RISD Picture Collection
The Picture Collection is an image resource for faculty, students and researchers which has been an important feature of the RISD educational experience since 1968. It contains almost 500,000 hardcopy images of people, places and things, as well as mounted prints of art, architecture and design. These images are culled from magazines, books, postcards and other ephemera, and they are gathered in folders with titles such as: Advertising, Arms & Armor, Costume, Dentistry, Drag Queens, Explosions, Ghost Towns, Hopper, Maps, Mesopotamia, Microscopy, Seeds & Seedpods, Textures, and many more. The collection is continually updated with new images, and all material circulates for a loan period of four weeks.
For more information about the Picture Collection, see the below LibGuide:
Suggested folders:
Library Databases
These are subscription databases provided by Fleet Library. To use them off-campus, connect to the RISD VPN or sign into your library account.
Learn more about how to cite and manage images in our Citing Images guide.
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new windowArtstor is JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million* rights-cleared images from around the world, discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources on one feature-rich platform. For more information on changes to Artstor/JSTOR, see the Artstor to JSTOR Migration Guide.
-
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, etc. -
Smithsonian Institution Research Information System This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog of the collections of the Smithsonian museums, archives, and libraries. Search over 17.7 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 7.8 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.
-
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
