Suggest a Book
Click here to suggest items for the library. We welcome requests and recommendations for books, eBooks, magazines, and films to add to the library collection! RISD faculty and student requests are given first priority. Please check the Fleet library catalog before making a request, and contact Donna DeForbes (ddeforbe@risd.edu) with any questions.
Welcome
Welcome to the Illustration Research Guide. This guide covers a wide range of available resources such as useful books, links, and digital resources.
Keep in mind that research is an iterative process; it will build on itself and is often better accomplished in multiple small steps. Art is often an interdisciplinary area of study so some resources might seem more relevant than others. This guide cannot list all possible resources, but it is a good place to start. If you have more questions or need additional help, just ask! There are librarians available to help you find answers.
Log In for Online Access
Your library account enables off-campus access to library databases as well as tools for managing your checked-out items. The VPN provided by IT Services also enables library database access - we recommend it to anyone who uses them frequently!
Get started: Visit the library homepage and click "My Account" in the top right corner. Follow the instructions on the screen.
Your Library Account login is your RISD email login.
- RISD Username: your RISD username (without @risd.edu)
- Password: your RISD email password
Still having issues? Reach out to us: researchhelp@risd.edu
Citation Management
- ZoteroZotero is a free, open-source tool that allows you to create in-text citations and bibliographies, directly export citations from library databases to keep track of your research, create your own database of references, and share your references and collaborate with others. Zotero is compatible with Word and Google Docs.
- MendeleyLike Zotero this citation management system helps to organize and search your personal library, annotate documents and cite as you write. Mendeley is compatible with Word.
Here is a quick start guide for Zotero, you might also find Brown University's research guide for Zotero helpful. Here is a quick start guide for Mendeley.
Additional Resources
- RISD Research LibrariansLibrarians are available to help students and faculty who would like research assistance.
- Center for Arts & LanguageThe Center for Arts & Language (A&L) is a college-wide resource offering academic support and advocacy for effective and expressive communication at the many intersections of arts and language. They provide three primary services: tutoring for all RISD students in writing, public speaking, and visual communication, English language support for multilingual students, and advising and infrastructure for student publications.
- RISD Nature LabThe Nature Lab is a valuable resource at RISD. It includes a collection of field guides and other books, plant and animal specimens, a microscopy and GIS lab, and a biodesign makerspace. Books in the Nature Lab collection are listed in the Fleet Library catalog.
- LinkedIn LearningAn extensive online training library that helps anyone learn software, creative and business skills. Contains a wide variety of video tutorials from experts on products including Revit, AutoCAD, ArchiCAD and Photoshop, ArcGIS.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Sign up using your RISD email to access our campus-wide subscription to NY Times, including their full archive. Sign Up Instructions
