| Title | Date | Catalogue | Images |
|---|---|---|---|
| Negro Artist Comes of Age. Circulated by American Federation of Arts, Washington, D. C. | 1946 Jan 8-27 | Yes | |
| Pottery by Mary and Edwin Scheier of Durham, New Hampshire. | 1946 Jan 8-Feb 28 | ||
| European Drawings and Water Colors of the 19th Century from the Museum Collection. | 1946 Feb 1-28 | ||
| Graphic Works of Oskar Kokoschka. | 1946 Feb 1-28 | ||
| Museums' Choice. Lent by seventeen museums east of the Mississippi. | 1946 Feb 6-28 | ||
| Exhibition of Painting, "Early Sunday Morning by Edward Hopper," in Rhode Island Hospital Trust Company. This was in connection with Museums' Choice Exhibition. | 1946 Feb 8-15 | ||
| Exhibition of Fans at Providence Plantations Club. | 1946 Feb 10-Mar 30 | ||
| Portrait Engravings by Robert Nanteuil (1623-1678) and some other 17th Century French portrait engravers. | 1946 Mar 1-Apr 20 | ||
| 15th Century German and French Woodcuts. | 1946 Mar 1-Apr 30 | ||
| Are Clothes Modern? Circulated by Museum of Modern Art, NY. | 1946 Mar 13-30 | ||
| Silk Screen Printed Fabrics by Brooke Cadwallader. | 1946 Mar 13-30 | ||
| French Impressionist Painting in color prints and original canvases. Arranged in cooperation with the French Department of Brown University. | 1946 Apr 1-May 31 | ||
| Seventh Annual Exhibition by Rhode Island Artists. | 1946 Apr 7-28 | Yes | |
| Disasters of War - Etchings by Goya. | 1946 May 1-Jun 17 | ||
| Modern Art in Advertising. Original poster designs commissioned by | 1946 May 5-27 | Yes | |
| 67th Annual Exhibition of Students' Work - RISD. | 1946 Jun 1-17 | ||
| Recent Acquisitions of the Print Room. | 1946 Jun 5-Oct 27 | ||
| Master Drawings and Watercolors from the Museum and a Private Collection. | 1946 Jun 19-Oct 27 | Yes | |
| Drawings and Water Colors from the Permanent Collection and a Private Collector. |
1946 Jun 19-Oct 30 | ||
| Geddis - Martin Hand Loomed Textiles. | 1946 Oct 1-27 | ||
| 9th Rhode Island National Salon of Photography. | 1946 Nov 1-17 | ||
| End Papers from the Museum Collection. | 1946 Nov 1-Dec 31 | ||
| Modern Jewelry Design (Museum of Modern Art). | 1946 Nov 27-Dec 18 | ||
| Dolls of Our Ancestors - Private Collection. | 1946 Nov 27-1947 Jan 1 | ||
| The 17th Century House in New England. | 1946 Dec 21-1947 Jan 5 | Yes | |
| Spoons | 1947 Jan 1-31 | ||
| Masterpieces of Western Prints. | 1947 Jan 8-Feb 5 | ||
| Textile Panorama: Ancient and Modern. | 1947 Feb 12-Mar 30 | Yes | |
| 4th Annual Exhibition by Rhode Island Federation of Camera Clubs. | 1947 Feb 14-Mar 9 | ||
| "New Yorker" Drawings from the Museum Collection. | 1947 Feb 26-Mar 10 | ||
| European and American Watercolors and Drawings from the Permanent Collection. | 1947 Feb 26-Mar 10 | ||
| 8th Annual Exhibition by Rhode Island Artists. | 1947 Mar 16-Apr 9 | Yes | |
| War's Toll of Italian Art. | 1947 Mar 26-Apr 9 | Yes | |
| 20th Century Abstract Painting and Sculpture. | 1947 Apr 16-May 18 | ||
| Exhibition and Sale of Work by Students of the RISD. | 1947 Apr 16-May 4 | ||
| 100 Best News Photographs from the Providence Journal. | 1947 Apr 16-May 4 | ||
| American Painting of the 19th and 20th Centuries. | 1947 May 14-Oct 19 | ||
| Providence Views. | 1947 May 20-Sep 7 | ||
| American Watercolors and Drawings from the 19th and 20th Centuries. | 1947 May 20-Oct 19 | ||
| 68th Annual Exhibition of Student Work. | 1947 Jun 2-Aug 15 | Yes | |
| Recent Acquisitions of the Print Room. | 1947 Oct 9-Nov 16 | ||
| Portrait of an Artist (Paintings and Jewelry by Florence Koehler). | 1947 Oct 24-Dec 7 | Yes | |
| Painting in the Ancient World. | 1947 Dec 3-1948 Jan 25 | Yes | |
| Old Masters from the Museum Collection. | 1947 Feb 4-Mar 10 | ||
| Medieval Frescoes from Spain, Castilian Paintings from the Church of San Baudelio de Berlanga. | 1948 Feb 8-Mar 21 | ||
