Kellie Bowman is a painter and book artist who explores the idea of rising waters with paint in an inexpensive paperback book.

This is a one-of-a-kind painted book. The artist has layered mixed media including oil painting, collage, screen printing, found book pages and wax.

Using collaged materials, mixed media, original prints, the artist's hair, sewing thread, and handwritten text, Evelyn Patricia Terry explores American immigration.

Consists of a portion of the spine (blue buckram) and a small part of the text block. Portions of words and illustrations can be seen as pages are flipped. Possibly made by a RISD student.

Jan Baker (1950-2018) was an accomplished artist, educator, and a lover of alphabets. She taught book arts, bookbinding, letterpress, papermaking, and visual poetry in the Graphic Design department at RISD from 1981 to 2017. In 2011 she donated her collection of student work from RISD classes to the library's Special Collections. Today her legacy lives in the student artists’ book collection and the annual Baker + Whitehill Student Artists' Book Contest. The Running of the Tide is an example of an altered book made by Jan.

An artist known only by the initials SPC altered this 1941 edition of Paul Gallico's A Farewell to Sport in 2008 by creating a fitted box out of the text block to hold, ironically, a box of cigarettes and a lighter (both now empty).

Kyung Won Moon 16 SC entered the first Baker + Whitehill Artists' Book Contest with this altered book and shared their thoughts: "What is 'Good Housekeeping'? The gestures of housekeeping are dynamic yet gentle, violent yet graceful, stiff yet smooth choreography. The re-constructed version of Needlecraft Encyclopedia is a dance score, realistic representation, and the true definition of 'good housekeeping'."

A catalog by Peter Norton and Gwen Hill of the complete collection of art edition gifts commissioned by the Norton family from 1988 to 2017.

The original book is Billy Graham: the Personal Story of the Man, his Message, and his Mission by Stanley High (McGraw-Hill, 1956). The altered book was completed for a class taught by Jan Baker.

Bottom of the Lake is a 256-page facsimile of the artist's family's telephone book for his hometown of Fond du Lac, printed in 1973, soon after his birth. The book includes found markings and reproductions of inserted materials, along with Patterson's own drawings, photographs and marginalia.

Tom Phillips altered the book A Human Document by W. H. Mallock by redacting text to create a new story thus creating A Humument. Trailer is composed of the edited out pages from A Humument and was meant to be a precursor to the 1st edition of the title.

Since 1966 Tom Phillips has been creating A Humument. In a used bookstore he found A Human Document by W. H. Mallock published in 1892 and set about painting, collaging, redacting text, and cutting up the book. The 1st edition was printed in 1973, and Phillips has continued to transform it, revise it, and develop it, concluding with the final edition in 2016.

Jan Baker (1950-2018) was an accomplished artist, educator, and a lover of alphabets. She taught book arts, bookbinding, letterpress, papermaking, and visual poetry in the Graphic Design department at RISD from 1981 to 2017. In 2011 she donated her collection of student work from RISD classes to the library's Special Collections. Today her legacy lives in the student artists’ book collection and the annual Baker + Whitehill Student Artists' Book Contest. The Inner Shrine is an example of an altered book made by Jan.

Time Square is a collaboration between the artist Buzz Spector, Pyracantha Press, and ABBA (Arizona State University's A-Buncha-Book-Artists). Participants compiled a list of search terms related to the concept of time, hen googled these terms to record the total number of citations. The terms were then sequenced in decreasing order of the number of citations, to make a typographic square. The book contains 64 leaves of the same printed text block. Every leaf is hand-torn vertically by Buzz Spector, creating a strata effect that is uneven but still readable as each sequential leaf is identically printed.

The concept of "book" is altered from the start in Buzz Spector's work. In this case, he starts with 181 duplicate pages, each of which is torn vertically by the artist. The torn stubs gradually increase in width from the upper to the lower pages to form, when the covers are closed, a text block that appears triangular when viewed from top or bottom.

This book was completed for Jan Baker's artists' book class.

Book by Elizabeth Kostova altered by unknown book artist, possibly a RISD student.

This novel, Fortunes of War (1998) by Stephen Coonts, was altered by ten fired bullets that pierced the book from front to back.

A unique altered book that includes photographs, collage, and pop-ups. The book is accessorized with a ring and necklace.

The text and illustrations of Change were hand painted using acrylic paint with photocopies, composition gold leaf on recycled book pages and wallpaper. The covers and spine of a hardcover book were reused to hold the accordion pages.

Revealing how to alter treasured books through collage, paint, layering, sewing and more, this title details the creative processes behind the craft and shows how artists can come together to select a topic, set up a project and ultimately publish or display their finished collaborative work.

