Online Resources
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus OnlineThis online thesaurus provides users with access to a controlled vocabulary regarding art, architecture and objects of cultural heritage.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsArticles from international journals in architecture, design, landscape architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and decoration. 1934 to present.
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryThe Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
- Building Green SuiteArticles from Environmental Building News, case studies, and the GreenSpec Building Products database.
- Garden, Landscape and Horticulture IndexArticles related to gardening topics, with special focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.
- GreenFileArticles on human impact on the environment, covering global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- The International Plant Names Index (IPNI)Welcome to the Beta Test version of the new website for the International Plant Names Index (IPNI). We provide nomenclatural (spelling, author, types and first place and date of publication) information for the scientific names of Vascular Plants from Family down to infraspecific ranks. You can search for plant names, authors or publications in the search box above.
- The LuEsther T. Mertz Library of the New York Botanical Garden Research GuidesThe Mertz Library promotes the stewardship of the natural world by collecting and preserving works of merit in botany, horticulture and landscape design. Their research guides support the intellectual and informational needs of the gardening, horticultural and botanical community.
- Plants of the World OnlineBrowse 1,124,000 global plant names, 90,100 detailed descriptions, and 193,800 images with an initial focus on tropical Africa
- Rhode Island Archival and Manuscript Collections OnlineProvides access to archival and manuscript collections throughout Rhode Island. Researchers can locate collections relating to their research at ten Rhode Island repositories.
- RIBA (Royal Institutie of British Architects) Online CatalogueOnline catalog of the collections of The British Architectural Library, 1494 to present. Index to over 300 architectural periodicals held in the RIBA Library, catalog of the RIBA Library Photographs, Drawings and Manuscripts Collections, and a biographical database of architects.
- Urban Studies AbstractsArticles covering areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, and urban history, 1973 to present.
- World Flora Online - an Online Flora of All Known Plants, supporting the Global Strategy for Plant Conservation
Special Collections + Archives + Digital Commons
RISD's Archives contain records for the The Lowthorpe School of Landscape Architecture, you can explore them by selecting the following link, Guide to the Lowthorpe School of Landscape Architecture records , 1887-1954
In addition to the archives of the Lowthorpe School of Landscape Architecture, RISD have items in Special Collections from the Lowthorpe School of Landscape Architecture. You can find these items by entering "Lowthrope Collection" as a keyword search.
Special Collections also contains many items connected the history of Landscape Architecture. Browse this History of Landscape Architecture guide to find more resources.
It is also possible to search through Digital Commons @ RISD for information about the Landscape Architecture department. You can search by using the keyword "landscape architecture." You can also join the community for the Landscape Architecture Department.
Research Methods + Bibliographies
Landscape Architecture Research by ISBN: 9780470564172Publication Date: 2011-04-12A practical, single-source guide to successful strategies for landscape architecture research Landscape Architecture Research offers a framework for advancing better design thinking solutions by supplying readers with a system of inquiry tactics that open up a wider range of research possibilities. With a logical and innovative approach that favors legitimacy of knowledge based on collective, grounded practices, rather than strict adherence to protocols drawn only from scientific models, this comprehensive, illustrated guide produces a sound argument for establishing a new paradigm for legitimizing research quality.
Landscape Architecture Research Methods by ISBN: 9781138020931Publication Date: 2016-11-18Research in Landscape Architecture provides guidance on the rationales needed for selecting methods and offers direction to help to frame and design academic research within the discipline. Over the last couple of decades the traditional orientation in landscape architecture as a field of professional practice has gradually been complemented by a growing focus on research. This book will help you to develop the connections between research, teaching and practice, to help you to build a common framework of theory and research methods. This book will provide a definitive path to developing research within landscape architecture.
Research Companion to Landscape Architecture by Call Number: SB472 .R685 2019ISBN: 9781472484680Publication Date: 2018-11-06The Routledge Research Companion to Landscape Architecture considers landscape architecture's increasingly important cultural, aesthetic, and ecological role. The volume reflects topical concerns in theoretical, historical, philosophical, and practice-related research in landscape architecture - research that reflects our relationship with what has traditionally been called 'nature'. It does so at a time when questions about the use of global resources and understanding the links between human and non-human worlds are more crucial than ever.
Landscape Analysis by Call Number: GF90 .S77 2017ISBN: 9781138927155Publication Date: 2017-04-25A key aspect of town planning, landscape planning and landscape architecture is to identify and then use the distinctive features and characteristics of space, place and landscape to achieve environmental quality. Landscape Analysis provides an introduction to the field both in theory and in practice. A wide range of methods and techniques for landscape analysis is illustrated by urban and rural examples from many countries.
