Start with the Avery Index
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is the only comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. This database surveys more than 2,500 US and international journals.
Dates of Coverage: 1934 - current, with selective coverage back to 1741.
Major areas of coverage include:
| Archaeology | History of architecture |
| Architecture | Interior design |
| Architectural design | Landscape architecture |
| Furniture and decoration | Sustainable development |
| Green design | Urban planning |
| Historic preservation |
Avery Index Current Journal List
Avery Index Retrospective Journal List
The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. In addition, this database also provides nearly 13,000 citation records for architects' obituaries.
Did you know?
The Avery Index originates from the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library Columbia University, New York, NY.
Locate Elevations, Models, Sections, Site Plans & more
The citations in the Avery Index consistently include detailed information about the type of images contained within each article.
Use the Physical Description feature to locate the specific types of images needed for your projects. (Find it by scrolling down on the Advanced Search page)
Search/Limit Illustrations by Type:
|
All |
Maps Models Photographs Plans Plates Portraits References Sections Site Plans Sketches Tables Views (axonometric) |
Search Urban Studies Abstracts with the Avery
Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 46,000 records dating from 1973 to present, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Journals Indexed
Select Urban Studies Abstracts along with Avery from the Ebsco database selection screen to search both databases simultaneously.