All materials from Wanderground Lesbian Archive/ Library.

Bottom shelf:

zines & comix – left to right

• Dork Dyke. Artist and year unknown.
• Dynamite Damsels. Drawn by Roberta Gregory, 1976.
• Stonewall Riots. Drawn by Andrea Natalie, 1989.
• Dyke Shorts. A comic by Mary Wings. She addresses themes in her comics specific to the community such as coming out, artificial insemination, discovering your parents' homosexuality, and writing lesbians into history.
• Witch Dream. Drawn by Max Xaral (Dashu), 1975.
• Suicidal Ideations. Edited by Claudine O'Leary, 1999, after her lover died by suicide.
• The Postmodern Adventures of JoJo Dyke. Drawn by Wytt, 1996.

• The Lives of Two Dykes. Drawn by C. Waterwomon, 1996.

Rubber Stamps – Artists/Makers Unknown - circa 1990s

• Labrys
• Sappho Post

Playing Cards 

• The Mighty Queer Pack. Drawn by Paula Clayton, 1990. Pack includes Lesbian Rulz for Canasta.

Top shelf:

Albums

• Rainbow Path, (Kay Gardner, Ladyslipper Records, 1984), Cover art by Gina Halpern.
• Lavender Jane Loves Women, (Women’s Wax Works, 1975), Cover art by Alix Dobkin.

Posters

• Not in Our Name. Women’s Resistance Action on Wall St. in NYC, Nov. 18/19, 1984. Actions included procession, demonstration, and civil disobedience. “Militarism, violence against women, corporate exploitation, and inherent racism and sexism in military/government/corporate institutions do not represent women’s/Lesbian interests.  And we protest NOT IN OUT NAME!”
• Emergency Order Curfew. New Haven, CT posted May 1, 1986. From Press Release: “Male violence against women and children increases at an alarming rate each year....[As a result], no woman or child can walk alone at night without fear of violence....Womyn Fighting Insults and Sexual Terrorism (Womyn F.I.S.T) has declared an emergency curfew on all men over the age of 12 between the hours of 8pm-7am.”
• Poison Ivy. Wood sign posted as a warning in camping area at NEWMR (New England Women’s Music Retreat) during the 1980s.
• Amazon Bookstore. 20th Anniversary celebration poster drawn by Alison Bechdel. Dykes to Watch Out For Comic Strip portrayed Madwimmin Books, loosely modeled on Amazon Feminist Bookstore (NOT dot.com) in Minneapolis, MN.

Books by Lesbian/Women’s Presses – Cover Art

• Latin Satins, (The Seal Press, 1994), Art by Nancy Carpenter.
• On My Honor, (Madwoman Press, 1998), Phoenix Graphics.
• Sinister Wisdom #68/69, (2007), Sinister Wisdom, Reprint Photo by Tee Corinne, 1st published in 1977.
• Lovers’ Choice, (The Seal Press, 1987), Deborah Brown.

All materials from Wanderground Lesbian Archive/ Library.

BOTTOM Shelf - FRONT Row (Left to right)

• Yantras of Womanlove: Diagrams of Energy, (Naiad Press, 1982), Photographs by Tee Corinne 
• She Who, (Diana Press, Inc., 1977), Wendy Cadden
• Women Celebrating, T-Shirt Tie-dyed & Silk Screened, by Banshee (1994)
• Eye to Eye: Portraits of Lesbians, JEB – (Joan E. Biren), Hardcover Reissue by Anthology Editions, 2021
• (originally printed by Glad Hag Books in 1979)
• Come Out Now – Ask Me How, Bumper sticker Handmade by WordWeavers (Nett Hart) in 1990s as a parody of the campaign called “Lose Weight Now, Ask Me How.”

BOTTOM Shelf - BACK Row (Left to right)

Postcards

• Hecate, (Movingworks, 1980s). Photo by Noel (Giordano) Furie.
• Summer, (Movingworks, 1980s). Photo by Noel (Giordano) Furie.
• Amazon Images, greeting card drawings by Sudie Rakusin.
• The Lovers, (Movingworks, 1980s). Photo by Ellen Grusse.