Bibliography of Landscape Architecture, Environmental Design and Planning by Call Number: SB472 .P67 1987ISBN: 0897742508Publication Date: 1987-07-01
Pioneers of American Landscape Design by Call Number: SB469.9 .P56 1993ISBN: 0160419743Publication Date: 1994-01-01An annotated bibliography covering landscape architects, horticulturists, and planners in the United States.- Architecture and Women by Call Number: NA2543.W65 D6886 1988ISBN: 0824041054Publication Date: 1988-09-01A bibliography documenting women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural critics and writers, and women in related fields working in the United States.
Dictionaries and Glossaries
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture by Call Number: NA31 .C864 2006ISBN: 9780192806307Publication Date: 2006-05-04Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to ziggurat, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of architecture available. Beautifully illustrated and written in a clear and concise style, it covers all periods of Western architectural history, from ancient times to the presentday. It also includes concise biographies of leading architects, from Brunelleschi and Imhotep to Le Corbusier and Richard Rogers.
Dictionary of Landscape Architecture and Construction by Call Number: SB469.25 .C48 2005ISBN: 0071441425Publication Date: 2005-04-07Many of the terms used in landscape architecture, land planning, environmental planning, and landscape construction are unavailable, or so new, or industry-specific that they can't be found in conventional dictionaries. This unique resource delivers definitions as well as how-to information via details and photos, going above and beyond the scope of a typical professional dictionary. With straightforward definitions and clear illustrations on each page, everyone from architects, designers, and contractors through grounds maintenance workers will benefit from this important resource. In addition, an appendix with labeled construction details will illustrate not just what a term means, but also how it's applied in the profession.
The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture by Call Number: NA31 .F55 1998ISBN: 9780670880171Publication Date: 1999-03-01The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture constitutes a complete revision and expansion -- with the addition of the increasingly popular subject of landscape architecture -- of a work that has long been recognized as the standard in its field.
Field Guides + Manuals
Bark by Call Number: QK117 .W65 2011ISBN: 9781584658528Publication Date: 2011-04-12Many people know how to identify trees by their leaves, but what about when those leaves have fallen or are out of reach? With detailed information and illustrations covering each phase of a tree's lifecycle, this indispensable guidebook explains how to identify trees by their bark alone.
Dirr's Hardy Trees and Shrubs by Call Number: SB435.5 .D556 1997ISBN: 0881924040Publication Date: 1997-10-01This encyclopedia, illustrated with brilliant photographs, describes the best woody plants adapted to cooler climates, showing both habit and details of more than 500 species, and including some 700 additional cultivars and varieties. Brief cultural information is supplied for each plant, as well as Dirr's perceptive comments and opinions.
A Guide to Field Guides by Call Number: Z7408.N6 S36 1999ISBN: 9781563087073Publication Date: 1999-07-15Focusing on the North American continent, this book, the first of its kind, identifies and describes major field guides in all scientific subject areas (from plants, animals, and insects to astronomy and weather, geology and fossils, and man-made objects). Organized by topic, it offers complete bibliographic information and descriptions of more than 1,300 field guides. This permits users to quickly and easily discover whether a guide is available for a particular subject and determine its scope and format. I
Newcomb's Wildflower Guide by Call Number: QK118 .N42 1977ISBN: 0316604410Publication Date: 1977-04-01Lawrence Newcomb's system of identification on wild flowers is based on natural structural features that are easily visible to the untrained eye and enables amateurs and experts to identify almost any wildflower quickly and accurately.
(ebook) New England Wildflower Society's Flora Novae Angliae by ISBN: 9780300184754Publication Date: 2011-11-08
Tree Finder by Call Number: QK477.2.I4 W37 1998ISBN: 0912550015Publication Date: 1963-01-01Guide to identifying native (and some widely introduced) trees of U.S. and Canada east of the Rocky Mountains. Organized as a dichotomous key, the book leads the user through a series of simple questions about the shape or appearance of different parts of a tree. Includes 161 species. Illustrated with line drawings.
Winter Tree Finder by Call Number: QK477.2.I6 W35 1970ISBN: 9780912550039Publication Date: 1970-01-01Enjoy getting to know your trees even in winter, with this key to identifying deciduous trees (trees that lose their leaves in the winter) by looking at twigs, buds, fruits, and other features. Explains structure of twigs and shows habitat and range of native and some widely introduced trees. Illustrated with the author's line drawings.
