In succinct and lucid language, Antony Griffiths explains the different printmaking techniques and shows both details and whole prints to demonstrate the effects that can be achieved. Woodcuts, engraving, etching, mezzotint, and lithography are among the many processes explained, illustrated, and placed within a historical context. With its complete glossary, index, and helpful illustrations.

This groundbreaking book establishes Post-Digital Printmaking as a distinct area of printmaking practice both technically and conceptually. Radically different from digital print production (inkjet on high-quality paper), Post-Digital Printmaking integrates Computer Numeric Control (CNC) devices such as laser cutters and CNC routers with matrix production for lithography, intaglio and relief. This contemporary practice incorporates the strengths of both digital and traditional, resulting in hybrid printmaking techniques. A comprehensive and accessible technical introduction to this important area of printmaking, this book explains techniques and processes in detail, discusses the contexts within which Post-Digital Printmaking has arisen, and includes examples and case studies of artists applying these hybrid techniques in their work.

Over the past two decades, the art world has broadened its geographic reach and opened itself to new continents, allowing for a significant crosspollination of post-conceptual strategies and vernacular modes. Printed materials, both in innovative and traditional forms, have played a key role in this exchange of ideas and sources. This catalogue, published in conjunction with an exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art, New York, examines the evolution of artistic practices related to prints, from the resurgence of ancient printmaking techniques often used alongside digital technologies to the worldwide proliferation of self-published artists books and ephemera.

A basic text that discusses techniques and applications in every major area of printmaking. Proceeds from the beginning steps to the most advanced procedures. Over 600 illustrations. Provides a history of printmaking.

Printmaking: A Contemporary Perspective is a solid overview of current work in this exciting area, taking into account the history and the different techniques available for artists working today. Using the work of contemporary artists, Printmaking tells the story of the progression of this art form and highlights the most important technological advances and influential artists.

This comprehensive book provides excellent representation of printmaking. It provides an explanation of the traditional methods of making fine prints and illustrates the finished product with the 100 plates of various prints.

Featuring a global showcase of 100 of the craft's most exciting and influential practitioners, Low-Tech Print is an exploration of hand-made printmaking techniques and how they are used in contemporary design and illustration. It examines the huge recent resurgence in the popularity of printmaking, with chapters on screenprinting, letterpress, relief printing, and other printing methods.

The Art of the Print explores the development of the graphic arts from the earliest examples of true prints made in the Far East over a millennium ago to the latest experiments with new materials that have released the print from the flat surface of the sheet of paper and allowed it to assume surprising three-dimensional forms. Every technique of printmaking is covered, from the major processes of woodcut, intaglio, lithography, mezzotint, and silkscreen, to less common processes such as the monotype.

PhotoImage explores the use of photographic and photoreproductive imagery in creative printmaking, from Robert Rauschenberg's first lithographs of 1962 to the present. An international cast of some 70 artists - notably Rauschenberg, Richard Hamilton, Gerhardt Richter and Andy Warhol - is represented by prints and books in a great diversity of styles, viewpoints, and media. Clifford Ackley's introductory essay presents a detailed history of each work. Illustrated with 32 color plates and 36 duotones.

Copper-plate printmaking, developed alongside Gutenberg's invention of moveable type, was a huge business employing thousands of people, and dominating image production for nearly four centuries across the whole of Europe. Its techniques and influence remained very stable until the nineteenth century, when this world was displaced by new technologies, of which photography was by far the most important. Print Before Photography examines the unrivalled importance of printmaking in its golden age.

A funny and entertaining history of printed books as told through absurd moments in the lives of authors and printers. Since the Gutenberg Bible first went on sale in 1455, printing has been viewed as one of the highest achievements of human innovation. But the march of progress hasn't been smooth; downright bizarre is more like it. Printer's Error chronicles some of the strangest and most humorous episodes in the history of Western printing, and makes clear that we've succeeded despite ourselves.

Discusses the history and techniques of over forty-five printmaking methods, from etching and engraving to monotypes and Mylar lithography.

The Printmaking Bible is the definitive resource to the ins-and-outs of every variety of serious printmaking technique practiced today. In-depth instructions are accompanied by profiles that show how working artists create their prints. Historical information, troubleshooting tips, and an extensive resource section provide more invaluable tools.

Comprehensive resource for woodblock printmaking, and particularly mokuhanga, Japanese woodblock technique.