Artists around the world have lately been turning to their bookshelves for more than just a good read, opting to cut, paint, carve, stitch or otherwise transform the printed page into whole new beautiful, thought-provoking works of art. Art Made from Books is the definitive guide to this compelling art form, showcasing groundbreaking work by today's most showstopping practitioners. From Su Blackwell's whimsical pop-up landscapes to the stacked-book sculptures of Kylie Stillman, each portfolio celebrates the incredible creative diversity of the medium. A preface by pioneering artist Brian Dettmer and an introduction by design critic Alyson Kuhn round out the collection. Presented in an unusual, tactile package with an exposed spine, this is an essential addition to the libraries of book lovers and art aficionados.

As more and more text is being communicated via digital media, books are increasingly being used and explored in contemporary art, installation, and design. For centuries books have contained and presented the written words that have allowed humankind to study and interpret the world. Although the role of books is being aggressively questioned in our digital age, they continue to be objects of desire with an allure that goes far beyond their commercial value. Given this medium's persistent evolution over time, it should come as no surprise that the book has come to be a focus for many artists around the world. As texts have become readily available through different media, contemporary artists have increasingly been exploring the interplay between the function, structure, and format of books--often literally deconstructing them using scalpels and knives. Book Art is a stunning 208-page documentation of current art, installation, and design created with and from books. The work is as diverse as books themselves: in some, sentences are cut and peeled out to create new contexts and more fluid meanings for narratives; in others, old printed pages are twisted into threads which are then bound together into delicate pieces of art that take months to make; in further examples, books are returned to the organic matter from which the paper they are printed on first came. The fascinating range of examples in Book Art is eloquent proof that--despite or because of digital media's inroads as sources of text information--the book's legacy as an object and a carrier of ideas and communication is being expanded today in the creative realm.

Extraordinary sculptural bookworks and visual literature by a pioneering contemporary artist who changed the way people think about books. Richard Minsky is known for his conceptual approach to the book as an art object. He combines a background in economics with an innovative use of traditional methods and new materials to create sculptural, often political, bookworks. Minsky's blending of an eclectic mix of interests, from musical and theater performance to social issues and virtual worlds, remains a hallmark of his career. This is an artist's book, designed by Minsky with an autobiographical introduction and descriptive texts about each work. Not only a gorgeous picture book with over 100 full-color photographs, this volume informs the artworks with the evolution of the artist from a 13-year-old printer in 1960 to a leader of the Book Art Movement. It showcases Minsky's unique works in private and institutional collections as well as his editioned multiples.

"There they rest, inert, impertinent, in gallery space--those book forms either imitated or mutilated, replicas of reading matter or its vestiges. Strange, after its long and robust career, for the book to take early retirement in a museum, not as rare manuscript but as functionless sculpture. Readymade or constructed, such book shapes are canceled as text when deposited as gallery objects, shut off from their normal reading when not, in some yet more drastic way, dismembered or reassembled." So begins Bookwork, which follows our passion for books to its logical extreme in artists who employ found or simulated books as a sculptural medium. Investigating the conceptual labor behind this proliferating international art practice, Garrett Stewart looks at hundreds of book-like objects, alone or as part of gallery installations, in this original account of works that force attention upon a book's material identity and cultural resonance. Less an inquiry into the artist's book than an exploration of the book form's contemporary objecthood, Stewart's interdisciplinary approach traces the lineage of these aggressive artifacts from the 1919 Unhappy Readymade of Marcel Duchamp down to the current crisis of paper-based media in the digital era. Bookwork surveys and illustrates a stunning variety of appropriated and fabricated books alike, ranging from hacksawed discards to the giant lead folios of Anselm Kiefer. The unreadable books Stewart engages with in this timely study are found, again and again, to generate graphic metaphors for the textual experience they preclude, becoming in this sense legible after all.

Around twenty exuberant sculptures by Scottish artist Georgia Russell (Elgin, 1974) will be exhibited in Het Noordbrabants Museum. Russell's work has already been included in the collections of the V & A in London and the Centre Pompidou in Paris. With the exhibition Georgia Russell - Art with a Scalpel, the artist will be receiving her first solo presentation in a museum. Georgia Russell does not create art with paint or pencil, she cuts and carves in books, newspapers and music scores and transforms them into exuberant images. Russell's fascination for books arose in Paris, where she works, while searching for study material on the book stalls along the Seine. Cutting old books is not intended to shock. On the contrary, Russell wants to show something positive: "With my scalpel, I free the past from a book and I create a new image with a new meaning. There is a simultaneous sense of loss and preservation in each construction; that's what interests me."

A beautiful collection of collage art and techniques exploring the theme of home In This House showcases a collaborative art project that explores innovative altered art and collage techniques by top mixed media artists. Using the theme of "home," each artist designed five altered art rooms to complete an individual 9"x12" 'house' that closes like a book or can stand accordion style. Each house is a part of a larger whole; a neighborhood of twelve unique and fascinating art-full houses, varying in execution, theme, and style, yet united as part of the larger neighborhood. Each "house" is a unique interpretation on the theme, reflecting the artist's style and incorporating the mixed media techniques for which each artist is most well known. The thirteen artists have created an inspiring collage technique workbook for readers. The back of the book includes a blank "house" template and a clip-art gallery of home-themed imagery that readers can alter and use in their own collage work.

