The practice of citing archival / primary sources is similar to other types of published materials, but requires a few extra elements that are unique to archives. Usually this information can be found in archival finding aids, online descriptions, or on the item itself. Citing archival materials ensures that the item can be traced back to the original repository / creator, and helps expedite the research process while also making sure the information can be properly verified and fact-checked.
|
Footnotes or Endnotes When compiling footnotes or endnotes, first cite the specific archival record, followed by the date (day, month, year), identifier (box/folder/item number), name of collection, name and location of repository. |
|
|
Example of Correspondence:
|
|
|
Example of a Textual Document:
|
|
|
Example of a Photograph:
|
|
|
Example of a Ephemera (posters, handbills, promotional materials etc.):
|
|
|
Example of a Graphic Material:
|
Modified from: https://guides.ecuad.ca/archives/citing
See also: https://www.loc.gov/programs/teachers/getting-started-with-primary-sources/citing/chicago/
|
In-text Citations MLA uses in-text citations. Enough information needs to be provided so that the reader may identify the source in the Works Cited page. Depending on if there are multiple works by the same author or an item with no known author, the author's surname and/or date and/or title is sufficient.
|
|
|
Reference Page Citations Author (last name, first name). Title / description of material. Date (day month year). Call number, identifier or box / folder / item number. Name of fonds or collection. Name of repository, location. |
|
|
Example of Correspondence:
|
|
|
Example of a Textual Document:
|
|
|
Example of a Photograph:
|
|
|
Example of a Ephemera (posters, handbills, promotional materials etc.):
|
|
|
Example of a Graphic Material:
|
Modified from: https://guides.ecuad.ca/archives/citing
See also: https://www.loc.gov/programs/teachers/getting-started-with-primary-sources/citing/mla/
|
In-text Citations Enclose the author or creator's name and date in brackets. You may also use the title if the author/creator is unknown.
|
|
|
Reference Page Citations Author [last name first]. (year, month, day). Title. Name of fonds or collection (identifier and/or box/folder/item number). Name and location of repository. |
|
|
Example of Correspondence:
|
|
|
Example of a Textual Document:
|
|
|
Example of a Photograph:
|
|
|
Example of Ephemera (posters, handbills, promotional materials etc.):
|
|
|
Example of a Graphic Material:
|
|
|
|
Modified from: https://guides.ecuad.ca/archives/citing
Title of image / item. Collection / Fonds title and accession number, year of creation. Courtesy of name of archives or library, geographic location. ArchivesSpace URL link.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Citation Examples:
Casts; Catalog Lists, circa 1897. Eliza G. Radeke records 02.01.7, 1897. Courtesy of Fleet Library at Rhode Island School of Design, RISD Archives, Providence, RI. https://archivesspace.risd.edu/repositories/2/archival_objects/319
[Photo of Eliza Radeke in front of RISD Museum]. Eliza G. Radeke records 02.01.7, 1908. Courtesy of Fleet Library at Rhode Island School of Design, RISD Archives, Providence, RI. https://archivesspace.risd.edu/repositories/2/resources/10
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If the item is untitled, provide a short description in square brackets [ ].
Accession number - Sometimes called a unique ID or identifier. Similar to call numbers used to locate items within in a library. Each archival collection has an associated accession number.
RISD ArchivesSpace is the digital archives database for RISD Archives where you can conduct archival research and access finding aids for RISD's archival collections. Please note that RISD ArchivesSpace is not complete, and processing collections is ongoing work. If you are unable to find items you are looking for, please contact risdarchives@risd.edu for assistance.