Books Published by Lesbian/Feminist Presses

TOP Shelf - FRONT Row (Left to right)

Cover Artists – left to right

• Chicana Lesbians, (Third Woman Press, 1991), La ofrenda, serigraph by Ester Hernández
• Callaloo, (New Victoria Publishers, Inc, 1999), brendamichelle morris
• Hot Chicken Wings, (Aunt Lute Books, 1992), Karen Babour
• Fire Power, (Press Gang Publishers, 1995), Detail of watercolor painting, She Wanted Her Freedom, by Chrystos
• The Falling Woman, (Spinifex Press, 1994), Ceramic sculpture by Suzanne Bellamy, Photographed by Lariane Fonseca
• The Escape Artist, (Firebrand Books, 1997), Cover by Nightwood
• The Wanderground, (Alyson Publications – Reprint 1984), Cover by Jim Hanlon

TOP Shelf - BACK Row (Left to right)

Cover Artists – left to right

• Rubyfruit Jungle, (Daughters, Inc. 1973), Loretta Li
• Cunt Coloring Book, (Pearlchild Publications, 1975) Tee Corinne
• The Coloring Book for Big Girls, features black & white drawings by Sudie Rakusin (Winged Willow Press, 1998)
• Labiaflowers: A Coloring Book, Reissue of Cunt Coloring Book in 1981 by The Naiad Press, Tee Corinne
• Ambitious Women, (Spinsters Ink, 1982), Photo by Tee Corinne

All materials from Wanderground Lesbian Archive/ Library.

Artifacts and ephemera:

• Jewelry Box. Jewelry pieces in this case were made primarily in the years between 1980-2000. Please refer to the guide in the case for Jeweler/Craftswimmin information.
•  T-Shirt. Rainbow Dancing Women. Created in 1990. Signed simply as Carpenter.
• Tarot Deck & Bag. Daughters of the Moon Tarot Deck. Original version in black and white. Ffiona Morgan. 1985. Vulva Bag. Made by Liz Seaborn, early 1980s. Pieces of worn women’s clothing were used to make the bag.
• Lesbian Inciter: The Lesbian Newspaper For and By Lesbians, Transitional Issue, December 1985 (cover artist unknown).
• Poster: Lesbian Insider, Insighter, Inciter. Began publication in 1980 in Minneapolis, MN with this title. Transitioned to the Lesbian Inciter in Dec. 1985.

Olivia Records: Before They Were a Vacation Cruise Line... 

Founded in 1973 by a Lesbian collective, Olivia records produced 40 albums over 20 years and sold more that two million records. During the 1990s, several competing factors affected their long-term viability and contributed to their decline.  In 1990, they stopped producing albums and converted to a travel/cruise  company (music festivals on the high seas!). They remain the only company in the world offering cruises catering just to Lesbians.

• T-Shirt. Olivia Records T-shirt promoting the label
• Album: Where Would I Be without You: The Poetry of Pat Parker & Judy Grahn. Spoken word. (1976).
• Cover graphic by Wendy Cadden.
• Album: Linda Tillery (Music by Linda Tillery, 1977). Cover Art by Sandy Aguilar.
• Album: Lesbian Concentrate (A Lesbian Anthology 100% Undiluted, 1977). Cover art Maria Florio Design Studios.
• This compilation of music and spoken word by Lesbian artists was released in 1977. Why THIS cover ?? This OUT Lesbian album responded to Anita Bryant's anti-gay crusade “Save Our Children.” At the time, Anita Bryant was a singer and brand ambassador for Florida Citrus Commission. She was featured in many TV commercials singing a catchy tune about orange juice.
• Album: Face the Music. (Music by Meg Christian, 1977). Cover design & batik by Sue Talbot.

All materials from Wanderground Lesbian Archive/ Library.

BOTTOM Shelf - FRONT Row (Left to right)

• Sculpture: Sleeping Goddess of Malta, material and artist unknown
• Maize Magazine. Cover artist is zana, Tucson, AZ, (1988)
• Lesbian Outlook Newletter, Artist Unknown, (1993)

Handmade Items

• Lesbian Money, Rubber Stamp, Maker unknown
• Knitted Labrys Winter Wool Hat, Knitter unknown
• Cermaic, Mezuzah (Doorpost Welcome), Artist unkown but possibly Alix Dobkin
• Ceramic, Lesbian Domestic Policy, Artist unknown but possibly Suzanne Bellamy (Australia)
• Goddess Cookie Cutter by Thea Ernest (RISD Graduate), Metalsmith, Material: tin plated steel (made in 1990s)
• Quilted Labrys Pot Holder, Kaleidoscope Quilting, Minneapolis, MN (1990s)

