Landscape Infrastructure
Green Infrastructure by Call Number: QH541.15.E245 R68 2013ISBN: 9781611900620Publication Date: 2013-11-13This well-grounded report shows how green infrastructure cleans the air and water, replenishes aquifers, reduces flooding, and moderates the climate. And the benefits go beyond improving the environment. Green infrastructure also promotes healthy exercise and access to more locally grown food. It makes communities safer and even helps reduce crime. It also boosts the economy as it attracts business, raises property values, and lowers energy and healthcare costs.
The MESH Book : Landscape/Infrastructure by Call Number: SB472 .M47 2004ISBN: 0864593082Publication Date: 2004The landscape architecture conference Mesh brought together a host of participants, including keynote speakers Edward Bru, Walter Hood, Roel van Gerwen and Kathy Poole who participated under the theme of 'infrastructure as landscape'. This thick volume presents a rich mix of talks, essays, case studies and practitioner's portfolios examining future directions for this discipline.
Landscape Infrastructure by Call Number: SB472 .L36 2011ISBN: 9783034605939Publication Date: 2011-01-24Infrastructure is a much discussed topic within the field of landscape architecture. It regards the entire urban and rural space as a network that calls for an integrated planning and urban design approach. Natural and man-made infrastructures are viewed as forming a single, overarching whole. The book examines this robust and ecologically sustainable approach with essays by well-known experts in the field.
Grüne Infrastruktur / Green Infrastructure by Call Number: SB470.55.G3 G74 2015ISBN: 9783035603293Publication Date: 2015-08-28Green infrastructure strategies can take quite different forms, ranging from floodwater protection measures to the integration of traffic and energy systems and the development of urban green. The goal for society is to improve the diversity and resilience of our environment and to minimize the effects of climate change. In essays, interviews and profiles of the best realized projects from the past few years, Green Infrastructure examines the challenges and tasks facing contemporary landscape architecture and what it can achieve to address them. This book is published on the occasion of the awarding of the German Landscape Architecture Prize 2015.
Water Sensitive Urban Design by Call Number: NA2542.8 .W384 2011ISBN: 9783868591064Publication Date: 2011-11-30This manual, developed by the Hafen City University of Hamburg, provides an overview of a Water Sensitive Urban Design approach and creates principles for a successful strategy focused on the topics: Water Sensitivity, Aesthetics, Functionality, Usability, Public Perception and Acceptance, as well as Integrative Planning. It furthermore presents an international selection of case studies ranging from small scale up to large scale, demonstrating the WSUD principles in the context of the temperate climates.
Garden + Planting design
Planting by Call Number: QUARTO 715 O92PISBN: 9781604693706Publication Date: 2013-04-09An intimate knowledge of plants is essential to the success of modern landscape design. Oudolf's considerable understanding of plant ecology, explaining how plants behave in different situations, what goes on underground, and which species make good neighbors. Extensive plant charts and planting plans will help you choose plants for their structure, color, and texture. A detailed directory shares details like each plant's life expectancy, the persistence of its seedheads, and its propensity to self-seed.
Gardening with Junk by Call Number: 635 C36GISBN: 9781782495512Publication Date: 2018-05-08Planted Junk, will demonstrate how to utilize all sorts of great materials, from ceramics, stone, and glass, to wood, wicker, metal, and plastic. Learn how to make the most of any container, whether they are beer cans, wicker baskets, quirky ceramics, and so much more! The Plant Directory, provides a comprehensive list of flowers and plants so that you can find what best suits you and your newly converted pots!
The Planting Design Handbook by Call Number: SB472.45 .R64 2011ISBN: 9780754677161Publication Date: 2011-11-28The Planting Design Handbook has been widely used as a definitive text on landscape architecture courses throughout the world. It examines the horticultural, ecological and aesthetic characteristics of plants, discusses the structural and decorative roles of planting, spatial composition, species selection, planting plans and spacing, and the vital role of management.
Waterwise Plants for Sustainable Gardens by Call Number: SB439.8 .O34 2011ISBN: 9781604691696Publication Date: 2011-09-06Waterwise Plants for Sustainable Gardens is a practical guide to the best 200 plants guaranteed to thrive in low-water gardens. Plant entries provide the common and botanical name, the regions where the plant is best adapted, growth and care information, and notes on pests and disease. This practical and inspiring guide includes a variety of plants, from trees to succulents, perennials to bulbs, all selected for their wide adaptability and ornamental value. Companion plants, creative design ideas, and full color photography make this guide a must-have resource for any sustainable gardener.
