The citations in the Avery Index consistently include detailed information about the type of images contained within each article.

Use the Physical Description feature to locate the specific types of images needed for your projects. (Find it by scrolling down on the Advanced Search page)



Search/Limit Illustrations by Type:

Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 46,000 records dating from 1973 to present, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Journals Indexed

Select Urban Studies Abstracts along with Avery from the Ebsco database selection screen to search both databases simultaneously.

Because the Avery Index is an index, many articles cited in it are just bibliographic records with no full text option. That means you cannot read the article from the database. Nevertheless, there are other ways to access an article that interests you.

Locating Articles Using Publication Finder

If you find an article with no PDF or HTML access, look for the journal title, year, and volume/issue number within the article record. This information is usually under "source" in the record.

Next, search for the journal title using the Publication Finder, which is linked to on the menu sidebar on the left of the page. Open the Publication Finder in a new tab/window so you can refer back to the Avery Index record.

Search for the journal title. In the below example, you will see that we have access to print copies of the journal. To see if we have the issue that the article is in, click on the RISD Print Holdings link to go to the library catalog.

Once in the library catalog record, verify that the library has the issue containing your article.

• If it is a recent issue, it is probably in the open stacks
• Older issues may be in the open stacks or storage (ask at the circulation desk for help)
• Double check the issues in lacks - these are issues the library is missing

If you need help reading the catalog record, ask a librarian!