General Information
Access:
RISD Special Collections are available by appointment only. Appointments must be made with 48 hours of notice. Once your appointment request is submitted, a staff member will reach out to confirm. For both in-person and virtual appointments up to ten items can be pulled per appointment and must be done prior to your visit. Please note that appointment requests are contingent on staffing and space availability. We cannot guarantee the availability of your preferred appointment dates/times but will be in touch to find alternatives. Appointment requests are not finalized until an appointment confirmation email has been received from a staff member in Special Collections. Outside researchers are welcome!
Where is the Reading Room?
The Dale Reading Room for Archives + Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Fleet Library at 15 Westminster St. When you arrive at the library, pass the first 4 elevators and take elevator 5 or 6 to the second floor. Make a left and go through the double doors. We are on your left across from the Visual + Material Resource Center.
Reading Room Regulations
- Food and drink are not allowed in the Reading Room.
- Please wash your hands (sink across the hall from the Reading Room as well as bathrooms before the double doors on the 2nd floor) prior to entering the space.
- All bags and coats must be hung up on the coat rack or stored in the lockers in the lobby.
Sketching and Note-taking:
- Allowed: pencils, sketchbooks, notebooks, paper, laptops, tablets, phones.
- Not allowed: pens, markers, colored pencils, charcoal, paint, ink, etc.
Duplication Options:
All duplication requests for scanning and photocopies are subject to copyright fair use restrictions and condition of the materials. Readers may take digital photographs, with permission. For more information on requesting scans, visit our Scan Request guide.
Virtual appointments
Via Zoom, we will send you a google calendar invite with the Zoom link.
How to view items in Special Collections
How to identify materials in Special Collections:
All materials are in the RISD Library online catalog and distinguished by call number location prefixes: SPECIAL or ARTISTS'. Searches can be limited to just items in Special Collections by choosing "RISD Special Collections" under Location.
Catalog Location Examples:
Know what you want to see in Special Collections?
Use the "Special Collections Request" link in the online catalog or click the "Make an Appointment" button.
Not sure what you would like to see?
Email us at risdspecial@risd.edu and discuss with us what you would like to find. Please note we need at least 48 hours to prepare for an appointment and all services are contingent upon staffing and space availability.
Making an Appointment in Special Collections
Making an appointment:
- Visit library.risd.edu and select Special Collections under Departments.
- Select Make An Appointment
RISD users login with their RISD login
Non-RISD users create an account
The first time you login you will be asked for your email and phone as well as reading through the Reading Room guidelines.
- To select items to view for an appointment click New Requests.
Choose one:
Books & Printed Materials Request
Periodicals Request
Archives Request
3. Enter Title, Call Number, and Location (if you are not looking for specific item, please tell us what you are looking for using the required fields)
To find this information you can search the online catalog and limit location to RISD Special Collections.
4. Scroll down and under heading Schedule Appointment
Choose Reading Room - Dale Reading Room (In-Person) or Virtual
Click New Appointment - choose date and time and name your appointment
Click Submit Request
5. Step 3 and 4 can be repeated as necessary to add more items to your appointment list - under Schedule Appointment choose your appointment by name.
6. To edit or cancel your appointment
Click on Appointments
Find your appointment name
Click on Actions beside your appointment name
You will have the following choices:
Edit Appointment
Cancel Appointment
Download iCalendar