ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

AATA Online is a free research database containing abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. AATA Online contains over 170,000 records and adds approximately 4,000 new records each year through regular updates.

A structured vocabulary made up of terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to the visual arts.

Provides an international, art-focused research experience within the WorldCat environment. Request items found in ADGC through RISD's Interlibrary Loan service.

Online collection of material on the recent history of art from Asia, including archival and library materials.

Statewide access to a selection of databases. A Rhode Island public library card number is required for login to full access to some databases.

BHA and RILA (Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art ) cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives.

Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages from local and regional sources within the US published in 1756-1963.

The Internet Archive and the New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC) have embarked on a collaborative project aimed at capturing and preserving at-risk web-based art materials. The project, formerly called the Consortial Action to Preserve Born-Digital Web-Based Art History & Culture and renamed as Collaborative ART Archive (CARTA), created a collaborative entity of art libraries building collections of archived web-based content related to art history and contemporary art practice. Through this collaborative approach, the project leverages shared infrastructure, expertise and collecting activities amongst participating organizations, scaling the extent of web-published, born-digital materials preserved and accessible for art scholarship and research. The goals are to promote streamlined access to art reference and research resources, enable new types of scholarly use for art-related materials, and ensure that the art historical record of the 21st century is readily accessible far into the future.

Search openly licensed, free-to-use images from across Flickr, Wikimedia Commons, and more. CC Search searches across more than 300 million images from open APIs and the Common Crawl dataset.

This resource links out to databases promoting diverse practitioners in their fields. Includes databases such as Cartoonists of Color, Female Experts on Japan & the Koreas, Queer & Trans Therapists of Color Network, and much more.

Digital Commons @ RISD is a digital archive of the creative and scholarly culture of Rhode Island School of Design. It is a collection of outstanding faculty and student work, college records, campus history, and the unique materials of the Library's Special Collections. Use it across other institutions to locate theses, dissertations, and more.

DPLA is an all-digital library that aggregates metadata from libraries, archives, museums and cultural institutions around the country. It makes millions of open access materials available to in a one-stop interface.

DOAB increases discoverability of Open Access books, which are free to use and disseminate. The directory is open to all publishers who publish peer reviewed books that meet Open Access and academic standards, and covers a very broad range of topics.

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Online encyclopedia that aggregates open access biology and biodiversity knowledge and connects users to other information at other trusted natural science institutions.

Online hub for digitized content, such as ebooks, music, and artwork from thousands of European cultural institutions.

This free database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Information about contemporary furniture design and sustainable manufacturing

A preservation repository with millions of volumes digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and HathiTrust’s partner institutions. Approximately one-third of the volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed in their entirety.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. The site hosts Wayback Machine, a searchable archive of the internet's past. Other strengths include retro video games and software, audiobooks, historic manuscripts, newspapers, and other special collections. Make a free account to borrow from a huge online selection of popular books.

Japan Search is a national platform that aggregates more than 30 million digital resources (images, maps, and other cultural heritage materials) from 260 databases across Japan.

With nearly 1,500 objects and 9,000 hi-fi images, Letterform Archive offers virtual access to its online collection.

Repository for digitized images and documents in the Library of Congress' collections.

The Materiom platform gathers the world of regenerative material solutions (biomaterials) to optimize and match them to real-world needs. The Materiom community includes material scientists, designers, engineers, data scientists, and sustainability experts. Create an account to access the Materiom materials database.

Based in Basel, Switzerland, MDPI (Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute) includes 274 diverse, peer-reviewed, open access scientific journals.

215,000+ peer-reviewed articles are free to access, reuse and redistribute.

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

A resource on digital media and emerging artistic practices that engage technology. Host of ArtBase, an archive of born-digital art.

SciELO is a bibliographic database, digital library, and cooperative electronic publishing model of open access journals. SciELO was created to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries and provides an efficient way to increase visibility and access to scientific literature.

Open access works provided by Science Direct publishing (Elsevier).

Semantic Scholar is a free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature, based at the Allen Institute for AI.

Online catalog of the collections of the Smithsonian museums, archives, and libraries. Search over 17.7 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 7.8 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.

Smithsonian Open Access includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

UbuWeb is a web-based educational resource for avant-garde material. It offers visual, concrete and sound poetry, expanding to include film and sound art mp3 archives.

Open access PDFs of nearly every major US 20th-century architecture magazine. Full editions, downloadable, and free. No login required.

Search the collections of libraries, local, national, and worldwide. Most items found can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.