| Title | Date | Catalogue | Index | Images |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Life in the Big City. | 1986 Jan 10-Feb 16 | Yes | ||
| Drawings from the Fazano Collection | 1986 Jan 10-Feb 16 | |||
| Eden of America: Rhode Island Landscapes. | 1986 Jan 24-Apr 27 | Yes | Yes | |
| Insects and Insects. | 1986 Feb 14-May 25 | |||
| Batiks from Indonesia. | 1986 Feb 28-Jun 8 | |||
| A Photographic Intimacy: The Portraiture of Rooms. | 1986 Feb 28-May 11 | Yes | ||
| A Providence Legacy: Esek Hopkins Furniture. | 1986 Feb 28-May 11 | Yes | Yes | |
| Rhode Island Collects Paper. | 1986 Mar 7-Apr 27 | Yes | Yes | |
| Walter Feldman and Jane Kent. | 1986 Mar 7-May 4 | Yes | Yes | |
| RISD Graduate Show. | 1986 May 15-Jun 1 | |||
| Dual Departmental Show. | 1986 May 22-27 | |||
| Traditional Art of Africa. | 1986 May 23-Oct 2 | Yes | ||
| New Works from the Ancient World. | 1986 May 23-Aug 30 | |||
| Black Artists of Rhode Island. | 1986 May 23-Jun 28 | Yes | ||
| Carpets from the Islamic World. | 1986 May 30-Oct 12 | |||
| Courtesans of the Floating World. | 1986 May 30-Aug 30 | Yes | ||
| Personae: The Art of the Portrait. | 1986 May 30-Sep 14 | Yes | ||
| German Expressionists Prints and Drawings. | 1986 Jun 20-Aug 16 | |||
| Chinese Costumes of the Ch'ing Dynasty. | 1986 Jun 20-Oct 5 | |||
| Across Two Continents: England and America. | 1986 Jul 11-Aug 30 | |||
| American Style: Masterpieces of Fashion, 1880-1968. | 1986 Jul 11-Dec 7 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Ten Years of Photography: RISCA Fellowship Recipients. | 1986 Aug 29-Nov 9 | Yes | Yes | |
| Japanese Prints of the Kabuki. | 1986 Sep 5-Nov 23 | |||
| Public and Private: American Prints Today. | 1986 Sep 29-Nov 9 | Yes | Yes | |
| Cabinetmakers and Collectors: Colonial Furniture and its Revival in Rhode Island. | 1986 Oct 3-1987 Mar 1 | digital | Yes | |
| Japanese No Robes. | 1986 Oct 10-Nov 4 | |||
| Plastic Poems of Japan. | 1986 Oct 24-1987 Jan 11 | Yes | Yes | |
| Plastic Poems from Japan: Kitasono Katue and the VOU Group. | 1986 Oct 24-1987 Jan 11 | Yes | ||
| Departmental Exhibition. | 1986 Nov 6-16 | |||
| Traditional Arts of the Americas. | 1986 Nov 14-1987 Apr 5 | Yes | ||
| Departmental Exhibition. | 1986 Nov 21-1987 Jan 4 | |||
| Japanese Surimono Prints. | 1986 Nov 28-1987 Jan 25 | |||
| Art for Your Collection, XXIII | 1986 Dec 5-14 | Yes | ||
| Victorian Bibliomania: The Illuminated Book in 19th Century Britain. | 1987 Jan 16-Mar 15 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| The Call of the Wild: Animal Themes in Contemporary Art. | 1987 Jan 16-Mar 1 | Yes | ||
| Textile Treasures from the Permanent Collection. | 1987 Jan 16-Mar 1 | |||
| Sarongs of Sumatra. | 1987 Jan 23-May 3 | |||
| Japanese Prints of the Meiji Era/ | 1987 Jan 30-May 10 | |||
| Three Contemporary Painters: Leon Golub, Elizabeth Murray, Donald Sultan. | 1987 Mar 20-May 31 | Yes | ||
| RISD Faculty Biennial. | 1987 Mar 20-Apr 26 | Yes | ||
| To Bid Farewell: Images of Death in the Ancient World. | 1987 Apr 3-Jun 7 | Yes | Yes | |
| Ch'ing Dynasty Men's Wear. | 1987 May 8-Aug 15 | |||
| RISD Graduate Students. | 1987 May 15-31 | |||
| Hokusai and His Followers. | 1987 May 15-Sep 27 | |||
| Schoolart. | 1987 Jun 12-27 | Yes | ||
| The Extended Photography: Works by Denny Moers and John Bloom. | 1987 Jun 12-Aug 15 | Yes | Yes | |
| American Painting and Sculpture from the Permanent Collection. | 1987 Jun 26-1988 Jan 3 | |||
