| Title | Date | Catalogue | Index | Images |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peasants and "Primitivism": French Prints from Millet to Gaugin. | 1996 Jan 26-Mar 17 | Yes | Yes | |
| Judith K. Brodsky: The Meadowlands Strike Back. | 1996 Feb 23-Apr 28 | Yes | ||
| "De Donde Vengo": Selections from the Nancy Sayles Day Collection of Modern Latin American Art. | 1996 Mar 15-Apr 28 | |||
| Off the Cuff: Chinese Embroidered Sleeve Bands. | 1996 Mar 15-Jun 9 | |||
| The Art of Hokusai. | 1996 Mar 15-Jun 9 | |||
| Chinese Ceramics from the Museum's Collection. | 1996 Mar 22-May 26 | |||
| Drawings and Glass Sculptures: Alfred DeCredico, Lino Tagliapietra, Toots Zynsky. | 1996 Mar 29-Apr 28 | |||
| After Eden: The Rise and Reform of American Art, 1840-1910. | 1996 Apr 26-Dec 29 | |||
| Annual RISD Graduate Student Exhibition. | 1996 May 17-Jun 2 | |||
| Sitings 1996. | 1996 May 24-Oct 26 | |||
| Ursula von Rydingsvard at RISD. | 1996 Jun 7-Oct 27 | |||
| 20th Century Sculpture from the Collection. | 1996 Jun 7-Aug 17 | |||
| Summer Brilliance (Asian Prints). | 1996 Jun 14-Sep 15 | |||
| East Meets West: Oriental Themes in Western Textiles. | 1996 Jun 14-Sep 15 | |||
| A Tribute from His Friends: Gifts in Memory of Daniel J. Robbins. | 1996 Jun 21-Sep 29 | |||
| Lighting Unplugged. | 1996 Jul 1-Oct 13 | |||
| Dress, Art and Society. | 1996 Sep 13-1997 Jan 5 | Yes | ||
| Courtesans and Actors: Popular Culture in Edo Period Japan. | 1996 Sep 20-Dec 8 | |||
| Drawn from the Collection: Jan Baker - Dowry Textiles of Gujarat, India. | 1996 Sep 20-Dec 8 | |||
| Malcom Grear Retrospective. | 1996 Oct 11-Dec 1 | Yes | Yes | |
| RISD Collects RISD: Prints by Alumni and Faculty. | 1996 Oct 18-Dec 1 | |||
| Lines of Vision. | 1996 Nov 12-Dec 6 | |||
| 20th Century Art from the Albert Pilavin Collection. | 1996 Nov 22-1997 Apr 6 | |||
| Pines in the Snow: Images of Winter in Japanese Woodblock Prints. | 1996 Dec 13-1997 Mar 2 | |||
| Kashmir Shawls. | 1996 Dec 13-1997 Mar 2 | |||
| Thomas Eakins and the Swimming Picture. | 1996 Dec 20-1997 Apr 20 | Yes | ||
| Rhode Island Collects Ceramics. | 1997 Feb 7-Apr 2 | Yes | ||
| Indonesian Textiles. | 1997 Mar 7-May 18 | |||
| Kunisada's Twelve months: Images of Women in Japanese Woodblock Prints. | 1997 Mar 7-May 3 | |||
| Art in a Box! (Museum Associates Exhibition, Auction and Fund Raiser). | 1997 Apr 24-May 3 | |||
| Graduate Student Exhibition. | 1997 May 23-Jun 8 | |||
| Hiroshige's Prints of the Tokaido I. | 1997 May 23-Aug 24 | Yes | ||
| Waves of Tears from Sodden Sleeves. | 1997 May 23-Aug 24 | |||
| Sitings '97. | 1997 May 23-Oct 19 | |||
| Recent Acquisitions: Contemporary Works on Paper. | 1997 Jun 20-Sep 7 | |||
| Recent Acquisitions: Spotlight on Rhode Island. | 1997 Jun 20-Sep 7 | |||
| Hiroshige's Prints of the Tokaido II. | 1997 Aug 29-Dec 14 | Yes | ||
| Color and Form: 20th Century American Painting from the Permanent Collection. | 1997 Sep 8-1998 Mar 1 | |||
| 1997 Faculty Biennial. | 1997 Sep 19-Nov 9 | |||
| Opening of Granoff Galleries: Permanent Collection Installation, European Painting, Sculpture, Decorative Arts, and Costumes and Textiles. | 1997 Sep 27 | |||
| Ties that Bind: Fiber Art by Ed Rossbach and Katherine Westphal. | 1997 Oct 17-1998 Jan 11 | Yes | ||
| Artistic Expressions of the Human Spirit: Selections from the Nancy Sayles Day Collection of Modern Latin American Art. | 1997 Nov 21-1998 Apr 26 | Yes | ||
| The Dyed Image. | 1997 Dec 10-1998 Mar 8 | |||
| Utagawa Kuniyoshi. | 1997 Dec 10-1998 Mar 8 | |||
| Working in Stone: Process & Progress of Lithography. | 1997 Dec 19-1998 Apr 5 | |||
| Geoffrey Beene. | 1998 Feb 6-Apr 19 | Yes | ||
| One Voice, Many Visions: Works by African American Artists. | 1998 Feb 20-Jun 14 | |||
| Focus on Form: American Furniture from the Museum's Collection. | 1998 Apr 17-2000 May 21 | |||
| Graduate Student Exhibition. | 1998 May 22-Jun 7 | |||
| Sitings '98. | 1998 May 22-Oct 18 | |||