Planting for Wildlife by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780643103139Publication Date: 2011-01-01Planting for Wildlife provides the latest information on restoring woodlands, with particular emphasis on plantings as habitat for wildlife. Key topics include why it is important to revegetate, where to plant, how to prepare a site, how to maintain and manage plantings, and how they change over time.
Botany for Designers by Call Number: SB472.45 .T87 2011ISBN: 9780393706246Publication Date: 2011-12-05This book explains the essentials of planting design, exploring form and function and showing how various characteristics of plants and trees--shape, pigment, leaf veination, texture, fragrance, sound, height, and more--can be used to achieve effective site-appropriate designs. Specifying appropriate plant material and examining stock at the nursery--drawing up a planting schedule of the species or cultivar, sizes, and quantities--and evaluating modes of transplantation are other key "on-the-job" concepts covered.
Elements of Planting Design by Call Number: SB472.45 .A97 2002ISBN: 0471398888Publication Date: 2001-11-22This comprehensive guide provides clear, step-by-step instructions for creating a planting composition, from preplanning and developing a preliminary design to implementing the final plan. It enables designers to strike a balance between technical issues-such as regional vegetation requirements, soil grade,and climate, noise, and erosion control-and aesthetic considerations, including color, form, and seasonal variation.
Climate Positive Design is a research initiative launched in 2019 to improve the carbon impact of the built environment through collective action. Its mission is to help projects become Climate Positive solutions that sequester more carbon than they emit. Learn how to increase carbon sequestration and reduce carbon footprints in the Climate Positive Design Toolkit. Use the Pathfinder app to calculate the impact of materials, plants and operations on your site plan.
Native Plants
Flora Novae Angliae : a manual for the identification of native and naturalized vascular plants of New England (available in print and ebook)
Vascular Flora of Rhode Island : a list of native and naturalized plants
Go Botany (The Native Plant Trust) is an authoritative source for identifying, sharing, exploring, and discovering New England’s plants. For beginners and experts. Includes over 3,500 native and naturalized plants of New England.
Rhode Island Natural History Survey gathers and disseminates information on RI’s animals and plants, geology, and ecosystems to improve the management of natural resources, and support those dedicated to the ecology of RI.
Natural Communities of Rhode Island (NCRI). 2006 (pdf)
Rhode Island Ecological Communities Classification. Technical Report. 2011 (pdf)
Rhode Island Wild Plant Society is a nonprofit conservation organization dedicated to the preservation and protection of Rhode Island’s native plants and their habitats.
Indigenous lifeways
Iwígara : American Indian ethnobotanical traditions and science
Native American Food Sovereignity Alliance advocates for and supports all levels of food security and food sovereignty in local, tribal, regional, national and international arenas. NAFSA hosts the Indigenous Seed Keepers Network which promotes Indigenous culturally diversity for future generations by collecting, growing, and sharing heirloom seeds and plants.
Seed Savers Exchange stewards Americaʼs culturally diverse and endangered garden and food crop legacy for present and future generations. They educate and connect people through collecting, regenerating, and sharing heirloom seeds, plants, and stories.
Ecology
Regenerative Design Techniques by Call Number: SB472.45 .M45 2002ISBN: 0471414727Publication Date: 2002-06-12A hands-on resource for applying regenerative design technologies Regenerative Design Techniques provides practical and applied information on sustainable and regenerative principles, as well as techniques for analyzing and implementing these principles into the design of a structure or site. Written in a clear and accessible style, this book enables readers to easily and immediately apply all the material presented. Environmental concerns that affect design are covered, along with issues such as water and waste, as well as information on energy and shelter.
Nature and Cities by Call Number: NA9053.E58 N38 2016ISBN: 9781558443471Publication Date: 2016-11-21This illustrated collection of essays by leading international architects, landscape architects, city planners, and urban designers demonstrates the economic, environmental, and public health benefits of integrating nature more fully into cities.
