Description
Come and Explore...travel the collections of the Fleet Library at RISD Archives, Picture Collection, Graphic Design and Illustration Archive, and Special Collections. Let's get lost while exploring items such as a turn-of-the-century European Grand Tour photo album, a 1788 account of islands of Pelew, or Pageant of the Pacific by Miguel Covarrubias for the Golden Gate International Exposition in 1940. See guidebooks of places from around the world and postcards collected on these journeys. Any Time is Travel Time in Your Library.
Poster
Poster by Serena Hong GD 17, Special Collections Student Assistant
Curator - Special Collections Librarian
Claudia Covert
she/her
Contact:
2nd floor, 203
401-709-5927
Subjects: Artists' Books, Special Collections
Co-Curator, Special Collections Volunteer
Claudia Covert
she/her
Contact:
2nd floor, 203
401-709-5927
Subjects: Artists' Books, Special Collections
Co-Curator, Senior Library Assistant, Special Collections
Claudia Covert
she/her
Contact:
2nd floor, 203
401-709-5927
Subjects: Artists' Books, Special Collections
Exhibit Cases
Travel Ephemera from the Graham Visual + Material Resources Center, Picture Collection:
- Vichy, France - Brochure
- Vista Campestre, Cuba - Postcard
- Córdoba, Spain - Postcard
- St. Thomas, Virgin Islands - Postcard
- Mexico’s Folk Dances - Foldout Postcards
- Acalpulco, Mexico - Pamphlet
- Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Havana, Cuba - Card
- French Line Steamers - Menu
- Smallest House in Great Britain - Postcard
- Jamaica - Postcard
- El Patio, Havana, Cuba - Card
From the RISD Archives:
- Camera Slide Viewers (Italy) + Color Slide Set (Italy) - Donated by Sharon Bakalar, European Honors Program student, 1977-1978.
Posters from the Archive of Graphic Design and Illustration:
- Come and Explore...Britain - Published by the British Travel and Holidays Association, designed by Stanley Roy Badmin, 1953.
- Germany - Published by German National Tourist Board, designed by Aterlier Lohrer.
From the RISD Archives:
- Photo album documenting the European trip of Anna Brown of Providence, RI, circa 1902-1904.
- Photos of summer travels and painting jaunts from Professor Emeritus Gordon Peers 33 PT and Florence Leif 34 PT.
- Voyages and travels; or Scenes in many lands / with eight hundred and fifty illustrations on wood and steel of views from all parts of the world comprising mountains, lakes, rivers, palaces, cathedrals, castles, abbeys, and ruins with original description byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL OVERSIZE G138 .C688 1887 v. 1Locations included in volume 1 are Rome, Tivoli, Paris, St. Petersburg, Novgorod, Siberia, Belgium, Meissen, Treves, Zeeland and Holland, Strasburg, the Black Forest and Heidelberg, Wurtemberg, Bavaria, the Danube, Transylvania and the Turkish Principalities, Mount Athos and Athens, Sicily and the Lipari Islands, the Temples Of Pæstum, Siena, Vintimiglia, and Spain.
- The Official guide to Windsor CastleCall Number: RISD SPECIAL DA690.W76 O34 1949
- Souvenir of the Clyde : with twenty-four chromo viewsCall Number: RISD SPECIAL DA880.C6 S6 1892
- A guide to the art collections of the South Kensington MuseumCall Number: RISD SPECIAL N1150 .G94 1881The South Kensington Museum was founded in 1852, in part, due to the success of the Great Exhibition of 1851. The Exhibition was of manufactured goods from around the world, a first of its kind. In 1899 the Museum was given a new building and renamed the Victoria & Albert Museum. Today the museum is considered to be the leading museum of art and design with collections containing 4.5 million objects.
Travel Ephemera from the Graham Visual + Material Resources Center, Picture Collection:
- How to Travel by Train, Pennsylvania Railroad - Brochure
- Great White Fleet Steamship Service - Baggage tags
- E.W. Higgins Airways, Providence, RI - Card
- Cunard Line Sailing List - Pamphlet
- Australia - Pamphlet
- The Year book and guide to Southern AfricaCall Number: RISD STORAGE DT752 .A2 1961
- Switzerland and the adjacent portions of Italy, Savoy, and Tyrol : handbook for travellers byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL DQ16 .B23 1907Karl Baedeker (1801 - 1859) was a German publisher who built on John Murray's guidebooks and included such items as starred ratings, exchange rates, routes (including the number of steps in towers, etc), and detailed maps. Baedeker's books had red covers and and gold lettering like Murray's guidebooks.
