| Title | Date | Catalogue | Images |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contemporary American Pictures. | 1956 Jan 11-Feb 12 | ||
| Primitive Art: 20th Century American Paintings. | 1956 Jan 11-Feb 12 | ||
| Photographs by Emerick Bronson. | 1956 Jan 11-Feb 12 | ||
| 100 Best News Photographs of the Providence Journal. | 1956 Feb 15-Mar 1 | ||
| Four Young Americans III: Kipp, Olsen, Remenick, Sterne. | 1956 Feb 29-Mar 28 | Yes | Yes |
| Paintings by Hopper & Corbino. | 1956 Mar 7-28 | Yes | |
| Sculpture by Minna Harkavy. | 1956 Mar 7-28 | Yes | Yes |
| The World of the Thirties. | 1956 Apr 11-May 13 | Yes | |
| Master Drawings and Master Prints. | 1956 May 15-Jun 30 | ||
| Architecture and the Arts. | 1956 May 15-22 | Yes | |
| Rose Exhibition. | 1956 Jun 2-30 | ||
| 19th Century French Pictures. | 1956 Sep 9-Oct 3 | Yes | |
| Sargent and Raeburn: Centenary and Bicentenary. | 1956 Sep 9-Oct 3 | ||
| Recent Accessions. | 1956 Oct 10-Nov 14 | ||
| Paintings by Edward Burra. | 1956 Oct 10-Nov 14 | ||
| Modern Haitian Paintings. | 1956 Oct 10-Nov 14 | ||
| Paintings by William Etty. | 1956 Nov 28-1957 Jan 2 | ||
| Paintings by Gustave Courbet. | 1956 Nov 28-1957 Jan 2 | Yes | |
| Recent American Art. | 1956 Nov 28-1957 Jan 2 | Yes | |
| Advent, Christmas, Epiphany. | 1956 Nov 28-1957 Jan 6 | ||
| Unfamiliar Treasures from Rhode Island Collections. | 1957 Jan 9-Feb 6 | Yes | Yes |
| Photographs of Venetian Villas. | 1957 Jan 17-Feb 10 | ||
| Four Young Americans: Goodnough Morin Prentiss Schwartz | 1957 Feb 13-Mar 13 | Yes | Yes |
| Modern Prints from the Museum's Collection. | 1957 Feb 13-Mar 13 | Yes | |
| Benson Memorial Exhibition. | 1957 Mar 20-Apr 17 | Yes | Yes |
| Japanese Prints. Museum Collection, Gift of G. P. Metcalf, the Raphael Pumpelly Collection. | 1957 Mar 20-Apr 17 | Yes | |
| Curtain Going Up: History of Theatrical Design. | 1957 Apr 24-May 22 | ||
| Three Young Rhode Island Artists: Nason, Pappas, Smith. | 1957 Apr 24-May 22 | Yes | |
| RISD Student Exhibit. | 1957 May 1 | Yes | |
| Photographs by Walter Silver. | 1957 May 27-Jun 20 | Yes | |
| The Windsor Chair. | 1957 May 27-Jul 31 | Yes | |
| The Age of Canova. | 1957 Sep 6-Dec 15 | Yes | Yes |
| European Advertising Design. | 1957 Sep 11-Oct 6 | Yes | Yes |
| Picasso, His Graphic Art. | 1957 Sep 11-Oct 20 | Yes | |
| Peanuts, Original Strips by Charles M. Schulz. | 1957 Sep 11-Oct 20 | ||
| Paintings by Gyorgy Kepes. | 1957 Nov 6-Dec 15 | Yes | |
| Small Exhibition of Works by Negro Artists. | 1957 Nov 10-17 | ||
| Recent Accessions. | 1958 Jan 8-Feb 16 | Yes | |
| Drawings by Hyman Bloom. | 1958 Jan 8-Feb 16 | Yes | Yes |
| 100 Best News Photographs. | 1958 Feb 12-Mar 2 | ||
| Four Young Americans V: Chamberlain, Louthian, Stein, Wilson. | 1958 Mar 4-Apr 12 | Yes | Yes |
| Three Rhode Island Artists: Germond, Jones, Maxfield. | 1958 Mar 4-Apr 12 | Yes | |
| Photographs by Paul Strand. | 1958 Mar 4-Apr 12 | Yes | |
| Living in Style, an Exhibition of Modern Interior Design. | 1958 Apr 24-Jun 7 | Yes | |