• Card, Baba Ghanoush (Eggplants roasting), Photo by Noel Furie at Bloodroot Feminist Vegetarian Restaurant & Bookstore

Connie Panzarino Artwork

• Poem on Rock 
• The Me in the Mirror, Seal Press (1994), Drawing pen and ink blind contour drawing done by hand in 1979

BOTTOM Shelf - BACK Row (Left to right)

• Hand-sewn Quilted greeting cards: Triple Labrys and Owl, Kaleidoscope Quilting, Minneapolis, MN (1990s)
• Common Lives / Lesbian Lives, Cover by Lorna Campbell with other Iowa City dykes, 1983

Spinsters Opposed to Nuclear Genocide (SONG), New Haven, CT  

In the 1980s, SONG, an activist group of Lesbians and feminist women, protested against various forms of oppression through demonstrations, civil disobedience, and other creative actions.

• International Lesbian Conspiracy. Handmade dyed & silk-screened t-shirt, 1986
• Spinsters Opposed to Nuclear Genocide. Individually painted handmade button, 1986 

TOP Shelf - FRONT Row (Left to right)

Periodicals Cover Artists

• Lesbian Connection (1984 ). Print titled “Rootwomen” by Jay Wattles
• Lesbian Connection (2000). Photo by kiki o. (copyrighted in 1999)
• Card: Womyn in Patterns #5. Pen & Ink drawing by Willow – Willow Moon Designs
• Rain & Thunder (2009). Source: Women in Development
• Amazon Quarterly (1975). Self-Portrait, Ellen Cenuto

Pottery

• Moon Mug – Lunar Works
• Labrys Mug – Glass Etching by Maynard & Weaver
• Snake Mug – Artist unknown

TOP Shelf - BACK Row (Left to right)

Self-produced Notecards

• Lesbian Are Loving Everywhere, Jean Taylor (Australia)
• Dyke the Halls, created by Metis Press, 1984
• Purple Labrys Woodcut, Paula Gottlieb
• Mermaids Return: A Vision of Community (Tessellated Mermaids). Photo by Noel Furie of Mermaid Quit.
• Quilt is machine-pieced, hand-quilted, tessellated. Made by Selma Miriam.
• Goddess of Willendorf, Hand painted by Bouddyke
• Goddess & Labrys, Artist Unknown
• Underwater Nudes, Photo by Marian Roth

Periodical

• Sinister Wisdom (2015). Photo Nivea Castro (Soy Lesbiana y que)

Items from RISD Special Collections:

• The life and times of butch dykes by Eloisa Aquino

  Call Number: RISD Special Zines + Zines Aqu56Li

• Pur·suit by Naima Green

  Call Number: RISD Artists' Books G7825Pur

• Love and rockets by Gilbert, Jaime, and Mario Hernandez

  Call Number: RISD Special NC1429.H47 L67

  Publication Date: 1982-1996

• Queer thrills by Allie Kleber

  Call Number: RISD Special Zines + Zines K59Qu

  Publication Date: 2015

Items from RISD Archives:

• RI Department of Health. Monthly AIDS/HIV Morbidity & Mortality Report as of 02-28-91. Office of Student Affairs Records. 1999.53, Box 9. 
• Two Pamphlets: RI Department of Health. Women and AIDS. and IMPACT AIDS, Inc. Lesbians and AIDS. 1988. Office of Student Affairs Records. 1999.53, Box 9.
• Poster: First meeting of the RISD Queer Student Union. RISD Posters. 2003.55, Flat File 12, Drawer 2.
• R.I. Alliance for Lesbian and Gay Civil Rights. Will Gay Civil Rights Pass in 1991 ??????? Office of Student Affairs Records. 1999.53, Box 7.  RI passed a law in 1995 protecting its residents against discrimination based on sexual orientation, but the bill was in the Assembly for 12 years before it passed. 
• Terry Sapp. Letter to Senator D’Ambra. March 13, 1992. Office of Student Affairs Records. 1999.53, Box 7. RISD archives retains copies of numerous letters that Terry Sapp (’92 IL) wrote to state legislators in favor of the Lesbian and Gay Civil Rights Bill.
• Address from a RISD student to the RI State Legislature in support of civil rights bill. Circa 1992. Office of Student Affairs Records. 1999.53, Box 7. 

Other:

• Five fonts inspired by lesbian hand lettering. Erin Moore. Baltimore: E. Moore, 2022. On loan from Angela DiVeglia.