Contact Andrew Martinez, Archivist, or Doug Doe, Digital Archivist, to schedule a class visit to RISD Archives.

Browse the Archives Collections.

Contact Claudia Covert, Special Collections Librarian, to schedule class visits. More information about Special Collections classes.

Contact the Research & Instruction Department to schedule an instruction session.

Research Instruction Sessions

Working with the instructor, librarians tailor instruction sessions to support course objectives, complement the syllabus and prepare students for a written or studio research assignment. Librarians will come to any classroom or studio equipped with a digital projector and reliable network access.

Topics include:

• Research process overview & approaches to managing information
• Research conceptualization & methods for studio projects
• Literature reviews
• Concept mapping a studio or written topic
• Class time organized around exploring one of our many Thematic Collections
• Researching an object
• Finding books – searching the RISD/Athenaeum online catalog
• Finding articles – using electronic indexes to locate articles
• Finding images – electronic & print image searching
• Evaluating information – thinking critically about print & web sources
• Citing print and visual sources & avoiding plagiarism
• Workshops that combine collection highlights and individual research support

Contact Ellen Petraits, Coordinator of Graduate Library Instruction, to schedule a graduate research class. Browse the Graduate Research Guides.

Contact Mark Pompelia, Visual Resources Librarian.