| Surimono: Selections from the Japanese Print Collection. | 1998 Jun 10-Sep 6 | |||
| Down to Earth: The Enduring Landscape. | 1998 Jun 17-Aug 30 | |||
| Of Peonies and Dragon's Toes: Chinese Costume from the Xing Dynasty. | 1998 Jun 24-Sep 13 | |||
| Gift of the Nile: Ancient Egyptian Faience. | 1998 Aug 26-1999 Jan 3 | Yes | Yes | |
| 19th Century Japanese Printmaking I. | 1998 Sep 9-Dec 6 | |||
| Carved Paper: The Art of the Japanese Stencil. | 1998 Sep 16-Dec 13 | |||
| Drawn from the Collection: Part of the Fabric. | 1998 Oct 7-1999 Jan 17 | Yes | ||
| Joseph Lincoln Smith and His Circle of Friends in Dublin, New Hampshire. | 1998 Oct 14-1999 Mar 3 | |||
| 19th Century Japanese Printmaking II. | 1998 Dec 9-1999 Mar 7 | |||
| Tactile Technology: Contemporary Japanese Textile Design. | 1999 Jan 2-Apr 4 | |||
| The Sari. | 1999 Jan 20-Apr 3 | |||
| Tradition and Innovation in American Watercolors. | 1999 Jan 27-Apr 11 | |||
| American Paintings from the Museum's Collection. | 1999 Feb 3-Apr 11 | |||
| Transboricua: An Installation by Pepon Osorio. | 1999 Feb 19-Apr 11 | Yes | ||
| The Center Cannot Hold: Art from 1900 to 1920. | 1999 Mar 6 | |||
| Spring Blossoms: Seasonal Japanese Prints. | 1999 Mar 10-Jun 6 | |||
| Jonathan Sharlin: Art Sentinels. | 1999 Mar 12-Jun 6 | |||
| Eastern Asian Embroideries. | 1999 Apr 7-Jul 3 | |||
| Reflections '99: Museum Associates Frame Auction Event. | 1999 Apr 22-May 1 | |||
| Sitings '99 | 1999 May 19-Oct 3 | |||
| RISD Graduate Student Exhibition. | 1999 May 21-Jun 6 | |||
| Meisho: Depictions of Famous Places in Japan. | 1999 Jun 9-Sep 5 | |||
| Barnaby Evans: Rikyu's Second Dream. | 1999 Jun 26-Sep 26 | Yes | ||
| The Universal Kitchen. | 1999 Jun 26-Nov 7 | Yes | ||
| Fukusa: Japanese Gift Covers. | 1999 Jun 30-Sep 26 | |||
| Harry Callahan: A Selection from the Permanent Collection. | 1999 Sep 10-Dec 5 | |||
| Glimpses of Grandeur: Courtly Art of the Later Islamic Empires. | 1999 Sep 24-Dec 26 | Yes | Yes | |
| RISD Faculty Biennial 1999. | 1999 Oct 1-2000 Jan 2 | |||
| Ernesto Pujol: Memory of Surfaces. | 1999 Nov 19-2000 Feb 6 | digital | ||
| Focus on Conservation: Three Mural Studies by Aaron Douglas. | 1999 Dec 17-2000 Feb 13 | |||
| Asia in Black and White. | 1999 Dec 31-2000 Mar 19 | |||
| Seeing with the Mind's Eye: The Art of Printmaking in Japan. | 1999 Dec 31-2000 Mar 19 | |||
| Image and Enterprise: The Photographs of Adolphe Braun. | 2000 Feb 4-Apr 22 | Yes | Yes | |
| Recent Acquisitions: Inclusive and Diverse. | 2000 Feb 18-Apr 16 | |||
| Painterly Prints from the Museum's Collection. | 2000 Feb 25-May 28 | |||
| Lynne Yamamoto: This, and My Heart. | 2000 Mar 10-Apr 30 | digital | ||
| The Needle's Excellence: Ottoman Embroideries. | 2000 Mar 24-Jul 9 | |||
| The Pleasure of Edo: Life in the Yoshiwara. | 2000 Mar 24-Jun 18 | |||
| Annual RISD Graduate Student Exhibition. | 2000 May 19-Jun 4 | |||
| Sitings 2000. | 2000 May 19-Oct 8 | Yes | ||
| Tokaido: The Lure of the Open Road in 19th-Century Japan. | 2000 Jun 23-Sep 10 | |||
| Sign Language: Twentieth Century Painting from the Permanent Collection. | 2000 Jun 23-Oct 29 | |||
| On This Ground: An Installation by Rebecca Belmore | 2000 Jun 30-Oct 8 | digital | ||
| The Far Traveler. | 2000 Jun 30-Sep 10 | |||
| Court and Country: Southeast Asian Costume and Textiles. | 2000 Jul 14-Oct 29 | |||
| Marking the Occasion: Surimono from Edo and Osaka. | 2000 Sep 15-Dec 3 | |||
| Under the Magnifying Glass: Dutch and Flemish Drawings from the Museum's Collection. | 2000 Sep 22-2001 Jan 14 | |||
| Pressing On: The Graphic Work of Wilmer Jennings. | 2000 Sep 29-2001 Jan 7 | Yes | ||
| Cloth Without Weaving: Beaten Barkcloth from the Pacific Islands. | 2000 Nov 3-2001 Feb 18 | |||
| Shimon Attie: White Nights, Sugar Dreams. | 2000 Nov 10-Dec 31 | Yes | ||
| Jim Isermann: Logic Rules. | 2000 Nov 17-Feb 11 | Yes | ||
| Black on White: Monochromatic Japanese Prints. | 2000 Dec 8-2001 Mar 4 |