Research Guides: Landscape Architecture: Journals + Periodicals

Introduction

RISD students have access to many journals and periodicals as well as ebooks. The RISD Fleet Library has many holdings, both as physical bound periodicals and through digital databases. If there is an article you would like which the Fleet library does not have, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). RISD students can also access Brown University Libraries. RISD students can borrow materials from Brown's libraries and access their databases. In order to access Brown's databases you must be on one of Brown's public access computers in the Rockefeller library.

Use the Fleet Search tab on the library's home page to search for books and articles all in one place.

The Avery Index

One of the best places to start when searching for case studies is the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. This robust index offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated weekly. The Avery Index has many unique features: to learn how to effectively use these features we have created an Introduction the Avery Index Guide. By searching the Avery Index you will be able to find print versions of articles in the library and request unavailable articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from international journals in architecture, design, landscape architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and decoration. 1934 to present.

At Brown University

As a student of RISD you have access to Brown University Libraries. You can borrow materials from Brown's libraries and you can access their databases. Brown has subject librarians who can help you conduct your research and help you access library resources.

Search Brown's Journals and Periodicals.

It is important to note: In order to access Brown's databases you must be on one of Brown's public access computers in the John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library.

Below is a list of journals and periodicals which are available through Brown.

Environment and Planning. B, Planning and Design
Restoration Ecology

RISD faculty, staff, and students have borrowing privileges at Brown Libraries. You must have a current RISD ID for access. Be sure your account is active with RISD's Fleet Library.

Brown Visiting Policy

To receive an access card for Brown libraries, RISD community members must check in at the Circulation Desk. Find their policies on this page.

Database Access

RISD community members can only access Brown's Databases on-site. You can search and download from Brown's databases using their visitor/public computers. The public computers are located on the 1st and 2nd floor of the John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library and in the basement of the Sciences Library. If you have questions, ask at the Circulation Desk for help.

Borrowing

RISD community members can borrow up to 5 books for 4 weeks.

John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library
Known as "the Rock," is the primary teaching and research library for the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Sciences Library
Houses medical and science materials and is home to the Friedman Study Center, the Science Center, the Map Collection and more.
Orwig Music Library
Houses music books, scores, periodicals, sound recordings, video recordings and microforms.
John Hay Library
Houses special collections, rare books, manuscripts and archives.
Champlin Memorial Library
Located in the Warren Alpert Medical School building, provides digital access to an extensive collection of electronic journals, textbooks and databases.
Annmary Brown Memorial
Houses exhibits of European and American paintings from the 17th through 20th centuries and other holdings.
The John Carter Brown Library
Housed within the JCB is a globally renowned, constantly growing collection of primary historical sources pertaining to the Americas. The library serves scholars from across the United States and around the world.

Accessing Digital Resources Off Campus

Library access anytime!

Follow these 3 steps:

1. Go to the library website library.risd.edu

2. Select My Account in the top right hand corner

3. Follow the directions to log in.

If you are trying to download an eBook from EBSCO you will also have to create or login to your EBSCO account when prompted.
Alternative solution: download and install the RISD VPN software.

Common Issues:

Make sure you have entered your name and information correctly?

See the How to Log In page

Is your library registration is up to date?

If you’ve checked books out this year, it probably is.

I receive an error when I try to login, what should I do?

If you receive an error when you try to log in, reach out via library@risd.edu for help.

Open Access Journals

Open access (OA) journals are a great way to find more resources on your research topic.

Open access scholarly literature is free of charge and often carries less restrictive copyright and licensing barriers than traditionally published works, for both the users and the authors. OA publishing is a newer form of scholarly publishing. Many OA journals comply with well-established peer-review processes and maintain high publishing standards. You can try searching for open access journals in for your topic by using the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).

Open access journals and articles are part of a universe of Open Educational Resources. For more information, visit this guide.

Open Access Journals for Landscape Architecture

Exploring Landscape Architecture Journals

Below you will find a list of important periodicals which focus on or are related to Landscape Architecture. If the periodical is available at RISD or Brown the link will connect you to the library catalog. All other links will connect you to the WorldCat record for the periodical, that way you can find a library that does have the periodical. To find print and electronic journals, search by title using the E-Journals Index.

FLEET LIBRARY | Research Guides

Rhode Island School of Design

Landscape Architecture