The definitive, encyclopedic overview of the history of modern furniture design. Featuring over 1700 objects by more than 500 designers and 121 manufacturers, it includes approximately 2800 images ranging from detailed object photographs to historical images documenting interiors, patents, brochures, and related works of art and architecture.

Spanning six centuries of global design, this far-reaching survey is the first to offer an account of the vast history of decorative arts and design produced in Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Indian subcontinent, and the Islamic world, from 1400 to the present. Meticulously documented and lavishly illustrated, the volume covers interiors, furniture, textiles and dress, glass, graphics, metalwork, ceramics, exhibitions, product design, landscape and garden design, and theater and film design.

The agency of modern furniture was often less overt than that of political slogans or statements, but as the chapters in this book reveal, it had the potential of becoming a persuasive and malleable ally in very diverse politically charged arenas, including embassies, governmental ministries, showrooms, exhibitions, design schools, libraries, museums and even prisons. This collection of chapters examines the consolidating as well as the disrupting force of modern furniture in the global context between 1945 and the mid-1970s. The volume shows that key to understanding this phenomenon is the study of the national as well as transnational systems through which it was launched, promoted and received.

Maximizing reader insights into the principles of designing furniture as wooden structures, this book discusses issues related to the history of furniture structures, their classification and characteristics, ergonomic approaches to anthropometric requirements and safety of use.

Bruce Hoadley's comprehensive guide to wood technology has been revised and updated in this 20th-anniversary edition of a classic. New information on composite materials, adhesives, and finishes brings this book into the 21st century, while more than 300 photographs bring important visual information to life. This edition covers the nature of wood and its properties, the basics of wood technology, and the woodworker's raw materials.

Award-winning designer and builder Jeff Miller shows how key design elements apply to all chairs. He provides a number of useful jig designs to simplify construction. The book includes plans for seven chair projects: dowel, right-angle, child's ladderback, slat-back, neo-classical, cafe style and captain's chairs. 136 photos. 85 drawings.

This revised and expanded edition of this classic text has now been produced in full colour throughout. Covering everything from traditional handwork to the latest industrial techniques this encyclopedic survey will be invaluable for all upholsterers.

Modern Furniture presents an overview of the most important developments and highlights in furniture design. Beginning with the latest trends, the book then offers a retrospect of the past 150 years. Essays on selected themes and styles, written by experts, round off this illustrated book.

Contains some 2,000 entries on forms and styles in furniture, from ancient times to the present and in every region of the world. Entries detail specifics in furniture styles, designs, and material, such as types and textures of wood, details of construction, architectural style, and cultural significance.

An essential work of reference for furniture historians and anyone interested in the fine and decorative arts, the Encyclopedia of Furniture Materials, Trades and Techniques is the first comprehensive account of both historical and modern furniture manufacture. In more than 1700 entries, Clive Edwards brings together information on a wide range of topics. In-depth coverage includes developments in Britain and America, from the Renaissance to the present day.

An essential work of reference for students, historians, curators, textile designers, interior designers, conservators and collectors, the Encyclopedia of Furnishing Textiles is an accessible and comprehensive reference work describing the furnishing textiles, soft furnishings and floor coverings used in Western domestic interiors over the period 1200-1950. It includes nearly 1200 entries covering generic topics such as: woven textiles, printed textiles, embroidered textiles, tapestry, painted cloths, yarns, dyes, carpets, rugs, non-woven fabrics, oil-cloths, wall materials, upholstery materials, loose covers, trimmings (passementeries), beds, cushions, and many more.