"Bervin shows us ways in which we might open up pre- or over-determined uses of past structures without erasing them--making the poems all the more complex by their refusal to dislocate. Her Nets is context responsive and responsible, without the knot of lyric-envy and linguistic guilt of many contemporary poems that pillage the past for strangeness, or worse, for an energetic imagination that might impersonate the writer's. --Christine Hume, Aufgabe. Process note from Jen Bervin: "I stripped Shakespeare's sonnets bare to the 'nets' to make the space of the poems open, porous, possible--a divergent elsewhere. When we write poems, the history of poetry is with us, pre-inscribed in the white of the page; when we read or write poems, we do it with or against this palimpsest."

Odd Volumes showcases a selection of experimental and innovative works of book art from the 1960s to the present, drawn from a major collection given to the Yale University Art Gallery by Allan Chasanoff, B.A. 1961. An introduction by Gallery director Jock Reynolds considers the book’s changing role in society and is followed by several brief essays that explore the transformation of books into sculptural objects from multiple perspectives: the history of book art, the relationship between form and content, and the interaction between the viewer and the work. The lavishly illustrated catalogue offers both full images and details of more than 100 objects and also includes an interview with Chasanoff, who discusses his views on digital technology and the collecting process. In keeping with the innovative spirit of the collection, the unique design of the catalogue makes it a work of interactive book art in its own right.

In these pages, Jason Thompson has curated an extensive and artistic range of both achievable upcycled crafts made from books and book pages and an amazing gallery that contains thought-provoking and beautiful works that transform books into art. The content encompasses a wide range of techniques and step-by-step projects that deconstruct and rebuild books and their parts into unique, upcycled objects. The book combines in equal measure bookbinding, woodworking, paper crafting, origami, and textile and decorative arts techniques, along with a healthy dose of experimentation and fun.The beautiful high-end presentation and stunning photography make this book a delightful, must-have volume for any book-loving artist or art-loving book collector.

We all love to read and learn from books, but The Repurposed Library takes our passion even further, presenting us with 33 projects to make--quite literally--out of books. For these projects, Lisa Occhipinti rescues and repurposes orphaned and outdated books from flea markets and library sales and turns them into new art objects and practical items for the home. Her creations range from artfully constructed mobiles, wreaths, and vases, to functional items like shelves, storage boxes, and even a Kindle "keeper" for those who want to replicate the sensation of holding a "real" book while reading from an e-reader. Projects utilize every imaginable part of a book--from hardback cover to individual pages--and are a DIY celebration of a new way to view a book's potential. Praise for The Repurposed Library: "In an age when the bound book is an endangered species, [Occhipinti's] artwork is nicely topical. She now has a book of her own, The Repurposed Library, out this week from Stewart, Tabori & Chang. In it, she offers readers a how-to guide to making household objects from, well, books, like a mirror, a lamp and a fire screen, as well as the winsome mobile shown on the cover." - The New York Times "Book hoarders rejoice: all those random children's books, encyclopedias, and unread paperbacks are about to find their purpose . . . Furnished with cheery photographs and numerous hand-drawn diagrams, this endearing book will appeal to veteran crafters and literati alike." -BUST magazine "The book is really well-made, fittingly. The photography by Thayer Allyson Gowdy is wonderful and really shows off the projects--and everything in the background is as tastefully arranged as a Crate & Barrel catalog. . . . if you love books as objects, The Repurposed Library is a fun collection of project ideas." --Wired.com "We love how everyday objects like a colorful collection of vintage books can double as décor. . . . Th[e] cute wall-hung book ledge is easy to make and provides a perfect perch for treasured keepsakes. --Natural Home & Garden

How do artists think of the ideas and techniques that go into a work of art? What do their pasts have to do with the subject matter and materials they choose? Artist books are a field rife with new and unusual treatments. Combining her love of books and fiber art, Emily Marks shows how 25 artists develop their ideas using thread as a medium for their work. Each section in Thread Loves Paper depicts the history of covers, bindings, hand embroidery, machine stitching and altered books and then shows how contemporary book artists build on this past to make new works of art.

Reflective. Explosive. Playful. Heart Felt. Monochromatic. Riotous. No rules. No boundaries. No wonder the 16 extraordinary color journals black, white and all the colors in between burst out of their covers and into our imaginations. Fifteen amazing artists wanted to see what they could do with a single color scheme. Each artist contributed a journal cover in her chosen palette and a page in each journal. The finished works are filled with page after page of techniques and mediums, including stamping, painting, sketching, fabric art, metalwork, transfers and layered texturing -- a wide spectrum of artistry and skill. Somerset Studio brings you the remarkable artwork of this project in a one publication. True Colors features hundreds of photographs showcasing each journal and the spectacular effects created within a narrow prism of color. In addition, the artists will share their stories about the project and their own inspiration behind the colorful pages.