Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FLEET LIBRARY | Research Guides

Rhode Island School of Design

Materials Collection

A browsable, searchable, and circulating collection of materials for building, interiors, designing, and art-making.

Introduction and Hours

The Material Resource Center is a collection of over 41,000 material samples arranged by composition. It is a hands-on, interdisciplinary collection for the exploration of materials used in architecture and construction, fine arts and design, apparel and interior furnishings, landscaping, product design, and printing. Categories include biocomposites, minerals, metals, ceramics, polymers and textiles. Students are encouraged to handle samples and items may be checked out for research or presentations. Investigate the possibilities of eco-friendly materials, anti-microbial materials, smart materials, and conductive materials—among many other properties. Explore the color library of fabrics and the many binders of product literature and samples. You may browse the collection online at Material Orderwhere you can search by composition, properties, material ecology, and other parameters.  

Due to COVID-19, we cannot allow walk-in access to the collection at this time.  You must make an appointment to browse the collection, and follow all health and safety protocols within the space.  Book an appointment here or scan the qr code at the door to view and book available appointments.  


Fall 2020 Appointment Hours: (Sept. 17 - Dec. 4th)

Monday - Wednesday:  9am - 12:00pm and 2pm - 7pm
Thursday - Friday:  9am - 12pm, 1pm - 4:30pm

Please note that the last appointment slot for the day will end fifteen minutes prior to closing.