The Avery Index
One of the best places to start when searching for case studies is the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. This robust index offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated weekly. The Avery Index has many unique features: to learn how to effectively use these features we have created an Introduction the Avery Index Guide. By searching the Avery Index you will be able to find print versions of articles in the library and request unavailable articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles from international journals in architecture, design, landscape architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and decoration. 1934 to present.
Databases
- Art and Architecture Thesaurus This link opens in a new windowA structured vocabulary made up of terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to the visual arts.
- Building Green This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green. - GreenFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on human impact on the environment, covering global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. - Material Order This link opens in a new windowUtilizing and developing standards and best practices, the Material Order consortium provides a community-based approach to the management of design material collections with federated search access among participating institutions. Use this search tool to explore the material collections of the Harvard University Graduate School of Design (GSD), Columbia University, and the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD). As a RISD student, you have access to many of these samples!
- SAH Archipedia This link opens in a new windowContains histories, photographs and maps for over 20,000 structures and places, and showcases the richness and diversity of architecture and landscapes throughout the U.S. Building entries include scholar-written, peer-reviewed narrative histories, photographs, precise geospatial coordinates using Google Maps/ OpenStreetMap, and structural and descriptive metadata that includes semantic tags for architects and firms, periods, styles, materials and types.
- Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles covering areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, and urban history, 1973 to present.
Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Artstor is JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million* rights-cleared images from around the world, discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources on one feature-rich platform. For more information on changes to Artstor/JSTOR, see the Artstor to JSTOR Migration Guide.
Periodicals
RISD has many periodicals which focus on architecture. Below you will find a brief list of periodicals related to architecture and interior architecture.