Finding Case Studies + Precedents
When searching for a precedent or a case study, you will encounter three main types of books: monographs, topical collections, and critical review. Let's go through each type.
A monograph is a book focused on a single designer or project. Often, firms will produce monographs to highlight their own body of work, theory of design, or a particular project. Monographs are useful for learning about a designer’s thoughts and methods and learning more about the process behind projects. However, because monographs are often produced by the designers themselves, they usually will not include substantial critiques of the project or design process.
Examples:
Coen+Partners by Call Number: SB472.3 .C64 2019ISBN: 9781616896652Publication Date: 2018-11-20Coen+Partners pursues "contextual minimalism" in both the public and private realms, with projects as diverse as home gardens, a public library, a churchyard, urban parks and civic plazas, and a border land entry station. Shaping local landscapes as well as sites farther afield, in Arizona, California, and Louisiana, and as far away as Singapore and Saudi Arabia, Coen's powerful designs are rooted in place and steeped in connection and calm.
Toward an Urban Ecology by Call Number: SB472.7 .O74 2016ISBN: 9781580934367Publication Date: 2016-07-12Founded in 2005 by Kate Orff, SCAPE is a landscape architecture and urban design studio based in New York, celebrated not only for its interventions in public spaces but also for the far-reaching questions it raises and meaningful debates it engenders about the built environment, public sphere, climate change, and social and environmental justice in the age of the climate crisis. Toward an Urban Ecology is an extended case study of the firm's practice, showing in detail how they construct narratives of projects, what kinds of questions they ask, and how they've engaged in a constellation of sites and issues in a way that is useful for the next generation of landscape practitioners and activists--storytellers and scientists with the power to change the world.
Topotek 1 Martin Rein-Cano / Lorenz Dexler - Rosemarie Trockel by Call Number: SB470.T67 R45 2011ISBN: 9783034605915Publication Date: 2010-12-22The new and extremely playful park in Munich is the result of a collaboration between Topotek 1 and Rosemarie Trockel. This monograph examines the new park design in a number of essays and documents the design and production process.
A thematic or topical collection is a book that presents a number of projects on a particular topic or theme. These books can be useful to help you find precedents and case studies that are relevant to your interests. These books might not provide a lot of information about each project, so you may need to use them as a jumping-off point for further research.
Examples:
Contemporary Landscape Architecture by Call Number: SB472 .C658 2008ISBN: 9783866540217Publication Date: 2008-08-18The fifty projects presented in this book primarily show the designs of new spaces and successful restoration of others, which had previously had completely different uses, like a quarry or an industrial center. An index with contact information on the respective architects and designers is enclosed.
Natural Architecture Now by Call Number: N6498.I56 N38 2014ISBN: 9781616891404Publication Date: 2014-08-19Natural Architecture Now features all-new site-specific installations by an international list of contributors. From an engineered oasis and climbing structure in Joshua Tree National Park to an intricate bamboo installation on top of the Metropolitan Museum of Art to a residential mud structure prototype created by Architecture for Humanity Tehran, each project points a way forward for architects to engineer a new organic simplicity of structure and form.
Sourcebook of Contemporary Urban Design by Call Number: SB472.7 .M65 2012ISBN: 9780062113580Publication Date: 2012-07-03From plazas to parks, waterfronts to rooftops, The Sourcebook of Contemporary Urban Design by art and architecture editor Francesc Zamora Mola, showcases an outstanding collection of more than 300 global examples of contemporary urban design from around the world.
A critical review provides a critical assessment of a designer’s work or design movement by a scholar. It can be used to gain a deeper understanding of the designer’s process, the context in which they practiced, and the impact of their work.
Examples:
Garrett Eckbo by Call Number: SB470.E26 T74 1997ISBN: 0520207793Publication Date: 1997-04-23In this detailed book that includes more than 100 of Eckbo's designs, Marc Treib examines the aesthetic formation of Eckbo's manner, and by implication the broader field of landscape architecture since the 1930s. The book also contains a biographical and professional chronology and a complete bibliography of publications by and about Garrett Eckbo.