| Exhibition of 17th Century Prints-Armor Gallery. | 1948 Feb 19-Apr 15 | ||
| Ninth Annual Exhibition by Rhode Island Artists. | 1948 Feb 22-Mar 14 | Yes | |
| Furniture of Today. | 1948 Apr 7-May 27 | Yes | Yes |
| Exhibition of 18th Century Prints. | 1948 Apr 16-Jun 18 | ||
| Exhibition of 18th Century Drawings and Watercolors. | 1948 Apr 16-Dec 3 | ||
| A Century of Print-Making (1848-1948). | 1948 Apr 16-Sep 1 | ||
| Perspectiva Corpurum Regularium by Amman. | 1948 Jun 18-Oct 2 | ||
| Recent Acquisitions of the Print Room. | 1948 Sep 28-Oct 30 | ||
| Life Houses Exhibition. | 1948 Oct 1-Jan 10 | Yes | |
| Woodcuts of the 15th and 16th Centuries. | 1948 Oct 2-Nov 10 | ||
| Providence Looks Ahead: Mashapaug Pond Development. | 1948 Nov 8-21 | ||
| Engravings of the 15th and 16th Centuries. | 1948 Nov 10-1949 Feb 4 | ||
| Exhibition of Drawings and Lithographs by Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec (including "Elles" set lent by Knoedler. | 1949 Jan 1-Feb 5 | ||
| Exhibition of Old Masters. | 1949 Jan 1 | ||
| Isms in Art since 1800. | 1949 Feb 3-Mar 9 | Yes | Yes |
| Exhibition of Etchings by Rembrandt. | 1949 Feb 5-Mar 30 | ||
| Prints by Paul Gauguin. | 1949 Feb 5 | ||
| Exhibition of Drawings and Lithographs by Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec (cont.). | 1949 Feb 5-Mar 29 | ||
| 100 Best New Photographs from the Providence Journal. | 1949 Mar 1-28 | ||
| Tenth Annual Exhibition by Rhode Island Artists. | 1949 Mar 27-Apr 17 | ||
| Exhibition of Prints and Drawings by Jean-Francois Millet, 1814-1875. | 1949 Mar 29-Sep 29 | ||
| Exhibition of Drawings and Watercolors of the 19th Century from the Permanent Collection. | 1949 Mar 30-Sep 14 | ||
| Painting Toward Architecture. | 1949 Apr 26-May 24 | Yes | |
| Students' Exhibition. | 1949 May 30-Aug 6 | ||
| Worcester Porcelain of the Dr. Wall Period. | 1949 Jul 1-Oct 15 | Yes | |
| Exhibition of German Ornament Print. | 1949 Sep 19-Dec 19 | ||
| 28th Annual Exhibition of Advertising and Editorial Art of the NY Directors Club. | 1949 Oct 1 | ||
| Honore Daumier, 1808-1879, Lithographs 1862-1872. | 1949 Oct 19-1950 Jan 26 | ||
| Master Drawings: New Acquisitions and Loans. | 1949 Nov 17-1950 Jan 2 | ||
| New Acquisitions of the Print Room, 1948-1949. | 1949 Nov 17-1950 Jan 2 | ||
| Decade of Fashion Design by Charles James. | 1949 Dec 1-1950 Jan 15 | ||
| Le Bestiare by Roger Chastel, loaned by Pierre Beres. | 1949 Dec 1-Jan 12 | ||
| French Prints - 19th and 20th Centuries. | 1949 Dec 19-1950 Apr 27 | ||
| New England Painting and Sculpture. | 1950 Jan 8-29 | ||
| Los Proverbios and Four Etchings after Velasques. | 1950 Jan 26-May 10 | ||
| The Arabian Nights by Marc Chagall, lithographs lent by Panteon Books. | 1950 Mar 6-31 | ||
| Exhibition of Contemporary Irish Painting, North America, 1950. | 1950 Mar 16-Apr 9 | Yes | |
| Sculpture, 1850-1950. | 1950 Mar 30-May 14 | Yes | |
| Saul Steinberg - Cartoons. | 1950 Apr 15-May 8 | ||
| Contemporary American Prints. | 1950 Apr 27-Jun 23 | ||
| Eugene Dealcroix - Drawings and Prints from the Permanent Collections. | 1950 May 8-22 | ||
| Old Master Prints (Recent Acquisitions). | 1950 Jun 23-Oct 10 | ||
| Prints of the 15th and 16th Centuries from the Permanent Collection. | 1950 Oct 6-1951 Feb 27 | ||
| Chiaroscuro Woodcuts of the 16th and 18th Centuries. | 1950 Oct 10-1951 Feb 27 | ||
| Prints, Matisse, Braque, Picasso, Kandinsky. (In conjunction with Five Modern Old Masters.) | 1950 Oct 25-Nov 26 | ||
| Five Modern Old Masters. | 1950 Oct 25-Nov 26 | Yes | Yes |
| Social Life in the 1880s. | 1950 Oct 29-Nov 12 | Yes | |
| Views of Venice by Michele Marieschi. | 1950 Nov 22-1951 Jan 17 | ||
| Twelfth Annual Exhibition by Rhode Island Artists: An Independent. | 1950 Dec 13-1951 Jan 3 | ||
| Prints by Ernest Barlach. | 1950 Dec 28-1951 Mar 1 |