Printmaking is a practical and comprehensive guide to printmaking techniques. This fully updated edition includes expanded chapters on digital and mixed media processes, and a brand new 'Print & Make' chapter, which explores the opportunities for creative expression within the many processes available to print makers.

A basic primer on digital printmaking, the fastest growing of the printmaking arts - Part of an excellent series and provides a comprehensive technical guide to digital printmaking

This inspirational guide offers a wealth of information on all the different methods of working including monoprinting, wood engraving, etching, intaglio printing, screen-printing and more. Many helpful step-by-step demonstrations illustrate the processes and a gallery of images created by printmakers are featured throughout the book.

Collagraphy, engraving, etching, linocut, lithography, screen printing, and woodcuts, are among the techniques for making prints detailed by award-winning artist Julia Ayres. She provides photographs and text to explain the materials and equipment, each step of each process, and each stage of example prints.

This is a guide to printmaking by hand, without a press. It ranges from potato prints to multi-colour linocuts; from collage to screen prints; from prints made with pipe cleaners and burger boxes to three-dimensional indented sculpture. The advantage of the techniques covered are that they do not require expensive equipment or much space and are suitable for all age groups. Easy to follow for the beginner this book also offers insights for the experienced printmaker.

This book details innovative techniques of printmaking taken from the studio of a master craftsman. The first printing of the book in 1949, became THE standard in the industry for it's excellence in teaching this printing process. It is in much demand, and thus was reprinted, with revisions encompassing the newer improvements to the process, available in 1986. Pictures and diagrams throughout.

Fun way for beginners to learn print-making in your own home using normal everyday items. Contains many illustrations.

The lively text demystifies a variety of historical and contemporary techniques, from the selection of media, preliminary sketching, and the preparation of canvas to fresco, oil, tempera, encaustic, and acrylic painting. Copious color art reproductions serve as both models and inspiration; along with her general instructions, Krug adds basic exercises for the reader to encourage and emphasize the value of independent exploration of media.

This book is a new volume in the Magical Secrets series published by Crown Point Press in San Francisco. What are Magical Secrets? They are ways of setting yourself up for thinking creatively, for a sudden understanding, something like a miracle. Kathan Brown learned the Magical Secrets in this book by helping artists of extraordinary acclaim make etchings. She founded Crown Point Press, now probably the world's most influential etching publisher, in 1962. In this book, you'll meet sixteen artists who will be remembered by future generations.

Magical Secrets are sudden flashes of insight that help you make sense of something you care about. If you care about etching, engraving, and drypoint (a form of engraving), you will find revelations here. Author Catherine Brooks is a master printer at Crown Point Press, and she draws on the venerable history of that institution to create an inspirational and highly usable how-to book. The practical information is artist-centered, with illustrations and discussions of line etchings and engravings enhanced by quotations from the artists who made them.

Crown Point Press master printer Emily York discusses aquatint, a form of etching used to create delicate washes, velvety blacks, and intricate layers of color impossible in other art media. Using 46 prints by 32 artists, she ties process directly to art and explains spit bite, sugar lift, soap ground, and water bite. She also details steel-facing and multiple plate printing, with step-by-step instructions for making your own aquatints.

In Black and White explores prints from African and the African diaspora. An accessible medium, print is relatively cheap to produce and easy to distribute. It bridges the space between fine and commercial art as a vehicle for expression and carries with it a tradition of satire and protest, both social and political. Covering the period from the 1960s to the present, this volume examines prints from the V&A's collections and interprets them in the context of their political and social significance. It includes prints by Uzo Egonu, Carrie Mae Weems and Chris Ofili among others, as well as works with an overt political purpose, such as posters attacking the Apartheid policies of South Africa, and material produced by American Black Power organizations such as the Black Panthers.

In the Company of Women profiles over 100 of these influential and creative women from all ages, races, backgrounds and industries, including well-known names like Sibella Court and Tavi Gevinson. Chock-full of practical, inspirational advice for those looking to forge their own paths, these interviews detail the keys to success.

The Ladies of Letterpress features the best work of the members of Ladies of Letterpress, an international organization that champions the work of women printers. Valuable as a handy resource, it includes a wide range of pieces, from greeting cards to broadsides and posters, printed in a variety of type and illustration styles. Each piece is accompanied by details of paper, inks, and press used in its printing, and a profile of its printer.