Library Databases
The library subscribes to many databases that contain articles from peer-reviewed/scholarly and popular journals. You can access the full database list on the Fleet Library home page, under the dropdown menu for Research Help.
To use databases off-campus, connect to the RISD VPN or sign into your library account.
-
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new windowArticles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts journals from 1973 to present. Subjects: Advertising, packaging and product design, Architecture, Crafts, Ceramics, glass and jewelry, Industrial design, Graphic design, Fashion and textiles, Sustainable design, Furniture and interior design, and Fiber arts.
-
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, etc. -
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2 ed.) This link opens in a new windowFeaturing 815 articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
Periodicals
RISD has many periodicals (magazines and journals) which focus on adornment, jewelry, and metalsmithing. To determine if the library has print or online access to a periodical, search the Publication Finder or ask a Research & Instruction Librarian for assistance.