Poster
Poster designed by Ariel Bordeaux
Curator - Special Collections Librarian
Claudia Covert
she/her
Contact:
2nd floor, 203
401-709-5927
Subjects: Artists' Books, Special Collections
Co-Curator, Senior Library Assistant, Special Collections
Claudia Covert
she/her
Contact:
2nd floor, 203
401-709-5927
Subjects: Artists' Books, Special Collections
Description
Pop-ups and other movable book forms.
Movable Book Society Biennial Conference
September 15-17, 2016
Boston Park Plaza Hotel, Boston, MA
http://www.movablebooksociety.org/conference.html
Related Resources
- Pop-up and Movable BooksContains lists of how to books as well as a sample of books located in Special Collections.
Exhibit Cases
Tunnel Books, Origami, and Transformations
- Loom byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books B282 L
The tunnel calamity by Call Number: RISD Special NC975.5.G67 T87 2015- Peeping Tom byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books P184Pe
- Farmyard Friends byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL NC978.5.N577 F3 1991
The Goldilocks Variations by Call Number: RISD SPECIAL NC978.5 .A34 G643 2012
Complex Pop-ups and Flip Books
Pop-up Op-Art by Call Number: RISD SPECIAL Z1033.T68 U38 2014- Forest poem byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books Oversize J62F
The Haunted House by Call Number: RISD Special NC978.5.P53 H3 1979- Dai food byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books Flat Folio F94Da
Paper blossoms : a book of beautiful bouquets for the table by Call Number: RISD Special Oversize Z1033.T68 M377 2010- Frogs in heat byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books H328F
- Off with their heads! byCall Number: RISD ARTISTS' BOOKS R213 O
- Alice's flip book byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books R213A
- Staring at our Sun (NASA Moon) byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books Oc24St
- How Columbus discovered AmericaCall Number: RISD SPECIAL OVERSIZE Z1033.T68 H69 1960
Pull-Tab and Cut-Out
- Freedom: a fable byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books W226Fr
- Excentric City byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL NC910.5.C67 E9 2014
Simple Pop-ups
One Red Dot by Call Number: RISD Special Z1068.T68 C373 2005- Legend : an A-Z of the Lea Valley byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books P779Le
Pop Pup Dog Day by Call Number: RISD Special Zines P727Po
Milkcrate Digest by Call Number: RISD Special Zines F876Mi- Bookano Stories with Pictures that Spring up in Model Form. No. 9 byPublication Date: 1942Private Collection
- Stairs byCall Number: RISD Artist' Books J266S
- Flash Gordon : the tournament of death byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL NC1764.5.U6 R39 1935
Carousels and Flag Books
- Round Summit : a morsel of the life of the artist Herb Fink, as perceived by Mike Fink & envisioned by Kate DeCarvalhoCall Number: RISD Artists' Books Flat Folio D43Ro
- Cat's Cradle byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books C41 Ca
- Life signs byCall Number: RISD Artists' Books M 193 L
Panoramas
- The International Circus byCall Number: RISD Special Oversize NC981.5.M43 I5 1979
- Ruckus Rodeo byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL OVERSIZE N6537.G72 A7 1988
Flap Books (Harlequinades), and Cut-Outs
- Fairytale byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL TT490 .V57 no. 59One Way or Another by Richard Phillips and Cecily Von Ziegesar
- The circus in the mist byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL NC982.5.M86 C5 1969
- Humorous Faces Of Funny Cases II byPrivate Collection
- John S. Goodall's theatre : the sleeping beauty byCall Number: RISD Special NC978.5.G662 S58 1979
- Graham Oakley's Magical Changes byPublication Date: 1980Private Collection
Flaps
- Observations on the theory and practice of landscape gardening : including some remarks on Grecian and Gothic architecture, collected from various manuscripts, in the possession of the different noblemen and gentlemen, for whose use they were originally w byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL OVERSIZE SB471 .R427 1803
- Flair annualCall Number: RISD Special Periodical 1953
- Co je Uvnitr? (What's Inside) byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL NC989.C92 R68 1968