Getty & Berg Online
These sources are available through RISD Library's Databases A-Z
Art & Architecture Thesaurus is an authoritative source for the language and terminology used in art & architecture. Use it to gather terminology on a topic. For a sample of its content, begin by scanning the entries under color.
Berg Fashion Library - is a full-text, scholarly source for information relating to fashion and dress. See the article on Color in Dress.
Related subjects
Color - dictionaries
Color guides
Color - history
Color - study and teaching
Color - terminology (nomenclature)
Color (philosophy)
Color (philosophy - ebooks)
Color - psychological aspects
 Birren |
Definitions & Terminology; Color Naming & Classification Historic Works Répertoire de Couleurs. 1905 (digitized) |
 Thoughtforms: Sudden Flight Annie Besant & C.W. Leadbeater |
Color Symbolism, Meaning, Culture Color and Culture: Practice & Meaning from Antiquity to Abstraction Color and Meaning: Art, Science, and Symbolism Color Categories in thought and language Color Compendium Colors what they mean and how to make them Dictionary of Symbols Browse the subject Symbolism of Colors |
|
Birren |
Bibliographies on Color |
Many individual colors have their own subject heading- here's a sample from RISD's catalog:
| black in art blue in art pink in art mauve |
TIP: Use these subjects to search meta-catalogs, such as Worldcat to find more items on specific colors. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items not owned by RISD, Brown or the Athenaeum. You may also suggest a purchase for the library's collection.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2 ed.) This link opens in a new windowSee the article on Color for a discussion of Color in the Arts and Color Science. Notice the bibliographies of these articles for further study.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowDefines and traces the usage of words through quotations from a wide range of international and English language sources. Example: Crimson
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers over 1,000 full-text reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, thesauri) that cover a broad scope of subject areas. Image types include charts, diagrams, graphs, illustrations, maps, photos. See: Munsell Color System
