Jump To: A | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | P | R | S | T | U | W | #
A
Academic English in Practice
- Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
RISD Intensive Language Course - Peter Carney & Lynn Varland - August 2012
- Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
RISD Intensive Language Course - Peter Carney & Lynn Varland - August 2012
Accessing Images for Presentations
- Last Updated Sep 18, 2012
This guide will demonstrate how to create a slide show in PowerPoint using images downloaded from any of RISD's image databases.
- Last Updated Sep 18, 2012
This guide will demonstrate how to create a slide show in PowerPoint using images downloaded from any of RISD's image databases.
Appraisal Studies in Art + Antiques
- Last Updated Oct 25, 2012
Continuing Education, Certificate Program
- Last Updated Oct 25, 2012
Continuing Education, Certificate Program
Art & Design Research Skills
- Last Updated Sep 22, 2011
A list of research skills used in advanced studio practice
- Last Updated Sep 22, 2011
A list of research skills used in advanced studio practice
Artist's Book Project - homage to an event or person in world history
- Last Updated Nov 21, 2012
A guide to topical and biographical information sources for FS artist's book assignment
- Last Updated Nov 21, 2012
A guide to topical and biographical information sources for FS artist's book assignment
Artists Who Write: D + M thesis preparation seminar
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
A guide to sources and search strategies for thesis exploration and development geared to Digital + Media students
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
A guide to sources and search strategies for thesis exploration and development geared to Digital + Media students
Artists' Books and Bookbinding Techniques
- Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
Selected titles that provide information on the history of artists' books, the work of book artists from other countries, and bookbinding technique manuals.
- Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
Selected titles that provide information on the history of artists' books, the work of book artists from other countries, and bookbinding technique manuals.
Artists' Sketchbooks & Journals
- Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
Selected resources providing facsimiles of artists' sketchbooks and journals
- Last Updated Apr 15, 2013
Selected resources providing facsimiles of artists' sketchbooks and journals
Artists' Writings
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide to artists' writings and writing an artist statement
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide to artists' writings and writing an artist statement
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
This guide illustrates the Avery Index's unique features for locating current and historic literature and imagery related to architecture, urban planning, landscape architecture, historic preservation, architectural history, and sustainable development
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
This guide illustrates the Avery Index's unique features for locating current and historic literature and imagery related to architecture, urban planning, landscape architecture, historic preservation, architectural history, and sustainable development
C
Citation Tools
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A guide to online and print citation tools + style manuals such as MLA, Chicago, Turabian and various free, online bibliographic tools
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A guide to online and print citation tools + style manuals such as MLA, Chicago, Turabian and various free, online bibliographic tools
Color: Theory, Terminology, and Symbolism
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide on color theory, color symbolism and meaning
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide on color theory, color symbolism and meaning
Contemporary Art & Artists
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide to finding articles, reviews, exhibitions catalogs, media, and images on contemporary artists and their work
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide to finding articles, reviews, exhibitions catalogs, media, and images on contemporary artists and their work
Context, Content, & Practice in Art + Design Education
- Last Updated Sep 12, 2012
This graduate course examines the development of visual arts education in its connection to general education.
- Last Updated Sep 12, 2012
This graduate course examines the development of visual arts education in its connection to general education.
D
E
Early RISD Exhibition Catalogs
- Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide presents the first 60 years of published catalogs of exhibitions held at the Rhode Island School of Design.
- Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide presents the first 60 years of published catalogs of exhibitions held at the Rhode Island School of Design.
Electronic Publication Alerts & RSS
- Last Updated Sep 23, 2010
This guide illustrates how to set up and save your searches for a determined time period. Receive results via email or RSS.
- Last Updated Sep 23, 2010
This guide illustrates how to set up and save your searches for a determined time period. Receive results via email or RSS.
