Periodicals
RISD has many periodicals which focus on fashion and apparel. To see a full list of periodicals by subject follow this link. Below you will find a brief list of fashion periodicals.
Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary articles covering nearly every area of academic study, most from 1970's to present. - Material Order This link opens in a new windowUtilizing and developing standards and best practices, the Material Order consortium provides a community-based approach to the management of design material collections with federated search access among participating institutions. Use this search tool to explore the material collections of the Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD), Columbia University, and the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD). As a RISD student, you have access to many of these samples!
- Corning Museum of GlassThe Juliette K. and Leonard S. Rakow Research Library of The Corning Museum of Glass is the world’s foremost library on the art and history of glass and glassmaking.
- Google Arts & CultureDiscover artworks, collections and stories from all around the world in a new way. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail.
- EuropeanaAllows users to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections by exploring images, full-text books, newspapers, letters, diaries, and archival papers. Contributing institutions include the British Library, the Rijksmuseum, and the Louvre, among others.
Searching Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Artstor is JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million* rights-cleared images from around the world, discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources on one feature-rich platform. For more information on changes to Artstor/JSTOR, see the Artstor to JSTOR Migration Guide. - Creative Commons Search This link opens in a new windowSearch openly licensed, free-to-use images from across Flickr, Wikimedia Commons, and more. CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset.
- Smithsonian Institution Research Information System This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog of the collections of the Smithsonian museums, archives, and libraries. Search over 17.7 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 7.8 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.