| Recent Accessions of Contemporary Graphic Arts. | 1958 Apr 24-Jun 7 | ||
| Paintings by Sir Winston Churchill. | 1958 May 20-25 | Yes | Yes |
| Edward B. Aldrich, Collector. | 1958 Sep 10-Oct 7 | Yes | |
| Daumier Sesquicentennial Celebration. | 1958 Sep 10-Oct 12 | ||
| German Architecture Today. | 1958 Oct 1-Nov 22 | Yes | |
| Fans, Parasols, and Victorian Accessories from the Museum's Collection. | 1958 Oct 1-22 | Yes | |
| Political Cartoons by Loring and Green. | 1958 Oct 8-Nov 30 | ||
| Prints, Recent Acquisitions. | 1958 Nov 1-30 | ||
| Sheldon A. Brody Photographs. | 1958 Nov 1-30 | ||
| Mirko, Sculpture and Drawings. | 1958 Dec 10-1959 Jan 14 | Yes | |
| Rouault, Paintings and Prints. | 1958 Dec 10-1959 Jan 14 | Yes | |
| Dutch Paintings from the Collection of the Honorable Theodore Francis Green. | 1959 Jan 21-Mar 4 | Yes | |
| 100 Best News Photographs from the Providence Journal. | 1959 Jan 21-Mar 4 | ||
| Walter Boyd Memorial Exhibition. | 1959 Feb 4-Mar 1 | Yes | |
| Paintings Since 1945: A Collection in the Making. Lent by Richard Brown Baker. | 1959 Mar 18-Apr 19 | Yes | Yes |
| 18th Century Japanese Folk Pottery. | 1959 Mar 18-Apr 19 | Yes | |
| Recent Accessions. | 1959 Apr 29-Jun 7 | Yes | |
| Four Young Americans: Goodnough, Easter, Hood, von Schlegell. | 1959 Apr 29-Jun 7 | Yes | Yes |
| Photographs by Winfield Parks and Carmel Vitullo. | 1959 Jun 1-Jul 31 | ||
| Architecture Worth Saving. Done in cooperation with the Providence Preservation Society. | 1959 Sep 2-Oct 8 | ||
| Faculty Exhibition to Commemorate the Dedication of the RISD Dormitories. | 1959 Oct 17-Nov 22 | Yes | Yes |
| Costumes of Newport's Golden Age, from the Museum's Collection. | 1959 Oct 17-Nov 22 | ||
| Hopper Watercolors. | 1959 Dec 2-27 | Yes | |
| English Watercolors and Drawings from the Museum's Collection. | 1959 Dec 2-1960 Jan 10 | ||
| Three Midwestern Printmaker: Antreasian, Pozzatti, Chesney. | 1959 Dec 11-1960 Jan 17 | Yes | |
| Childhood Drawings by Toulouse-Lautrec. | 1960 Jan 2-24 | Yes | Yes |
| Indian Textiles. | 1960 Jan 15-Feb 21 | ||
| Bronze Figure Sculpture Today. | 1960 Jan 27-Mar 6 | Yes | |
| Robert E. Lochner, Designer. | 1960 Feb 3-Mar 13 | ||
| Paintings by Ginpoh Y. King. | 1960 Mar 16-Apr 17 | Yes | Yes |
| Renaissance and Baroque Mortars and Ceramics from the Museum Collection. | 1960 Mar 18-Apr 17 | ||
| Contemporary American Paintings [?] | 1960 Apr 26-Jun 12 | ||
| Four Young Americans VII: Kahn, Kienbusch, Morris, Richenburg. | 1960 Apr 27-Jun 12 | Yes | Yes |
| Recent Accessions from the Museum Collection. | 1960 Apr 27-Jun 12 | Yes | |
| RISD Student Exhibition. | 1960 May 1 | Yes | |
| Canadian Graphics and Watercolors Today. | 1960 Sep 3-25 | Yes | |
| Daumier Lithographs. | 1960 Sep 6-Oct 2 | ||
| Portuguese Architecture and Decorative Arts. | 1960 Oct 16-Nov 13 | Yes | Yes |
| East Christian Painting. | 1960 Nov 30-Dec 31 | Yes | |
| The Face of Africa. | 1960 Nov 30-Dec 30 | Yes | |
| Dolls and Toys from the Museum's Collection. | 1960 Dec 7-1961 Jan 22 |