Abstract - A brief summary of the content of an article, book, speech, report, dissertation, etc.

Added Entry  - An alternative heading or title by which an item is represented in a catalog; a secondary entry. 

Bibliographic Instruction - BI -Library instruction classes taught by librarians on research. See also information literacy. Refer to the standards set by Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) and Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA).

Bibliography - A list of books, articles, etc. arranged by author. Published bibliographies on specific subjects are often found in the reference collection.

Boolean Operators - Use "and" or "or" to specify multiple words in any field, any order. Use "not" to exclude words.
Example : etchings and drawings
Example : (artist or engraver) and (teapots not party)

Call Number - The notation, usually consisting of letters and numbers, used to identify and locate a particular item on the shelves. RISD and Brown libraries items use Library of Congress call numbers. The Athenaeum uses Dewey Decimal call numbers. The Dewey Decimal System, which is typically expressed in numbers, is also used in many public libraries. 

Citation - A reference to a source. A citation typically includes title name, author, publication number, publication data, volume number, page numbers, and URLs.

Citing Sources - Common styles include: MLA (Modern Language Association), Chicago, and APA (American Psychological Association). Purdue University has a useful writing website with citation guides, see Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) .

Controlled Vocabulary -See also Subject Headings. i.e.: descriptors, subject, subject headings, and subject terms.

Database- An organized collection of information (data), in electronic format, arranged for ease of access, search, and retrieval by computer.  Periodical indexes are examples of databases to which libraries often subscribe. Found under "RESOURCES" of the RISD Fleet Library Website.

Due -The date a library item needs to be returned. i.e. Due Date.

E-Journals - electronic journal...see the listing of our E-Journals A-Z under "RESOURCES" of the RISD Fleet Library Website.

Evaluating Information - The C.R.A.A.P. test has five criteria Currency, Relevancy, Accuracy, Authority, and Purpose.  Use these criteria to look at information and evaluate whether it is good or not. C.R.A.A.P. Test Tutorial   was developed by the Meriam Library of California State University, Chico.

Full Text - The entire text of an article or work (a full-text database contains, in addition to citations, the complete text of a significant proportion of the articles indexed.). Available as HTML or PDF. HTML is text only. PDF is a black & white or color scans, includes both text and image.  Examples of Full Text databases are Art Full Text and JSTOR.

Hold - A hold allows a person to acquire material that is either currently checked out. A hold is placed on a book at the reference desk or online through "my account". When the material is returned, the person is notified to pick the item up at the Circulation desk.

Indexes - Organized systems that make finding information easier. Examples: periodical indexes, book indexes.

Information Literacy - The set of skills needed to find, retrieve, analyze, and use information.  See also bibliographic instruction.

Interlibrary Loan - ILL - A system of borrowing and lending resources across libraries. Place request(s) for items RISD doesn't own at the reference desk or online for books or articles.

ISBN - International Standard Book Number, an identification number assigned to a work by its publisher. Each ISBN has 10-13 digits. 

ISSN -  International Standard Serial Number, an identification number assigned to a serial through the ISSN Network, which consists of National Centres coordinated by the ISSN International Centre in Paris. Each ISSN has 8 digits. 

Keyword(s) - A significant word (or group of words) used as a natural language search term to retrieve information from a database.  The keyword search option allows users to enter a word or words that describe their query (usually in any order).  Since a database can retrieve any occurrence of the keyword in the abstract, title, subject headings or text of an entry, irrelevant hits may be retrieved along with the relevant.  Keyword searching does not take into account the meanings of terms input, simply their occurrence in different areas of a record or database. It is a google-like search and the opposite of a controlled vocabulary search.

LibGuides - A pathfinder or webguide.

Off Campus Access -  The ability to use RISD resources (databses) off campus.

Periodical -  A publication with a distinctive title, which appears in successive numbers or parts at stated or regular intervals and which is intended to continue indefinitely. (Other names include: journals, serials, and magazines.) 

Periodical Index- A cumulative list of periodical articles, arranged in searchable format. Most periodical indexes are devoted to a specific field (example: Art Abstracts for Architecture and the Arts) or a specific periodical (example: New York Times Index).

Plagiarism - See: San Jose State University's Library Plagiarism Tutorial

Popular Journals - Magazines and journals published for the mass market and easily found on public newsstands.  Articles are written by staff or free-lance writers and are geared to the general population; they often include numerous advertisements and photos and can be glossy or colorful in appearance.  Examples: Newsweek, Time, l'Express, Variety, Vogue, Wallpaper, Scientific American. 

Primary Source - Manuscripts, records, or documents providing original research or documentation. RISD Archives and RISD Special Collections hold many primary source documents.

Public Domain - Copyright free. Works not covered by intellectual property rights.

Recall - A notification that is sent out to inform a borrower that material currently checked out has been requested by another individual. Recalled materials should be returned as soon as possible or within a week.

Renewal - An extension of the loan period for material that has been previously checked out. Renewals can be made in person at the circulation desk, online, or by phone at 401-709-5901.

Scholarly Journals - Publications containing articles written or edited by scholars and researchers in a particular field.  Most articles published in scholarly journals report on original research or experimentation and include sources and bibliographies.  Scholarly journals are usually published by universities, research centers, or professional associations.  Illustrations, when they occur, are often charts and graphs. Examples: Chaucer Review, American Philosophical Quarterly, Art Bulletin, Oxford Art Journal, International Journal of Middle East Studies. Also referred to as Peer Reviewed Journals or Refereed. Sometimes called an authoritative source.

Subject Headings - Words used to describe the contents of books, articles, and other materials for the purpose of organizing them and creating a searchable index by topic. The Fleet Library uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings. Subject headings are also used as access points in many electronic databases. Knowledge of subject headings can contribute to more effective research. Sometimes called Descriptors.  See also controlled vocabulary.

Wildcards - Words may be right-hand truncated using an asterisk. '*' for 1-5 characters, '**' for open-ended truncation, '?' to replace a single character anywhere within a word. Also known as truncation.
Examples : paint*...retrieves paint, paints, painter, painting

wom?n...retrieves woman, women

WorldCat.org - A catalog that lists the holdings of over 71,000 libraries in 112 countries world-wide. Currently, it is the largest network of library content and services and can be searched in six languages.

Zotero - Citation management software.