Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Material Order SEARCH
The Fleet Library Materials Collection is part of a multi-school consortium. Search the Material Order database for RISD+ holdings.
About the Material Resource Center
Materials Collections beyond RISD
Materials collections located in art & design schools and other academic institutions.
Art Center College of Design (Pasadena, CA)
CMTEL is the Color, Materials and Trends Exploration Laboratory at the Art Center College of Design.
California College of the Arts (San Francisco, CA)
The New Materials Library showcases new and innovative materials with a focus on eco-friendly, sustainable, and technologically smart products.
Harvard University (Cambridge, MA)
The GSD Materials Collection is a collection of material products ranging from innovative, new materials to those found in the everyday built environment. The collection is one for designers, different than those for material scientists, yet it is not a typical material sample library found at a design firm that is organized by project use or application. The GSD Materials Collection places emphasis on material composition and functional traits of the material samples, encouraging users to rethink conventional applications and promote material experimentation in design practice.
Pratt Institute (Brooklyn, NY)
The Center for Sustainable Design Studies houses a comprehensive case studies and materials library, provides access to life-cycle assessment tools and organizes professional development workshops in sustainability.
University of Houston (Houston, TX)
The Materials Research Collaborative (MRC) at the University of Houston College of Architecture serves as a materials resource for material discovery, innovation, instruction, and research.
University of Texas (Austin, TX)
The University Co-op Materials Resource Center in the School of Architecture maintains one of the largest and most comprehensive material collections of its kind at any college or university in the country, if not the world, standing at 27,000 + material samples and corresponding product literature (manufacturer catalogues, brochures, multimedia, etc.).
University College (London, UK)
The Materials Library is a collection of some of the most wondrous materials on earth, gathered from sheds, labs, grottoes and repositories around the world. It is a resource, laboratory, studio, workshop, and playpen for the material-minded. It is a place for truly interdisciplinary inquiry and innovation, in which makers from all disciplines can see, touch, research and discuss, so that they can apply the knowledge and experience gained to their own practice.
iMatter, Materials Library of the Design Museum (Holon, Israel)
iMatter, The Materials Library, services professional Architects, Designers, Engineers and Industrialists with updated information regarding the latest innovations of the Material World. The library opened to the public early 2008 with the support of the Municipality of Holon and the Ministry of Industry, Trade & Labor, as part of Design Museum Holon. This is a unique and one-of-its-kind project in Israel.
Visit the Material Resource Center - 2nd floor room 204
Mon - Thu 8:30am - 7:00pm
Fri 8:30am - 4:30pm
Click here for today's hours.
Up to 30 material samples may be borrowed for 14 days
For class visits or more information, contact
Mark Pompelia, Visual + Material Resource Librarian
Images courtesy of d. seliger, core77
Special Collections at RISD's Material Resource Center
A one-hundred item Innovation Center (pictured above) donated by Inventables, Inc., The Hardware Store for Designers.
A quarterly delivery of fifteen materials hand-picked by Material ConneXion that provide an insider’s view into the current state of materials innovation.