collections when using special materials.  Sketchbooks, notebooks or other paper is allowed as well as laptops.  Keep in mind, however, that there is no wireless web access in room 223.

Other Special Resources:

Highlights of our collections, selected bookmarks for useful websites, and information about library exhibitions can also be found on our Special Collections Blog