- Wilderness : a journal of quiet adventure in Alaska byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL NE539.K42 W5 1920Rockwell Kent (1882 – 1971) was an American painter and writer. This adventure memoir documents the exploring he did in 1918 and 1919 with his nine year old son in Alaska.
Posters from the Archive of Graphic Design and Illustration:
- Ceylon Her Tea & Other Industries - Published by Ceylon Tea Centre, designed by Macdonald Gill (1884-1947), lithography 1933.
- Japan, Gold Pavilion of Kinkakuji Temple, Kyoto, in winter attire - Published by the Japan National Tourist Organization.
Travel Ephemera from the Graham Visual + Material Resources Center, Picture Collection:
- Grand Sights of Tokyo - Postcard set
- Marunouchi Hotel, Tokyo, Japan - Postcard
- A handbook for travellers in India, Burma and Ceylon : including all British India, the Portuguese and French possessions, and the protected native states byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL DS406 .M97 1924John Murray III (1808–1892) was a British publisher of guidebooks. Murray's guidebooks were instantly recognizable due to their red covers and gold lettering. This was copied by Karl Baedeker for his guidebooks.
- Japan byCall Number: RISD STORAGE DS806 .B68 1952pamphlet 9, Children
pamphlet 10, Tokaido
Horace Bristol (1908-1991) was an American photographer who moved his family to Japan after World War II to document the devastion of the war. In this book he shares his words along with his photos about the Japanese culture.
Travel Ephemera from the Graham Visual + Material Resources Center, Picture Collection:
- Indonesia, Miguel Covarrubias (Illustrations) - Brochure
- Nefta, Africa, 10 Cartes Postales - Postcard set
- Le Miroir du Congo belge / texte de Pierre Daye byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL OVERSIZE DT646 .M53 v. 2Title translates to the Mirror of the Belgian Congo. Published in 1929 this two volume set contains photographs and illustrations of the former Belgian colony. Topics included are African history, economics, art, and culture.
- An account of the Pelew Islands : situated in the western part of the Pacific Ocean. Composed from the journals and communications of Captain Henry Wilson, and some of his officers, who, in August 1783, were there shipwrecked, in the Antelope ... byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL OVERSIZE DU780 .K23 1788...a packet belonging to the honorable East India Company. From the text "...ran onto a reef near one of the Pelew Islands, a previously unexplored group, and was wrecked. The entire crew managed to get safely ashore, where they were well treated by the natives and eventually managed to build a small vessel from the wreck..." The book also contains engravings of maps. Pelew is known today as Palau.
Travel Ephemera from the Graham Visual + Material Resources Center, Picture Collection:
- Cawston Ostrich Farm, South Pasadena, California - Brochure
- Los Angeles, 1932 - Postcard booklet
- California’s Mission Trails - Map set
- Fraser River, Yale, B.C. - Postcard
- Glacier, B.C., Canadian Rockies - Postcard
- Edmonton, Alberta, “The Oil Capital of Canada” - Postcard booklet
- Touring Chicago - Foldout postcards
- Redwood Empire, California, Pacific Greyhound Lines - Pamphlet
- The jolly jump-ups vacation trip byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL NC975.5.C58 V3 1948Geraldyne Clyne first made this book during World War II. The vacation destinations of this pop up family include the United States Naval Academy, Washington, DC, and the United States Military Academy. These images are meant to boost patriotism.
- San Francisco unfolds byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL G4364.S5 V3 1986
- A guide to the works of art in New York City byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL N6535.N5 L4 1916
- Pageant of the Pacific byCall Number: RISD Special Large Folio ND2638.S4 C68 1940Flora and Fauna in the Pacific, plate 2
Miguel Covarrubias (1904–1957) was a Mexican illustrator. He wrote and did illustration for Vanity Fair and the New Yorker. He was very interested in non-western cultures and sought to preserve them through his artwork and writing. This photo-offset lithographic print is a reproduction of one of the six mural-maps originally exhibited at the San Francisco International Exposition of 1935. The original Flora and Fauna of the Pacific mural is located at the DeYoung Museum, San Francisco.
Travel Ephemera from the Graham Visual + Material Resources Center, Picture Collection:
- Firenze Artistica - Map
- Ricordo di Trieste - Postcard set
- Travel in Italy : tourist review of the E.N.I.T. and of the Italian State Railways.Call Number: RISD SPECIAL PERIODICALPublication Date: November 1937 + Autumn/Winter 1935-1936Tourism magazine published by Ente Nazionale Industrie Turistiche, the Fascist precursor of the Italian Government Tourist Board.