| A Decade of Collecting: Contemporary Painting, Sculpture, and Prints from the Permanent Collection. | 1987 Jun 26-Sep 20 | Yes | ||
| A Decade of Collecting. | 1987 Jul 17-Sep 6 | Yes | ||
| Batik: Northern Javanese Textiles from the Collection of Inger McCabe Elliott. | 1987 Aug 21-Nov 15 | Yes | ||
| The Highway as Habitat: A Roy Stryker Documentation, 1943-1955. | 1987 Aug 28-Oct 11 | Yes | ||
| A Private Collection Goes Public: Prints from the Fazzano Brothers Gift. | 1987 Sep 18-Nov 8 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Ottoman Turkish Art. | 1987 Sep 25-1988 Jan 24 | Yes | ||
| Meisho-e: Famous Places in Japanese Prints by Hiroshige (Part I). | 1987 Oct 2-1988 Jan 24 | |||
| John Prip: Master Metalsmith. | 1987 Oct 9-Dec 20 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| The Illustrations of Fritz Eichenberg. | 1987 Oct 16-Nov 8 | |||
| Kesa: Japanese Buddhist Vestments from the Lucy T. Aldrich Collection. | 1987 Nov 20-1988 Feb 28 | |||
| Art for Your Collection XXIV. | 1987 Dec 4-13 | Yes | ||
| 1900 to Now: Modern Art from Rhode Island Collections. | 1988 Jan 22-May 1 | Yes | Yes | |
| The Grosvenor School: British Linocuts Between the Wars. | 1988 Jan 22-Mar 20 | Yes | Yes | |
| Meisho-e: Famous Places in Japanese Prints by Hiroshige. Part II: Fifty-three Stages of Tokaido. | 1988 Jan 29-May 8 | |||
| Arts of Pre-Columbian Costa Rica: Selections from David B. Heath Memorial Collection. | 1988 Feb 5-May 15 | |||
| A Well-Furnished World: Rhode Island in the Age of Thomas Tefft. | 1988 Feb 5-Mar 27 | Yes | ||
| Prints of the 1980s. | 1988 Mar 25-May 1 | |||
| New Work from Ancient China in Asian Galleries. | 1988 Apr 1 | |||
| William Bailey: Paintings and Drawings. | 1988 Apr 8-Jun 18 | |||
| Process and Product: Selections from the Providence Jeweler's Museum. | 1988 Apr 8-Jun 18 | Yes | ||
| Auction by Design 1988. | 1988 May 10-14 | Yes | ||
| Japanese Theater Prints. | 1988 May 13-Sep 4 | |||
| RISD Graduate Students. | 1988 May 19-Jun 4 | Yes | ||
| The Art of the East Asian Potter: Ceramics from China, Korea, and Japan. | 1988 May 20-Oct 9 | |||
| Theater Architecture by Eugene Lee. | 1988 Jun 10-Sep 4 | Yes | ||
| Del Nuevo Mundo: The Nancy Sayles Day Collection of Latin American Art. | 1988 Jun 17-Sep 4 | Yes | ||
| The Facts of Life: Dutch Paintings from the 17th Century. | 1988 Jun 24-Oct 23 | Yes | ||
| Stage Designs by Donald M. Oenslager. | 1988 Aug 9-28 | |||
| Meiji (Japanese Prints). | 1988 Sep 9-Jan 22 | |||
| Japanese Crafts / New England. | 1988 Sep 16-Nov 13 | Yes | ||
| RISD Faculty Exhibition. | 1988 Sep 30-Nov 13 | |||
| Ancient China. | 1988 Oct 14-1989 May 14 | Yes | ||
| Fukusa: Embroidery from Japan. (Starting date approximate) | 1988 Nov 1-Dec 18 | |||
| New Visions of the Apocalypse | 1988 Nov 11-1989 Feb 12 | Yes | Yes | |
| Art for Your Collection XXV. | 1988 Dec 2-Dec 11 | Yes | ||
| Textiles by Junichi Arai. | 1988 Dec 9-1989 Mar 12 | Yes | ||
| Ikat. (Starting date approximate) | 1989 Jan 1-Mar 24 | |||
| Gifts from the Rhode Island Foundation. | 1989 Jan 6-Feb 26 | |||
| Works on Paper by Rhode Island Artists of the 19th and Early 20th Centuries. | 1989 Jan 6-Feb 26 | |||
| Beyond the Pharaohs: Egypt and the Copts in the 2nd to 7th Centuries AD | 1989 Feb 10-Apr 16 | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Chinese Treasures from the Permanent Collection. | 1989 Mar 3-Apr 23 | Yes | ||
| Images of the Mind: Selections from the Edward L. Elliott Family and John B. Elliott Collections of Chinese Calligraphy and Painting at the Art Museum, Princeton University. | 1989 Mar 3-Apr 23 | |||
