Inside the library, you will find most books on Literature in the "P" section. Ask a staff member where that is, or explore on your own with a library map from the front desk. You can walk over and explore by browsing, or use the library catalog to search for specific items.

BROWSE

Library of Congress call numbers for literature (RISD and Brown both use the Library of Congress system)

P - General Language and Linguistics

PA - Classical Languages and Literature

PL - Languages and literature of Asia, Africa, Oceana

PN - Literary Criticism, Drama, Journalism & more

PQ - Romance literature (French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese)

PR - English Literature (includes former commonwealth such as South Africa)

PS - American Literature

PT - German, Dutch, Scandinavian literature

PZ - Children's literature

See the 1st floor map.

Your RISD ID is your library card. With it, you can normally check out:

• 25 books at a time (search the library catalog)
• 3 DVDs at a time, and DVD players you can plug into your laptop!
• 200 picture clippings (from the Picture Collection)
• material samples (from the Materials Collection)
• Laptops

We have a bunch of great collections that might surprise you!

• Material samples - plastic, tile, stone, textiles, biomaterials, and more!
• Picture clippings (like an old-fashioned Google Image Search, but more fun)
• Artists' books via Special Collections
• Zines
• RISD Archives (check out the online Student Newspapers collection!)
• DVD and video! Our collection is pretty awesome. Borrow a DVD player from us if you need one.

Thanks for asking! It's one of our favorite questions, and the answer is complicated.

You've probably heard of the Dewey Decimal system. That's what most public libraries use (and your high school library too, possibly). However, most colleges and universities, including RISD, use the Library of Congress Classification System. In some ways, it is easier to use than Dewey! The letters at the beginning of each call number can help you navigate topics. For example, if you are studying comics, it's pretty simple to remember that comics are filed under NC. Looking for literature? You'll find it in the P section. A lot of the Fleet Library collection is classified under the letter N.

Here is a library map (PDF) if you're interested in where things are. If you are in a particular major (or exploring), you can usually find the most pertinent call numbers on the library Research Guide for that subject. Or just ask us!

So what's complicated? Well, this system is old. It was created just before the year 1900. "New" topics don't always fit into the system perfectly - they are squeezed in. Classification systems also reflect the world views and prejudices of their creators, and change must be fought for by those of us who use the systems. For just one example, "homosexuality" was classified under "sexual perversion" until 1972 when a group of librarian activists petitioned to have it moved to "sexual life" (PDF). Language related to sexuality, gender, and racial identity can be especially poorly handled within the system. But we keep working to make it better, because it is incredibly useful overall! If you'd like to learn more, feel free to ask a librarian.