Land Mosaics by Call Number: GE170 .F57 1995ISBN: 0521479800Publication Date: 1995-11-09Animals, plants, water, wind, materials and people flow at different rates, according to spatial patterns common to almost all landscapes and regions. This up-to-date synthesis explores the ecology of heterogeneous land areas, where natural processes and human activities spatially interact, to produce an ever changing mosaic. The subject has great relevance to today's society, and this book reflects the breadth of its importance; there are many ideas and applications for planning, conservation, design, management, sustainability and policy. Spatial solutions are provided for society's land-use objectives.
Projective Ecologies by Call Number: HT241 .P75 2014ISBN: 9781940291123Publication Date: 2014-07-01Projective Ecologies takes stock of the diversity of contemporary ecological research and theory--embracing Felix Guattari's broader definition of ecology as at once environmental, social, and existential--and speculates on potential paths forward for design practices. Where are ecological thinking and theory now? What do current trajectories of research suggest for future practice? How can advances in ecological research and modeling, in social theory, and in digital visualization inform, with greater rigor, more robust design thinking and practice?
Toward an Urban Ecology by Call Number: SB472.7 .O74 2016ISBN: 9781580934367Publication Date: 2016-07-12Founded in 2005 by Kate Orff, SCAPE is a landscape architecture and urban design studio based in New York, celebrated not only for its interventions in public spaces but also for the far-reaching questions it raises and meaningful debates it engenders about the built environment, public sphere, climate change, and social and environmental justice in the age of the climate crisis. Toward an Urban Ecology is an extended case study of the firm's practice, showing in detail how they construct narratives of projects, what kinds of questions they ask, and how they've engaged in a constellation of sites and issues in a way that is useful for the next generation of landscape practitioners and activists--storytellers and scientists with the power to change the world.
Cities and Natural Process by Call Number: HT166 .H664 2004ISBN: 0415298555Publication Date: 2004-06-15Cities and Natural Process is a discussion of the fundamental conflict in the perception of nature and an expression of the essential need for an environmental view when approaching urban design. Whilst retaining the existing structure, each of the chapters has been revised to take into account recent theoretical and practical developments. A completely new concluding chapter has been added which draws together the themes of the volume and links these to broader landscape issues such as greenway systems, landscape ecology and green infrastructure.
Water
Design in the Terrain of Water by Call Number: SB475.8 .D47 2014ISBN: 9781941806241Publication Date: 2014-05-01The book brings together the work of eminent professionals, designers, artists, scientists and theorists, who respond to the challenges that this water poses, its visualization, its infrastructure, its politics and its science. At a moment when design disciplines are beginning to embrace measures such as flexibility, agility and resilience, this book makes an important and timely contribution. These are measures that we associate more closely with water and watery imagination than the terra firma that grounds aspirations of prediction and control that have proved elusive, perhaps even detrimental.
Basics Designing with Water by ISBN: 9783764386627Publication Date: 2008-05-16Water is a special design element in open space planning and one that lends a decidedly distinguished touch. But it is not enough merely to insert water basins and fountains at the appropriate spots in architectural drawings. As early as the design stage the planner must begin to think about where the water is going to come from, where it is going to drain, and how it is going to be cleaned.
Water Index by Call Number: NA9053.C6 W38 2016ISBN: 1940291402Publication Date: 2017-10-01Water Index is the first critical inventory and analysis of innovative architecture, landscape architecture and design solutions to address the rising, disappearing, and contamination of water. As an ecological disaster complex ferments in contemporary architectural discourse, design competition briefs, conference topics and journal themes optimistically call for designers to reconcile or re-imagine the relationship between water, architecture and city.- Water Sensitive Urban Design by Call Number: NA2542.8 .W384 2011ISBN: 9783868591064Publication Date: 2011-11-30This manual, developed by the Hafen City University of Hamburg, provides an overview of a Water Sensitive Urban Design approach and creates principles for a successful strategy focused on the topics: Water Sensitivity, Aesthetics, Functionality, Usability, Public Perception and Acceptance, as well as Integrative Planning. It furthermore presents an international selection of case studies ranging from small scale up to large scale, demonstrating the WSUD principles in the context of the temperate climates.