| Carl Chiarenza: Landscapes of the Mind. | 1989 Mar 10-Apr 23 | |||
| Chinese Textiles of the Ch'ing Dynasty (1644-1911). | 1989 Mar 25-Jun 4 | |||
| Sculpture by Fumio Yoshimura. | 1989 Mar 31-Jun 24 |
Yes
|
||
| Recent Bookbinding by the Guild of the Book Workers. | 1989 Mar 31-Jun 24 | Yes | ||
| RISD Graduate Students. | 1989 May 19-Jun 4 | Yes | ||
| On Native Ground: American Paintings from the Permanent Collection. | 1989 May 26-Dec 31 | Yes | ||
| Noh Robes from the Lucy Truman Aldrich Collection. | 1989 Jun 9-Sep 3 | |||
| Words and Pictures: Illustrated Children's Books. | 1989 Jun 13-Aug 26 | Yes | ||
| Treasures on Paper: Drawings and Watercolors from the Permanent Collection. | 1989 Jun 13-Aug 19 | Yes | ||
| Surimono: Japanese Prints from the Pumpelly Collection. | 1989 Jun 23-Sep 10 | |||
| From Bastille to Beaubourg: Two Centuries of French Art from the Permanent Collection. | 1989 Jul 7-Aug 26 | Yes | ||
| A World of Costume and Textile. | 1989 Sep 22-Nov 12 | Yes | ||
| Furniture in Print: Pattern Books from the Redwood Library. | 1989 Sep 22-Nov 12 | Yes | Yes | |
| Capturing the Light: 150 Years of Photography. | 1989 Sep 22-Nov 12 | Yes | Yes | |
| Meiji Period Prints from the Gift of Mr. Mrs. Leona Gran?. (Dates are approximate.) | 1989 Nov 1-1990 Jan 31 | |||
| The Art of the Poster, 1870-1920. | 1989 Nov 24-1990 Feb 4 | Yes | ||
| Art for Your Collection XXVI. | 1989 Dec 1-10 | Yes | ||
| A Celebration of the New Year on Japanese (___?) Prints. (Dates are approximate) | 1990 Jan 1-Mar 1 | |||
| Protecting the Flag | 1990 Jan 18 | Yes | ||
| Terra Incognita: New Directions in Contemporary Landscape. | 1990 Jan 19-Apr 22 | Yes | Yes | |
| Contemporary Crafts: Ten Years of Collecting. | 1990 Jan 19-Mar 18 | Yes | ||
| The Landscape Tradition in Printmaking. | 1990 Jan 19-Apr 22 | |||
| The Art of Hmong Textiles. | 1990 Feb 9-May 13 | |||
| American Architects in Paris, 1900-1910. | 1990 Feb 16-May 20 | |||
| The Beauty of Black. | 1990 Mar 20-May 6 | |||
| Italian Painting: Treasures from the Permanent Collection. | 1990 Apr 6-Aug 25 | |||
| Flowers by Design | 1990 May 2-4 | Yes | ||
| Fan-Shaped Bird and Flower Prints from the Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Collection. | 1990 May 11-Jun 30 | Yes | Yes | |
| RISD Graduate Students. | 1990 May 18-Jun 3 | Yes | ||
| Southeast Asian Costume and Textiles. | 1990 May 19-Jul 14 | |||
| Jean-Honore Fragonardi: Drawings for "Orlando Furioso". | 1990 Jun 1-Aug 4 | |||
| Beauty in the Hand: The Art of the Fan. | 1990 Jun 1-Aug 18 | Yes | Yes | |
| Schoolart. | 1990 Jun 15-30 | Yes | ||
| Aaron Siskind: "Tar Series" / Andrzej Pawlowski: "Genesis". | 1990 Jun 15-Sep 6 | |||
| If Insects Could Speak. | 1990 Jul 6-Sep 2 | |||
| New Art for Providence. | 1990 Jul 20-Sep 16 | |||
| Indonesian Textiles I. | 1990 Jul 27-Oct 7 | |||
| The Ocean. | 1990 Aug 17-Oct 7 | |||
| Hispanic Artists of Rhode Island. | 1990 Sep 8-16 | |||
| Kabuki Actor-Prints from the Late 18th Century. | 1990 Sep 14-Nov 4 | |||
| Refugee Artists of Rhode Island. | 1990 Sep 22-30 | |||
| RISD Faculty Exhibition 1990. | 1990 Oct 5-Nov 11 | |||
| Indonesian Textiles II. | 1990 Oct 19-Dec 20 | |||
| Thedlow: 20th Century Interior Designs for Town and Country. | 1990 Nov 9-Dec 30 | Yes | ||
| The Lesko Collection of Silesian and Bohemian Glass. | 1990 Nov 9-Dec 30 | Yes | Yes | |
| Women of the Floating World. | 1990 Nov 9-1991 Jan 6 | |||
| Art for Your Collection XXVII. | 1990 Nov 30-Dec 9 |