F
Faculty Guide to the RISD Digital Image Database, RDID
- Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
A step-by-step guide on how to search for and download digital images from the RISD Digital Image Database
- Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
A step-by-step guide on how to search for and download digital images from the RISD Digital Image Database
Faculty Library Resources
- Last Updated Feb 9, 2013
An outline of library's services and resources for faculty: course reserves, off campus access to databases, e-journals, interlibrary loan, instruction, research assistance, and digital imaging
- Last Updated Feb 9, 2013
An outline of library's services and resources for faculty: course reserves, off campus access to databases, e-journals, interlibrary loan, instruction, research assistance, and digital imaging
Foundation Studies, Illuminating our Lettered World, Martie Holmer
- Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
Resources for Illumnating our Lettered World assignment.
- Last Updated Apr 2, 2013
Resources for Illumnating our Lettered World assignment.
G
Graduate Student Library Resources
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
A guide to library resources and research skills for art, architecture, & design
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
A guide to library resources and research skills for art, architecture, & design
Graduate Thesis Development - finding context in one's work
- Last Updated Feb 16, 2013
Ways to gather and synthesize sources to articulate the ideas in your work
- Last Updated Feb 16, 2013
Ways to gather and synthesize sources to articulate the ideas in your work
H
History of Adornment
- Last Updated Sep 24, 2012
This history seminar provides an overview of personal adornment in both western and non-western societies.
- Last Updated Sep 24, 2012
This history seminar provides an overview of personal adornment in both western and non-western societies.
How to Login From Off Campus
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Did you know you can access RISD Library subscription databases any time, anywhere? Use this guide to learn how to log in from off campus.
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Did you know you can access RISD Library subscription databases any time, anywhere? Use this guide to learn how to log in from off campus.
How to Renew Online
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Avoid overdue fines and renew books you need by renewing online.
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Avoid overdue fines and renew books you need by renewing online.
How to See Everything You've Checked out from RISD Library
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
Learn how to start a reading history. Keep track of everything you check out from RISD Library. Export the list to use as a bibliography.
- Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
Learn how to start a reading history. Keep track of everything you check out from RISD Library. Export the list to use as a bibliography.
HPSS -S101 Excavating Women -- Susan Allen
- Last Updated Nov 28, 2012
This is a brief guide for students looking for information on female patrons of archeology.
- Last Updated Nov 28, 2012
This is a brief guide for students looking for information on female patrons of archeology.
HPSS-S539 Seminar: Buddhism And Society - Lindsay French
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2013
This course is an anthropological consideration of Buddhism in its social and cultural contexts.
- Last Updated Mar 14, 2013
This course is an anthropological consideration of Buddhism in its social and cultural contexts.
I
ILLUS-5339, Image Design - Marc Rosenthal
- Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Resources for Social Action Poster Project
- Last Updated Apr 25, 2013
Resources for Social Action Poster Project
Image Captions - How to cite an image
- Last Updated Dec 5, 2011
A guide to creating an image caption using MLA or Art Bulletin style
- Last Updated Dec 5, 2011
A guide to creating an image caption using MLA or Art Bulletin style
INTAR-2319 Int|AR Journal: Research & Critical Analysis 2013 - Ernesto Aparicio and Maya Marx
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
Interior Architecture
- Last Updated Oct 11, 2012
A guide to local resources, print and e-journals, maps, collections, materials and case studies for Interior Architecture
- Last Updated Oct 11, 2012
A guide to local resources, print and e-journals, maps, collections, materials and case studies for Interior Architecture
Int|AR JOURNAL: Research & Critical Analysis
- Last Updated May 21, 2012
A guide to interior architecture journal content development for the topic, Difficult Memories
- Last Updated May 21, 2012
A guide to interior architecture journal content development for the topic, Difficult Memories
J
Junot Diaz
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
A guide to the life and works of Junot Diaz, author of this year's Summer Common Reading Program.
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
A guide to the life and works of Junot Diaz, author of this year's Summer Common Reading Program.
L
Library Lexicon
- Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
Library Lexicon is a list of frequently used library terms. The Library Terms tab are terms frequently used in libraries and the RISD Library Specific Terms tab are terms that are RISD Library specific.
- Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
Library Lexicon is a list of frequently used library terms. The Library Terms tab are terms frequently used in libraries and the RISD Library Specific Terms tab are terms that are RISD Library specific.
Literature Review
- Last Updated May 6, 2012
A short guide which describes the literature review process
- Last Updated May 6, 2012
A short guide which describes the literature review process
M
Made in the UK: Contemporary Art from the Richard Brown Baker Collection
- Last Updated May 8, 2012
A resource guide to artists in the RISD Museum of Art exhibition, Made in the UK: Contemporary Art from the Richard Brown Baker Collection
- Last Updated May 8, 2012
A resource guide to artists in the RISD Museum of Art exhibition, Made in the UK: Contemporary Art from the Richard Brown Baker Collection
Materials & Materiality
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
A guide to locating printed and online sources on materials and material properties
- Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
A guide to locating printed and online sources on materials and material properties
Materials Education and Research in Art and Design: A New Role for Libraries
- Last Updated May 22, 2013
June 6-8, 2013 | Fleet Library at Rhode Island School of Design, Providence RI
- Last Updated May 22, 2013
June 6-8, 2013 | Fleet Library at Rhode Island School of Design, Providence RI
N
New Student Library Orientation - Top 10
- Last Updated Sep 22, 2012
The essential guide to RISD Library's collections, resources & services
- Last Updated Sep 22, 2012
The essential guide to RISD Library's collections, resources & services
New Urban Arts
- Last Updated Mar 25, 2013
A guide for New Urban Arts students using the RISD Library. This guide will help you become familiar with the library, find a book on an artist and/or concept, and find images of artworks.
- Last Updated Mar 25, 2013
A guide for New Urban Arts students using the RISD Library. This guide will help you become familiar with the library, find a book on an artist and/or concept, and find images of artworks.
P
Pattern and Ornament
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
Illustration II ILLUS 5232 Oren Sherman Selected resources from various cultures and historical periods
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
Illustration II ILLUS 5232 Oren Sherman Selected resources from various cultures and historical periods
Perception and the Senses
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide for finding information on perception, the senses, and emotions as expressed through art
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide for finding information on perception, the senses, and emotions as expressed through art
Periodical Subject Links
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
A list of subjects linking to RISD Library periodical titles pertaining to that subject.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
A list of subjects linking to RISD Library periodical titles pertaining to that subject.
Photo Seminar: Proposing an Exhibition
- Last Updated May 21, 2012
A resource guide for locating images and texts for creating an exhibition proposal
- Last Updated May 21, 2012
A resource guide for locating images and texts for creating an exhibition proposal
PRINT-4698, SR DEGREE PROJECT: CRIT, Kohrman & Newland
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
A list of theses for inspiration as well as information on their location.
- Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
A list of theses for inspiration as well as information on their location.
R
Research in Art & Design: Selected Readings
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A guide to the recent literature of research in architecture, art & design
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A guide to the recent literature of research in architecture, art & design
Rhode Island Maps
- Last Updated May 8, 2012
A guide to locating and using Rhode Island map resources
- Last Updated May 8, 2012
A guide to locating and using Rhode Island map resources
RISD Archives
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
a RISD-specific collection documenting people, buildings, history, events, and exhibitions
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
a RISD-specific collection documenting people, buildings, history, events, and exhibitions
RISD Campus Architectural Drawings
- Last Updated Jan 29, 2012
A list of architectural drawings of RISD buildings available in RISD Archives
- Last Updated Jan 29, 2012
A list of architectural drawings of RISD buildings available in RISD Archives
RISD Library E-Journal Subscriptions
- Last Updated Apr 3, 2011
A list of the RISD Library's e-journal subscriptions
- Last Updated Apr 3, 2011
A list of the RISD Library's e-journal subscriptions
RISD Library Virtual Tour
- Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
Take a virtual tour of RISD Library's unique resources and services
- Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
Take a virtual tour of RISD Library's unique resources and services
RISD Master's Thesis
- Last Updated Feb 16, 2013
A resource guide for thesis research and writing assistance, locating theses in the library, and thesis binding options
- Last Updated Feb 16, 2013
A resource guide for thesis research and writing assistance, locating theses in the library, and thesis binding options
RISD Museum Object Research
- Last Updated Jun 19, 2012
A guide to researching museum objects from the RISD Museum and elsewhere
- Last Updated Jun 19, 2012
A guide to researching museum objects from the RISD Museum and elsewhere
RISD Public Engagement
- Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
This guide was created by Joshua Lantzy of RISD Public Engagement.
- Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
This guide was created by Joshua Lantzy of RISD Public Engagement.
S
Science Resources
- Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
A guide to print + electronic science resources and collections available to RISD students, faculty and staff
- Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
A guide to print + electronic science resources and collections available to RISD students, faculty and staff
Seminar: Loot
- Last Updated Feb 22, 2010
Loot will study the history and analysis of the destruction of archaeological remains and cultural heritage by grave robbers, collectors and museums
- Last Updated Feb 22, 2010
Loot will study the history and analysis of the destruction of archaeological remains and cultural heritage by grave robbers, collectors and museums
Seminar: Refugees, Migrants, & Displaced People
- Last Updated May 21, 2012
A guide to sources for topic exploration on migration, immigration, refugees and displaced persons
- Last Updated May 21, 2012
A guide to sources for topic exploration on migration, immigration, refugees and displaced persons
Student Guide to the RISD Digital Image Database, RDID
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2009
A step-by-step guide to searching and downloading images from RDID
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2009
A step-by-step guide to searching and downloading images from RDID
T
Textile Analysis - Katy Dika
- Last Updated Feb 27, 2012
This guide provides resources to familiarize students with the terms and processes associated with the textile industry as it relates to Apparel.
- Last Updated Feb 27, 2012
This guide provides resources to familiarize students with the terms and processes associated with the textile industry as it relates to Apparel.
U
W
Waterman Gallery Exhibitions, 1893-1925
- Last Updated May 7, 2013
RISD Museum of Art exhibitions held in the Waterman Building and the Waterman Galleries, 1893-1925.
- Last Updated May 7, 2013
RISD Museum of Art exhibitions held in the Waterman Building and the Waterman Galleries, 1893-1925.
Workshop - Community Arts
- Last Updated Sep 14, 2012
Workshop for Masters of Arts in Teaching + Learning in Art + Design students on research in Community Arts for their Thesis.
- Last Updated Sep 14, 2012
Workshop for Masters of Arts in Teaching + Learning in Art + Design students on research in Community Arts for their Thesis.
World Architecture - Water & Architecture (in Rhode Island)
- Last Updated May 21, 2012
A resource guide on researching water in relation to architecture
- Last Updated May 21, 2012
A resource guide on researching water in relation to architecture
#
19th Century British Women Novelists
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
The study of four British women novelists of the 19th century -- Jane Austen, Emily Bronte, Charlotte Bronte, and Elizabeth Gaskell.
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
The study of four British women novelists of the 19th century -- Jane Austen, Emily Bronte, Charlotte Bronte, and Elizabeth Gaskell.
RISD Library Hours
| Circulation & Reference | |
| Mon-Thurs | 8:30am - 11pm |
| Friday | 8:30am - 8pm |
| Saturday | 10am - 6pm |
| Sunday | 12pm - 11pm |
| RISD Archives | |
|
Mon-Fri |
8:30am - 4:30pm |
| Special Collections | |
|
Mon-Fri |
8:30am - 4:30pm |
| Graham Visual Resources Center | |
| Mon-Fri | 8:30am - 4:30pm |
| Material Resource Center | |
| Mon-Thurs | 8:30am - 8pm |
| Fri | 8:30am - 4:30pm |
| Sun | 5pm - 9pm |
| Picture Collection | |
| Mon-Thurs | 10am - 8pm |
| Fri | 10am - 4pm |
| Sun | 5pm - 9pm |