Recent Waterscapes by Call Number: NA2542.8 .W39 2009ISBN: 9783764389840Publication Date: 2009-05-08This book reveals the wide variety of possibilities for using water as a creative element in the city, in art, in the landscape and architecture. The works are organized in seven categories and encompass large-scale master plans, urban plazas and parks, river restorations but also interior design schemes and art objects.
Green Streetscape Design with Stormwater Management by Call Number: NA9053.E58 G745 2016ISBN: 9781864706451Publication Date: 2016-06-15The first book about stormwater management utilised in urban streetscape design in China. Offering a detailed green streetscape design guideline with accompanying stormwater management methods, the book is augmented with selected design cases, presented with rich narratives, detailed plans and drawings, and beautiful photography. This book is an informative guide for practitioners to create an attractive, efficient and sustainable urban streetscape, while managing polluted stormwater and achieving a cleaner environment.
New WaterscapesCall Number: NA2542.8 .N48 2005ISBN: 3764372451Publication Date: 2005-10-28This third, revised edition of best-selling Waterscapes reveals the wide variety of possibilities for using water as a creative element in the city, in the landscape and architecture. The works encompass large-scale masterplans, urban parks, river restaurations but also interior design schemes and art objects.
Mississippi Floods by Call Number: N6537.M3943 A4 2001ISBN: 0300084307Publication Date: 2001-05-11Landscape architect Anuradha Mathur and architect/planner Dilip da Cunha draw together an array of perspectives on the river and show how these different images have played a role in the process of designing and containing the river landscape. Analyzing maps, hydrographs, working models, drawings, photographs, government and media reports, painting, and even folklore, Mathur and da Cunha consider what these representations of the river portray, what they leave out, and why that might be.
Environmentalism
Sand County Almanac by Call Number: QH81 .L56 1966ISBN: 0345345053Publication Date: 1966-12-12The environmental classic that redefined the way we think about the natural world—an urgent call for preservation that’s more timely than ever. These astonishing portraits of the natural world explore the breathtaking diversity of the unspoiled American landscape -- the mountains and the prairies, the deserts and the coastlines. A stunning tribute to our land and a bold challenge to protect the world we love.
Silent Spring by Call Number: QH545.P4 C38 2002ISBN: 9780618253050Publication Date: 2002-10-22First published by Houghton Mifflin in 1962, Silent Spring alerted a large audience to the environmental and human dangers of indiscriminate use of pesticides, spurring revolutionary changes in the laws affecting our air, land, and water. This edition celebrates Rachel Carson's watershed book with a new introduction by the author and activist Terry Tempest Williams and a new afterword by the acclaimed Rachel Carson biographer Linda Lear, who tells the story of Carson's courageous defense of her truths in the face of ruthless assault from the chemical industry in the year following the publication of Silent Spring and before her untimely death in 1964.
Cadillac Desert by Call Number: HD1739.A17 R45 1993ISBN: 0140178244Publication Date: 1993-06-01The story of the American West is the story of a relentless quest for a precious resource: water. It is a tale of rivers diverted and dammed, of political corruption and intrigue, of billion-dollar battles over water rights, of ecological and economic disaster.
Uncommon Ground by Call Number: GE195 .U52 1996ISBN: 9780393315110Publication Date: 1996-10-17A controversial, timely reassessment of the environmentalist agenda by outstanding historians, scientists, and critics.
Petrochemical America by Call Number: TR660.5.M58 P47 2012ISBN: 9781597111911Publication Date: 2012-10-31Petrochemical America features Richard Misrach's haunting photographic record of Louisiana's Chemical Corridor, accompanied by landscape architect Kate Orff's Ecological Atlas--a series of "speculative drawings" developed through research and mapping of data from the region. Their joint effort depicts and unpacks the complex cultural, physical, and economic ecologies along 150 miles of the Mississippi River, from Baton Rouge to New Orleans, an area of intense chemical production that first garnered public attention as "Cancer Alley" when unusual occurrences of cancer were discovered in the region.
Remediation + Restoration
Phyto by Call Number: TD878.48 .K46 2015ISBN: 9780415814157Publication Date: 2015-06-05Winner of the 2017 CBHL Literature Award of Excellence in Landscape Design and Architecture Phyto presents the concepts of phytoremediation and phytotechnology in one comprehensive guide, illustrating when plants can be considered for the uptake, removal or mitigation of on-site pollutants. Current scientific case studies are covered, highlighting the advantages and limitations of plant-based cleanup.