Stoss Landscape Urbanism by Call Number: SB470.S76 S76 2013ISBN: 061579954XPublication Date: 2013-05-01Seventh edition in the Source Books in Landscape Architecture Series this text focuses on the work of STOSS landscape urbanism and principles Chris Reed and Scott Bishop. The feature project in this edition is CityDeck an urban waterfront promenade in Green Bay Wisconsin. The text features essays by Jane Amidon and John Dixon Hunt along with interviews with Chris Reed, Scott Bishop, Charles Waldheim and Mayor James J. Schmitt. The series is edited by Jason Kentner, Assistant Professor of Landscape Architecture at The Ohio State University's Knowlton School of Architecture.
The Avery Index
One of the best places to start when searching for case studies is the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. This robust index offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated weekly. The Avery Index has many unique features: to learn how to effectively use these features we have created an Introduction the Avery Index Guide. By searching the Avery Index you will be able to find print versions of articles in the library and request unavailable articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles from international journals in architecture, design, landscape architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and decoration. 1934 to present.
Accessing Digital Resources Off Campus
Library access anytime!
Follow these 3 steps:
1. Go to the library website library.risd.edu
2. Select My Account in the top right hand corner
3. Follow the directions to log in.
- If you are trying to download an eBook from EBSCO you will also have to create or login to your EBSCO account when prompted.
- Alternative solution: download and install the RISD VPN software.
Common Issues:
Make sure you have entered your name and information correctly?
- See the How to Log In page
Is your library registration is up to date?
- If you’ve checked books out this year, it probably is.
I receive an error when I try to login, what should I do?
- If you receive an error when you try to log in, reach out via library@risd.edu for help.
Online Resources
- Arch DailyProvides architects with research tools and up-to-date examples of projects and architectural products. Search their Project page for case study examples.
- Landscape Performance SeriesThe Landscape Performance Series is the online set of resources to help designers, agencies, and advocates evaluate performance, show value and make the case for sustainable landscape solutions. Landscape Performance Series provides information on Case Study Briefs.
- Rudy Bruner Award winnersThese award winners reflect the diversity of urban excellence. Each round of medalists yields fresh ideas and perspectives that challenge assumptions and increase understanding of how to make great urban places. Explore the past winners case studies by following the link above.
- Landscape Architecture FoundationThe Landscape Architecture Foundation has been identifying priorities and strengthening the discipline to meet weighty environmental, social, and economic challenges. They believe in the power of design to create a healthier, more equitable, and sustainable world. Follow this link to a PDF of their A Case Study Method for Landscape Architecture.
- LEED ProjectsLEED, or Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, is a green certification program for building design, construction, operations and maintenance. They also have a search feature on their website for finding different LEED certified projects.
- Project for Public SpaceProject for Public Spaces (PPS) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping people create and sustain public spaces that build strong communities. They have a list of projects and sites searchable by categories.
- American Society of Landscape ArchitectsProvides a selection of case studies which illustrate the transformative effects of sustainable landscape design.
- Urban Land InstituteThe ULI case studies site showcases real ULI member projects and developments that are especially innovative in their approach and that employ best practices in real estate and urban development. This site provides a wide range of information on a variety of development project types, all in one searchable format.
- U.S. Department of Energy: Building CatalogThe Energy Department works to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions. They keep a Building Catalog, which provides case studies of high performance buildings.
- Architectural RecordThe latest architecture and design projects from Architectural Record. Search this part of the site for updates on the newest, innovative buildings on the scene.
- EmporisEmporis collects information about buildings worldwide. Our website covers technical information on all kinds of buildings, whether skyscrapers, high-rises, halls or stadiums. Companies involved in designing, construction and operating buildings are recorded in our online directory.
- The Skyscraper CenterIs a global tall building database. You can search by building, company, city, or country and compare data about different buildings.