Restoring Ecological Health to Your Land by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781597268134Publication Date: 2012-02-13The book sets forth a step-by-step process for developing, implementing, monitoring, and refining on-the-ground restoration projects that is applicable to a wide range of landscapes and ecosystems.
Foundations of Restoration Ecology by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781610916981Publication Date: 2016-11-01The practice of ecological restoration, firmly grounded in the science of restoration ecology, provides governments, organizations, and landowners a means to halt degradation and restore function and resilience to ecosystems stressed by climate change and other pressures on the natural world. Foundational theory is a critical component of the underlying science, providing valuable insights into restoring ecological systems effectively and understanding why some efforts to restore systems can fail. In turn, on-the-ground restoration projects can help to guide and refine theory, advancing the field and providing new ideas and innovations for practical application.
Beyond the War on Invasive Species by Call Number: S494.5.P47 O75 2015ISBN: 9781603585637Publication Date: 2015-07-03Beyond the War on Invasive Species offers a much-needed alternative perspective on invasive species and the best practices for their management based on a holistic, permaculture-inspired framework. Utilizing the latest research and thinking on the changing nature of ecological systems, Beyond the War on Invasive Species closely examines the factors that are largely missing from the common conceptions of invasive species, including how the colliding effects of climate change, habitat destruction, and changes in land use and management contribute to their proliferation.
Handbook of Regenerative Landscape Design by Call Number: SB472.45 .H343 2008ISBN: 9780849391880Publication Date: 2007-10-18The Handbook of Regenerative Landscape Design incorporates ecology, engineering, sociology, and design elements into a new paradigm for environmental restoration and the renewal of urban and cultural sites. This is the first resource in the field to examine the collaborative roles of scientists, landscape architects, and urban planners in transforming degraded landscapes into sustainable communities for both people and wildlife.
Landscape planning
The Living Landscape by Call Number: SB474 .S74 2000ISBN: 0070793980Publication Date: 2000-02-03A guide to ecologically-sound landscapes, this work focuses on how to create a plan and explains each major step with examples from various localities. The edition links each step to planning practice and to theory in landscape ecology and development.
Landscape Planning by Call Number: SB475.9.E56 M3 1991ISBN: 0471525065Publication Date: 1991-03-01This text focuses on environmental problems associated with land planning, landscape design and land use. It is designed for the science student interested in understanding how the environment relates to planning problems as well as being a valuable reference for the professional in planning and design.
Landscape Ecology Principles in Landscape Architecture and Land-Use Planning by Call Number: SB472.3 .D73 1996ISBN: 1559635142Publication Date: 1996-09-01Landscape ecology has emerged in the past decade as an important and useful tool for land-use planners and landscape architects. While professionals and scholars have begun to incorporate aspects of this new field into their work, there remains a need for a summary of key principles and how they might be applied in design and planning. This volume fills that need. It is a concise handbook that lists and illustrates key principles in the field, presenting specific examples of how the principles can be applied in a range of scales and diverse types of landscapes around the world.
Environmental Planning for Site Development by Call Number: NA2540.5 .B44 2000ISBN: 0419244603Publication Date: 2000-01-31Environmental Planning for Site Development emphasizes the man/nature interface and explains how nature limits and controls what can happen on every piece of land. The text is clearly set out and will help the reader understand exactly what information is needed for a site planning proposal. The book includes a live case study to demonstrate how GIS systems are now assisting in the design and decision process as communities increasingly participate in local decisions.
Making Plans by Call Number: HT166 .S684 2018ISBN: 9781477314319Publication Date: 2018-02-07In Making Plans, Steiner offers a primer on the planning process through a lively, firsthand account of developing plans for the city of Austin and the University of Texas campus. As dean of the UT School of Architecture, Steiner served on planning committees that addressed the future growth of the city and the university, growth that inevitably overlapped because of UT's central location in Austin. As he walks readers through the planning processes, Steiner illustrates how large-scale planning requires setting goals and objectives, reading landscapes, determining best uses, designing options, selecting courses for moving forward, taking actions, and adjusting to changes.
